Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 13, 2006 / 22 Mar-Cheshvan, 5767

Our obligation to young soldiers

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | FORT BRAGG, N.C. — One by one they approached, polite and smiling. They were so young. I have been on a book tour for weeks, and the bags under my eyes are so noticeable that I have taken to jealously checking the lack of bags under other peoples' eyes. Theirs had none. No crows' feet around the edges. No wrinkles on their foreheads. They were so young.


"Thanks for coming," they said.


"Thanks for having me," I said.


Some were holding babies. Some were with pregnant wives. Some were so clean-shaven, they did not appear capable of growing more than a few stray whiskers.


"Appreciate your coming," they said.


"Thanks for having me," I said.


Their names were Carlos or Ashley or Jimmy or Moose ("that's what we call him," his wife said). They were so young. On another day, in another location, they simply would have been a crowd of fresh-faced visitors, in a store getting a book signed by an author.


But this was not just a store. We were in the PX at Fort Bragg. And while their first names were cheery and informal, on their uniforms were their last names only, and in their titles were things like "pfc" or "lance cpl" or "specialist."


They were so young.


They were soldiers.


One spoke of a fellow soldier who said my book "helped get him through a hard time in Afghanistan." Afghanistan? He looked like he still could be in high school.


Another, a woman with apple cheeks and a pleasant smile, wore a camouflage-looking uniform and a cap. In other clothes, she could have been a high school cheerleader.


They were so young. Some had been to Iraq already. Some had pals who had been there more than once. Some had stories behind their eyes, stories that seemed too sad and serious for the faces they inhabited.


Fort. Bragg is home to the 82nd Airborne Division. So many men and women have come through the grounds.


Not all came home.


They are so young.


In the New York Times last week, there was a story about troops in Iraq being told of Donald Rumsfeld's ouster as secretary of defense. According to the story, when one soldier, who had been on foot patrol for days, was told of the news, he looked up and asked, "Who's Rumsfeld?"


I believe that. I believe it more after my visit to Fort Bragg. So much of the war on terror is debated and decided at senior levels, by men in suits, men with jowls and paunchy bellies, men in some cases who have never seen a minute of combat.


But while older men and women make the rules, and older men and women debate the results on TV, the war itself is often fought by kids. It's hard to use any other word. When you see them, if you are over 40, that is your impression. They are kids.


And kids aren't always up on the latest politics. In another setting, those soldiers in the Times story might be slamming joysticks on video games. Politics could be years away from their interest.


And even when they sign up, get their hair cut short, lose 10 or 15 pounds through heavy training, take a pack on their backs, a weapon in their arms, go marching in a strange country among strange people, even then, politics is not the first thing on their minds. Survival is. Family is. Getting home is.


These are the kids we send to fight. These are the ones you see on a base or in a PX. Yes, the Iraq war has older soldiers — reservists, second-timers — more than some previous conflicts. But it's the young faces that stay with you, faces that make you realize we can't just debate war on cable television and keep acting as if the body count represents toy soldiers.


They are real people. They are young. And because they are young, we have an obligation to take care of them. Let's hope that last week's new faces in government remember that. If not, they should take a drive to the Fort Braggs of the world and wander around the PX's. They'd feel proud. But they'd also feel protective.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"The Five People You Meet in Heaven"  

A novel that explores the unexpected connections of our lives, and the idea that heaven is more than a place; it's an answer. Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2006, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles