Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 22, 2006 / 1 Kislev, 5767

Not another Thanksgiving list

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's that time of year, when we give thanks for things we too often take for granted. We should really be grateful all year long. But at least there's November. If you're conservative like me, there are easy reasons to be ungrateful this month — but, fact is, we live in a great country and the blessings are abundant.


I'm grateful for Nonie Darwish. She's written a book called "Now They Call Me Infidel". She says that "Radical Islam has declared war on America and on the West, and the majority of Muslims either support or make excuses for terrorism." She adds, "Of course, not all Muslims are terrorists, but the fear, defensiveness and silence of the majority is 'heard' loud and clear as agreement by the radicals." Egyptian-born, she lives in America now and has become a Christian. But her witness may serve to help moderate Muslims look within and the rest of us to know what we face.


BUY THE BOOKS

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

I'm grateful for Mark Steyn. He's written a book "America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It". He's, in part, Nonie Darwish's welcoming committee. In order to win this war we're in, we have to help reform Islam. We have to do things like support real women's rights in the Muslim world, "End the Iranian regime," and make sure we're not funding mosques, think tanks, and other outfits that teach jihad. Tough stuff, but real life.


I'm grateful, too, for people who don't write books. I've run out of shelves and my piles are capsizing.


I'm grateful for politicians who do what's right because it's the right thing. Some will forever ridicule me for insisting Pennsylvania voters wake up to the clear-thinker who was their senator, Rick Santorum, now on his way out of office. But the rest of us should be encouraging such a thing.


I'm grateful for people willing to serve, despite the sacrifice to their families. A slate of former judicial nominees — Samuel Alito, John Roberts, Bill Pryor, Miguel Estrada, come to mind.


I'm grateful that it's only 2006. And despite everything happening behind the scenes, the fact of the matter is there is time for someone good to make a case to the American people that he is a leader.


And I'm glad we have pols who say things like this: "Americans are looking for more fiscal responsibility, less government and sound traditional values. They want leadership and vision with conservative principles. You don't develop a vision by looking backwards. I'm keeping my eyes on the horizon — where the future is, and where America is going." In other words, I'm grateful for outgoing Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney. We'll see where he goes next. A white house on Pennsylvania Avenue in D.C. will have a vacancy in January 2009.


I'm grateful for Rush Limbaugh. How many household names use their power for good? They'll give him grief for supposedly picking on a sick guy, but that's not what he did. The man speaks truth when it's unpopular. And he's made a great success of it — and those who agree with him on myriad issues owe him a debt.


I'm grateful for clever groups like Hands Off Our Ovaries (for a moratorium on cloning) and Feminists for Life (anti-abortion). They're organizations that make you do a double take and really think about the life issues in a new and provocative way that. They're great contributions to preserving/fighting for a Culture of Life.


I'm grateful for Adam Sandler. Someone in Hollywood is still married.


I'm grateful to teachers. My Dad was one. My mother and sister are. The children are our future — it's true. And there are devoted people who love kids who spend their days teaching and nights preparing and caring. Thank G-d.


I'm grateful for my pals at Walden Media — who did "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" and the upcoming "Charlotte's Web" — who make movies never failing to emphasize the books behind them. They make the teachers' jobs easier.


I'm grateful for Catholic education. I'm grateful because it's worked wonders in urban areas. But I'm also grateful for administrators, teachers, students, parents, alumni, who fight to keep them Catholic. When you have a higher reason for being there, identity is everything, it all stems from there. And that makes all the difference.


I'm deeply grateful for the United States military. Whatever the heck the Democrats wind up doing to them and us and the Iraqi people, it won't change the great good our voluntary servicemen have done there, Afghanistan, and elsewhere.


Faith. You gotta have it.


The list could go on and on. We truly are blessed. Even if Nancy Pelosi is Speaker.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles