Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 12, 2007 / 2 Kislev 5768

What Do Women Running for President Really Want?

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Now that Hillary is running for president, I'm really confused about women. Women have confused me since I was a kid. As the only boy with five sisters, I learned early on that the female sex is impossible for a fellow to comprehend.


No matter what I did, my sisters were agitated with me. They said I hogged all the dessert, that I messed up the house and that I never changed the toilet paper roll (which, apparently, needs to be changed now and then).


My father had it worse. At least once a week he'd say something that would set one of my sisters off. As doors slammed and the house shook, he'd tell my mother, "But all I did was ask her if she wanted more carrots."


The feminist movement made relations between men and women all the more confusing.


I was taught to hold the car door open for a woman, but many women are offended by such a gesture now; they say it is patronizing. On the other hand, the only thing more offensive is to not offer to hold the car door open.


Women are easily offended at dinner, too. After the meal is complete, they're angered if you don't let them split the check. But no sooner do you ask them to split the check than they complain you must not like them very much. Befuddlement with the female sex is something that burdens every man. It is why bars were invented. We go to bars to commiserate with other men about our inability to comprehend what women want.


And now our befuddlement has made its way to the presidential election. As it goes, Hillary got clobbered in the last debate. She stood on so many sides of the issues, she sprained her ankles. Her answers to Tim Russert's questions were so evasive, her male competitors finally had an opportunity to pounce.


But rather than take the pouncing like a man, Hillary responded like an offended teen girl. Her campaign portrayed her as a victim — they said the meany men piled up on her. Her husband, angered by the treatment of his little lady, said she was swift-boated.


Which begs the unfortunate question: What does a woman running for president really want?


Does she want to be measured solely by her skills as a leader and debater or does she want our sympathy every time things go wrong? Does she want to win because her ideas and vision offer the


best solutions for America or does she hope to make her way to the presidency by stoking the emotions and ire of her female supporters?


Does she want America to be a truly progressive place — so progressive that a candidate's sex has no relevance and isn't even mentioned? — or does she want to yank out the wounded-female card every time it works to her advantage?


It's no wonder why men are so perplexed by Hillary. A USA TODAY/Gallup Poll found that half of all men — and 55 percent of married men — would never vote for her.


Perhaps Hillary would do better if she followed the lead of former British Prime Minister Maggie Thatcher? Like her or hate had, she was never defined as a woman. She was defined by her leadership, toughness and ideas.


I wish Hillary would ditch the touchy-feely stuff and be more logical. I wish she would more clearly define her ideas. Then men wouldn't vote against her because they are bewildered. They'll vote against her because her big-government ideas are the exact wrong direction for America.


But I fear Hillary won't stop pulling out the female card. If she makes it to the presidency, perhaps she can use it to her advantage.


If a rogue dictator threatens to attack us, she can build a giant pair of bifocals that spans all 50 states and say, "You wouldn't fight a country with glasses, would you?"


If Ahmadinejad doesn't give up his nuclear ambitions, she can build a lamp the size of Maine and threaten to throw it at him.


If Al Qaeda threatens to strike, she can stall them by saying, "Not tonight, Osama, I have a headache."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2007, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles