Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 27, 2006 / 6 Kislev, 5767

Beware Iraq's neighbors

By Jack Kelly

>
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Americans voted as they did in the midterm elections in large part because they are tired of the war in Iraq. But as Leon Trotsky allegedly said: "You may not be interested in [war], but [war] is interested in you."


A major problem in Iraq is that we think our problem is Iraq. It's much bigger than that.


We are at war with Islamic extremism, which is by no means restricted by the borders of Iraq. Many in the Democratic Party think we can quit the war in Iraq at little cost to ourselves, as we did in Vietnam 30 years ago. But this is a war that will follow us home.


Our enemies hate us because we are not like them, and they will go on trying to kill us unless we become like them, whether we are in Iraq or not. They cannot be appeased. We can destroy them, or let ourselves be destroyed by them. There are no other choices.


Al-Qaida launched the attacks on 9/11. But the most dangerous of our enemies are those Islamic radicals who control nation-states. They have access to resources that terror groups can only dream of.


Let us recall why we went to war in Iraq in the first place. Saddam Hussein hated the United States. He was trying to obtain weapons of mass destruction. He sheltered and sponsored terror groups.


Saddam Hussein is no longer in power. And no matter how badly things have gone for us in Iraq, this is still a plus for us. Now that Saddam is gone, the most dangerous enemies we face are the rulers of Iran and Syria.


Current developments in the region illustrate the folly of trying to examine events in Iraq in isolation. Things are dicey in Iraq not because al-Qaida and the Sunni insurgency are stronger. They are much weaker.


The greater danger to stability in Iraq is posed by Iranian-supported Shiite militias — chiefly Moqtada al-Sadr's Mahdi army — and the inability or unwillingness of the government of Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki to disarm them. In other words, the great enemy in Iraq is Iran. How we should deal with this reality is a matter of legitimate debate. But to fail to recognize it is folly.


Our enemies regard the Democratic victory in the midterm elections as a triumph for them and are moving to consolidate their gains.


On Tuesday, Pierre Gemayel, a prominent anti-Syrian Christian politician in Lebanon, was assassinated. Syrian involvement is suspected, as it was in the February 2005 murder of former Prime Minister Rafik Hariri, a Sunni Muslim, and the December 2005 murder of newspaper editor Gibran Tueni.


Mr. Gemayel's murder deepens a crisis in Lebanon triggered when Hezbollah, the Iranian-backed Shiite militia, ordered last Sunday what amounts to a putsch against the fragile democratically elected government of Prime Minister Fouad Sinoira. Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah has demanded formation of a "national unity government" that would give Hezbollah veto power over the government, even though Hezbollah has only 14 seats in the 128-seat Lebanese parliament.


Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad called for a summit meeting in Tehran this weekend with the presidents of Syria and Iraq to discuss "security in the region." Syrian President Bashar Assad is an Iranian ally. Iraqi President Jalal Talabani said he will attend.


This will not be a meeting of equals. Mr. Ahmadinejad is not seeking an exchange of ideas. He intends to dictate terms.


I suspect this summit was prompted as much by reports that the Iraq Study Group headed by former Secretary of State James Baker and former U.S. Rep. Lee Hamilton was going to recommend a regional conference to discuss Iraq as it was by the midterm election results.


Mr. Baker and Mr. Hamilton frequently are described as foreign policy "realists," a description I find odd for people who think Iran and Syria would ever contribute to a peace settlement that would in any way be beneficial to the United States, or to democratic forces in Iraq.


Israeli intelligence thinks Hezbollah now has more Iranian-supplied rockets than it did before its monthlong war with Israel this summer. Hezbollah's (i.e., Iran's) moves in Lebanon portend another round of violence — a round that almost certainly will explode throughout the region if we give our enemies reason to regard us as a paper tiger.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2006, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles