Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 12, 2009 / 25 Mar-Cheshvan 5770

Obama should heed his own lofty words

By Kevin Ferris



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "I chose to run for the presidency at this moment in history because I believe deeply that we cannot solve the challenges of our time unless we solve them together. ..." — candidate Barack Obama, March 18, 2008

There was the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, minding its own business — or rather the business of its 300,000-plus members. It was about to launch the Campaign for Free Enterprise, a multiyear, multimillion-dollar effort to focus on the power and unlimited potential of free markets and entrepreneurship. The chamber wanted to remind Americans that these longstanding cornerstones of business are what made the country an economic powerhouse, and that the nation needs them if it is to climb out of the recession and create jobs.

But the first round of the upbeat, nonpartisan, avoid-specific-issues, dream-big ad campaign had barely hit the airwaves when the White House declared war.

Not a shooting war, obviously. Political warfare. A full-bore, scorched-earth attempt to stifle dissent and punish all those who dare challenge the man who once talked of Solving Problems Together.

The chamber wasn't alone in this Axis of Effrontery. Democrats have tried to silence health insurers for pointing out the costs of health-care reform, including the cuts planned for Medicare. Fox News is so feared that the administration has warned other media outlets not to repeat what they hear on it.

———

"That is the true genius of America, a faith ... that we can say what we think, write what we think ... that we can participate in the political process without fear of retribution. ..." — Illinois state Sen. Obama, July 27, 2004

Don't get the wrong idea. The Chamber of Commerce is not led by some quiet, new-to-Washington naif. In his 12 years as president, Thomas J. Donohue has transformed it into a lobbying powerhouse, increasing its membership and budget. He will speak up on behalf of his members "with integrity and absolutely good manners," he told a gathering of local and national chamber leaders in Philadelphia on Oct. 30. At the same time, he said, they should always be prepared for a "barroom brawl."

What has upset the administration is Donohue's outspokenness on some of its pet issues, especially health care and climate change. The chamber leader believes the White House is overreacting.

First, he points out, Americans have the right to petition their government, and he plans to do that on behalf of his members. Second, he and his members support some health-care and environmental legislation. But they are against job-killing, regulation-heavy efforts that could weaken already struggling businesses.

Third, the White House has a short memory. It had the chamber's support on Cash for Clunkers, the auto bailouts, the stimulus, and even the Troubled Asset Relief Program. Donohue points out that some of his members were not happy with those stands, but on TARP and the stimulus package, he says, "The nation was at risk. What was the message we wanted to send to the world?"

———

"What is called for is ... that we do unto others as we would have them do unto us. ... Let our politics reflect that spirit as well." — candidate Obama, March 18, 2008

Donohue thinks Americans are ready for positive messages about improving the economy, such as his Campaign for Free Enterprise.

"We have to remind people what worked and think about it as we look to new approaches coming out of the recession," he says. "And we want to put pressure on the business community to do what we desperately need to do: create 20 million new jobs in the next 10 years."

What worked includes open capital markets, free trade, reasonable taxation and regulation, and "the right to fail," Donohue says. "Many business people failed the first time and then came back and succeeded."

Donohue may get his chance to accentuate the positive, since the administration may be ready for a cease-fire. On Wednesday, White House chief of staff Rahm Emanuel spoke to the chamber's board of directors. The off-the-record session was later described by a chamber official in terms normally used for diplomatic summits between wary adversaries: "We had a productive and robust exchange on a wide range of issues."

Chances are, after Tuesday's election results, there are some robust exchanges within the White House itself. Perhaps that will lead to a politics of listening, reaching out, and solving problems together.

Or maybe not.

"I don't want the folks who created the mess to do a lot of talking. I want them to just get out of the way. ..." — President Obama, Aug. 6, 2009

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Kevin Ferris is commentary page editor of the Philadelphia Inquirer.



Previously:


11/05/09: Getting well, helping others
10/01/09: Helping the fighters thrive
09/03/09: Holder needs to explain dismissal of Philly case
08/19/09: Rage understandable, but what comes next?
08/05/09: A few words, and then some, from the Obama Center
04/29/09: Pity for ‘tortured’ terrorist?
04/22/09: For good or ill, to be a public figure is to have your image used and abused
03/11/09: GOP lacks leader but has potential
03/05/09: A dangerous naivete in foreign policy
02/25/09: Beware ‘dialogue’ on race
12/29/08: ‘Chicago II’: A governor's story
12/11/08: Operator: Welcome to transition hotline
12/03/08: How Obama will fight a growing front in Afghanistan
11/25/08: GOP ahead of curve for change
11/13/08: Prayers for President-elect Barack Obama
10/03/08: Obama's lowball attacks: Suggesting that McCain is a bigot runs afoul of the high-minded ‘unity’ tripe
09/06/08: It's unlikely that a President McCain would be driven by political ideology
09/04/08: Bold McCain will sharpen the contrasts

© 2008, Philadelphia Inquirer Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles