Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 30, 2007 / 20 Kislev 5768

Debate questions chosen for entertainment value fail to include important issues

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ronald Reagan successfully portrayed the Republican Party as the party of hope and optimism, as the party that created "morning in America."


But was that the party that was on display in St. Petersburg, Fla., Wednesday night at the Republican debate?


If you were a Martian and had watched the first 30 minutes of the debate, you would have thought that illegal immigration was the chief problem facing America, and that by sealing its borders America could end its woes.


One of those woes, by the way, is not a lack of affordable, dependable, effective health insurance that you can retain for life.


Americans must already have that. Because not a single question was asked about it in the entire two hour-plus debate.


In fact, much of the questioning was more like baiting than real inquiry.


There were two questions about guns, a question about whether every word of the Bible is true, and whether the Confederate battle flag "represents the symbol of racism, a symbol of political ideology, a symbol of Southern heritage — or is it something completely different?"


Gosh, I am glad that we are getting to the really important stuff, what with the primaries starting so soon and all.


The serious issues directly affecting the daily lives of ordinary citizens were barely touched upon at all.


But, heck, people can always go online to find out about that stuff. This was television.


Since all debates produce winners and losers — or at least the media insist that they do — my impression was that Mike Huckabee and John McCain did the best by being the least mean.


Both Huckabee and McCain refused to be mean-spirited about immigration — Ronald Reagan sure wasn't. And McCain admirably continues to stand up to those who believe torture is justifiable and effective. (As the only person on stage ever to have been tortured, he knows neither is true.)

Donate to JWR


Fred Thompson's performance reminded me of when Dr. Frankenstein looks up from the operating table and says: "It's alive!" We are just so surprised that Thompson can show animation that we don't really care what he says. If you can do well by not doing badly, then Thompson did well.


I thought Mitt Romney had a bad night. Time and time again, he came off as Mr. Mean. He was mean about immigration, mean about Huckabee, mean about Giuliani. This is not the Smiling Mitt we see on the stump. Do his handlers really think mean is better?


But the questioners were the real stars of the show. And not always in a good way.


Why did CNN choose a video in which the questioner chambers a round into a shotgun to threaten the presidential candidates answering on stage? Even though it was done in a mocking way, was it really funny?


Rudy Giuliani, who I thought had a pretty good night, said it was "reasonable" to deny guns to those with "a criminal background" and a "background of mental instability."


Fred Thompson said the Second Amendment "is not a choice thing," however, and he apparently believes the right of the people to keep and bear arms is absolute. So why can't citizens own machine guns? Or bazookas? Or mortars? They are all "arms."


If one gun question was not enough, there was this: "Any of you all want to tell us about your gun collection, roughly how many you own, what your favorite make, model and caliber is, if any of them require a tax stamp?"


McCain replied coolly: "For a long time I used a lot of guns, including carrying a .45 as a pilot flying in combat over Vietnam. I know how to use guns. I don't own one now."


Translation: Real men don't need guns to prove they are real men.


From guns we went to the Bible, with a questioner who held one up and asked: "How you answer this question will tell us everything we need to know about you. Do you believe every word of this book? Specifically, this book that I am holding in my hand, do you believe this book?"


But is it true that the answer to that question tells us "everything we need to know" about our potential presidents?


I don't think it does. But nobody challenged the premise of the question. Instead, those who answered fell all over each other to show how much they believe in the Bible. (Isn't the presidency a secular office, by the way? Did they change that?)


And then there were questions about the Confederate battle flag, whether Ron Paul believes there is a conspiracy to merge the United States with Canada and Mexico and the obligatory, wearisome Red Sox vs. Yankees question.


I don't want to suggest that there were no important questions. There were a few.


But, in general, the evening was meant to be politics as entertainment. Because that's what politics is, isn't it?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2007, Creators Syndicate