Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 1, 2009 / 15 Mar-Cheshvan 5770

Nice to meet you — but not your germs

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The news anchor shakes my hand. "So glad you could make it," he says.Then he turns, still talking, and presses the nozzle on the hand sanitizer.This is the new American greeting. Howdy, neighbor -- let me wipe you off. The current hysteria over the H1N1 flu virus has people so spooked, they don't even wait until you leave the room. They touch you, then untouch you. Connect-disconnect."So, have you done many cities?" the news anchor says, vigorously rubbing his hands.I have done many cities. I am traveling the country on a book tour. And I've been astounded to learn that the thing that most unifies America is not patriotism, faith or even Jon and Kate.It's Purell.If I could have bought stock in this stuff a year ago, I would have emptied the bank account. Everywhere I go, there is a jar or a bottle. A plastic spout. A little squirt. Hands wringing back and forth.Suddenly, everyone is a surgeon. Scrub up.

Should we be so worried?

When did we get so paranoid? There have been flus before. There have been viruses before. We didn't turn into a nation of palm rubbers.But we sure have now. We see germs the way that kid from "The Sixth Sense" saw dead people.People disinfect in banks. At the office. Remember when Mom used to tell us to wash our hands? Heck, these days we'd steal the Purell out of Mom's protective hands. What's worse, all this worrying has got me worried.I used to shake hands without hesitation. Hundreds a night sometimes, if I was giving a talk somewhere.Now, suddenly, I see every hand as a glowing green wad of kryptonite. Every sink handle is a germ repository. I see a door and try to open it with my feet. And let's not even talk about the toilet handle. I never trusted that BEFORE the flu.In St. Louis, I go to a radio station for an interview. The host sits across from me. Between us are two microphones, two cups of water and a pump-top bottle of sanitizer.Suddenly, I can't stop looking at it. The interviewer and I had shaken hands and now I can feel those germs seeping into my bloodstream. I stare at that Purell bottle wondering whether he's thinking what I'm thinking: "I better get it first, or he'll have his pumping-finger germs all over the spout."I begin to sweat. My sweat makes him suspicious. And sweat has germs! We are locked in a stare down over that white plastic spout. If he makes a move, I'll move faster. If he dives, I'll pounce. It's me or him, survival of the fittest, slime or be slimed.Or maybe it's my imagination.

Never leave home without it

But this isn't. Hand sanitizer is the new bottled water. It's the new, expensive version of something we used to get for free, namely, soap and water, or a good wipe on the seat of your pants.Now, nothing counts unless it reads "kills 99.9% of germs." Sales of hand sanitizer reportedly are three times as great as they were last year at this time.I see dispensers in airports. I see dispensers in hotels. It's like the new ATM machine. Spritz, spritz. Squirt, squirt.Soon they will hit you up for a service charge for every hit on the bottle. Soon soap will be passť. We will shower in Purell. Use Purell instead of cologne. Shampoo with Purell. Condition with it, too."Well, great seeing you," the anchor says.Nice seeing you, I say.I rise. I turn. My hand twitches. His hand twitches. For a moment, that old urge to shake, to make contact, flickers inside us. But the new world takes over. The old ways are gone.We nod at each other.And I wonder, as I walk away, if a nod requires a hit on that Purell bottle. …

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles