Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 27, 2006 / 6 Kislev, 5767

Happy, happy, happy!

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Happy? What do you mean am I happy?

I read two interesting articles on happiness last week. Both suggest that Americans are struggling with the concept.

Are you nuts? Who could be happier than Americans?

According to a Reuters article, young people in the developing world are. They're twice as likely to feel happy about their lives as young people in rich countries are — rich countries such as America.

How the heck could that be?

Young people in developing countries are optimistic about their future, whereas young people in rich countries are worried about their future. They feel tremendous pressure to succeed.

Pressure to succeed?

Yes, it's an interesting phenomenon in rich countries. In a CNN article, Harvard psychologist Daniel Gilbert discussed it. He said longing for bigger, better and more does not make us happy.

But longing for bigger, better and more is the American way!

Gilbert pointed out — and other studies have confirmed it — that once a person's general material needs are met, more money doesn't bring more happiness. Once you earn $50,000 a year, on average, more income doesn't make you happier.

I don't buy it.

An interesting choice of words. If you love your work and are well paid for it, that is one thing — money is nice to have. But too many Americans are working harder solely to get more stuff, and stuff doesn't make us happy.

Then what the heck does?

Well, according to a Pew Research Center survey, marriage makes us happy. Did you know that married people are happier than singles? Marriage is healthy — especially for men. Married men earn more and live longer.

You obviously haven't met my wife.

Other findings are equally interesting. People who are religious are happier than those who aren't. That makes good sense to me.

How so?

Well, embracing religion means you are trying to understand and align yourself with something larger than yourself, a greater truth. You're trying to live an honest life, trying to do good and avoid doing bad. The process of being religious helps a man escape himself — to be kind, to sacrifice for others. One of the byproducts of living this way is happiness.

If you say so. What else have you got?

People with college degrees are happier than those without a college degree. In a service economy, such as America, it's clear that college graduates have lots more job opportunities and security than those who do not.

I designed my college degree to ensure I'd find work. I was the only person to ever graduate from my school with a major in business and a minor in air conditioning/heating.

And people who live in America's Sunbelt cities are happier than Americans living in other places. The warm, sunny climates certainly do affect people's moods and the economies tend to be doing better in Sunbelt cities than in Rustbelt cities.

Yeah, but you can't get a decent corned beef sandwich down South, and fewer things make me happier than that. So tell me more about happy people.

Did you know that Republicans are happier than Democrats? And that both are happier than independents? This probably has to do with the fact that Republicans tend to be more religious than the other two groups and are also more likely to marry — two key factors that contribute to happiness.

Yeah, and I'll bet Republicans have more dough than Democrats and independents combined! That would make me happier.

Haven't you been paying attention? Money doesn't make us happy. Bigger, better and more don't make us happy.

Yeah, I've been paying attention and you make some good points. But on the subject of happiness, I'm going to have to defer to a great philosopher, my Uncle Earl: If you're going to be miserable anyhow, you might as well be rich.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles