Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 1, 2010 / 25 Mar-Cheshvan, 5771

Readers Respond Regarding Rabbi

By Alan Douglas




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here is a sampling of the emails I received and the winning entry that persuaded me what to do.

I have learned some valuable lessons thanks to JWR readers. Lesson #1 is to welcome reader comments from all faiths. Lesson #2 is to avoid having my columns used as ammunition for tribal warfare. Readers wanting to know if my Rabbi was Orthodox, Conservative, or Reform were either frustrated or relieved when I said it wasn't relevant. Lesson #3, it is much easier to write a column when all you do is quote emails from readers. My thanks to all of you who took the time to write, with special thanks to John K who ended his email with the following kind words …"I promise not to delete you if you are excommunicated!"

Here are some of the unedited emails ….

I'm not Jewish so what I think doesn't count ,what I've read says you should go to the people you appear to have offended and find out what they think you did. Homer H.

I would ask for a meeting with your Rabbi to determine whether he objected to your email on religious grounds or felt you were denigrating his calling and he takes personal insult. If it is not for any religious reason, I would ask if continuing in your present Temple offends him. If so I would seek an other religious home. If he was personally insulted, I would apologize and stay where you are unless he is still offended. I think the main issue is the state of your soul and religious progress and his responsibility to enhance it. I am not Jewish so don't know if this makes sense in the Jewish religion/culture. (Maybe he already gets too many emails to deal with. I have friends who say this.) J. R., Arizona

Your Rabbi is a schmuck—-you are well rid of him! Dr. ML, Minnesota

Mr. Douglas, As I advised you once before, what other people think of you is none of your business!!! Dot & Bill

Hey Alan; I found both columns good, like always, but I must add/ yes, those "but I must add" do cause instability in the stomach/lololoo I thought the reference to Religious leaders was good, specially since it is obvious that recognition comes from their selfless work and edification of those they are in contact with. So I must conclude that your Rabbi had problems with his hemorrhoids and his doughnut collapse while reading your column. You left out one more potential course of action; 8. Change your name to Mario Pardo and join the French Foreign Legion. Hhhahahahahahhah anyway have a great day and keep smiling. Hector, AL

Alan, From my prospective, I think we are all getting a little too sensitive and overly "politically correct, ad nauseam". Some world we have created, where everyone goes around offended… Give it a rest, he may have just had a bad day, or something. Love your candor, don't change. Muriel

And the winning email is….

Dear Mr. Douglas,

Regarding your rabbi's request that you remove him from your contact list, here are my thoughts. Do not engage in any attempts to read his, nor anyone else's, mind. The simplest solutions are so often the best ones: ask him. "Dear Rabbi _____, I removed you from my email list as per your request. If it wouldn't be any trouble to you, would you please tell me why you made your request?" Then close with the usual courteous and respectful words. It's short, it's to the point. Your rabbi's words suggested no particular reason for his request, but I'm guessing it was #4 from your list. It sounds like yours is a large congregation, so he must get loads of email. Perhaps he doesn't have enough time to give your column the attention it deserves. I hope you will do a follow-up column to tell us what your rabbi says, if he does reply at all. I'm sorry I never took the time to tell you this before, but I enjoy reading you on JWR. Compliments are always in short supply, and I'm remiss in not giving you this one sooner. Sincerely yours, Upper 10th

The exact message suggested by Upper 10th was sent to the Rabbi, but as of today there has not been any response. We end this saga quoting Sergeant Preston of the Yukon, the valiant Canadian Mounty who starred in radio and television. Sergeant Preston would pet his husky and say, "Well, King, this case is closed".

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Alan Douglas, an author, media executive, speaker, and attorney, lives con brio- except when he is grumpy.


Previously:

Readers: I Need Your Help with my Rabbi
Humphrey Bogart and P. T. Barnum on Fighting with Family and Friends
Columbus, Honors and Hound Dogs
The Free Lunch
When your child suffers
Conversational Transmitted Diseases
Conservative, Liberal or American
Paris, Antarctica and Shopping
Personal Protection
Dispute Resolution
Jumped or Pushed?
Friends and Acquaintances
Revenge and Vindication

© 2010 Alan Douglas

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles