Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 14, 2008 / 16 Mar-Cheshvan 5769

I Won't Get Fooled Again — I Hope

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It looked innocent enough. Heck, it even arrived on my iPhone.


"It" was an e-mail purporting to be from Apple, Inc.'s MobileMe service, the online e-mail/file storage/photo sharing/web hosting wonder formerly known as .Mac. And, I'll admit, I've come to place more than a little trust in Apple.


The e-mail, which had the "official" MobileMe logo, and seemed to come from Apple, said there was an issue with charging my credit card for the monthly charges. Would I please go to a location and update the information?


Again, I should have been skeptical — MobileMe service is billed annually; I should have remembered that. And, my account isn't up for renewal until December.


But, still — I'm a trusting kind of guy when my hard-hat journalistic guise is removed. So I didn't click the button, but went to the MobileMe site, logged in and changed the info.


So far, so good...until I got the message that things weren't working at the moment. I'm not sure what I did next, other than to find myself entering several different kinds of credit card information and hoping one would work. Now, I was starting to get nervous.


My anxiety increased after calling one of the card companies and finding that, no, there weren't any problems with the account. I mentioned the nervous part, right?


Well, it's been the better part of the week, and now my daily routine includes several checks of the bank and credit card accounts to make sure nothing "funny" is happening. So far, so good.


An inquiry to Apple revealed that, no, the link in the official-looking e-mail was not an authorized Apple address. I shouldn't go there, literally. And while I'm fairly sure I didn't, I can't swear to it. Hence the frequent account checks.


I should note at this point that Apple — as much as any online firm that's been caught up in a "phishing" scheme, as the frauds are commonly known — is essentially a victim. Some criminal or criminal gang somewhere is abusing the trust people have and trying to steal information. It's dastardly, yes, and it's exceptionally uncool. But it also hurts the legitimate firm whose name is used. Also, Windows users can be hit just as easily as Mac users; criminals don't discriminate.


I also made another mistake, and I should have known better about this one, too. At one point, I was logging on to secure Web sites using a "Beta" version of the next-generation Firefox browser. The Beta didn't have the security features that the current, standard Firefox has. The regular Firefox quickly identified the site as specious, flashing a warning to stay away. Guess what I'm going to use from now on.


Also, I didn't read the e-mail in Apple's Mail.app e-mail client. That program allows you to "mouse over" a link or "button" in a graphical e-mail and make sure you're going to land where you expect to end up. This is another way to avoid the clutches of the bad operators.


Again, so far, so good. I've also signed up at www.lifelock.com for the LifeLock identity-theft protection system. Using you Social Security number and other information — all of which is transmitted securely and stored on their servers — the firm monitors your credit reports for suspicious activity. The service isn't free — expect to pay $10 per month — but the peace of mind may well be worth it. I'll keep you posted on my experience with the service.


The bottom line here is to be vigilant, constantly, when it comes to e-mail asking you to log in and update your account. Check the origin of the item, check the Web links, and use Firefox, which is available for Windows and Linux users as well as Mac-heads.


I'm hoping I dodged a bullet here, but I also realize the need to keep my guard up.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles