Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Stump Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: While I waiting in an office, I watched part of a cooking show on mute. For seasoning a soup, the cook tied together a large portion of fresh herbs and immersed them in the soup. When finished, the bundle was easily removed. What a great idea! Is there a name for this bundle of herbs? -- D.N., Mankato, Minn.

A: There is -- it's called a "bouquet garni." It works well for soups, stews and stocks. You can also make a bouquet garni using dried herbs: Place them in a cheesecloth sachet, tie it and immerse in liquid; remove when finished cooking.

DID YOU KNOW? Montgomery Clift turned down Dean Martin's role in "Rio Bravo" (1959).

Q: My sister wrote to me and told me that the suburban community where she lives is being overrun with feral cats. I know what feral means, but why that word? -- C.K., Robinson, Texas

A: A feral animal is one that escaped from domestication and became wild. The world "feral" comes from a similar Latin word, "fera," meaning "a wild beast." Feral was first used around 1600.

Q: In British TV shows and movies, you often hear the terms "quid" and "bob" when referring to money. What are they? -- Y.S.S., Folsom, Pa.

A: A "quid" is British slang for a pound -- money, not weight. It's like calling a dollar a buck in the United States. A "bob" is an older form of currency; it is the equivalent of a shilling. In today's money, a shilling is worth 5 pence. There are 100 pence to the pound.



DID YOU KNOW? Judi Dench was the first woman to play the character M in the "James Bond" series; she started playing the head of MI6 in "Golden Eye" (1995).

Q: Many years ago, I was on a business trip in Louisville, Ky.; our group was taken to a fantastic private club one night. We were told the club was modeled on English gentleman's clubs -- it was magnificent. We were also told we had to try the club's exclusive sauce for our steaks. I'm not one for steak sauce, but I didn't want to offend anyone, so I tried it and loved it. The trip was glorious -- the people, the city, the club and that sauce. All was great except for one thing -- we didn't get the contract. Do you have any idea of the name of the club and information on that sauce? -- A.N., St. Cloud, Minn.

A: It must have been the Pendennis Club, which was established in 1881. The club's current facility was built in 1928. It boasts of being the birthplace of the Old Fashioned cocktail in the 1880s.

One of the first employees of the club was Henry Bain, who eventually became the headwaiter of the club. Bain created the famous sauce that is used on steaks and wild game; it has been a club favorite for more than 100 years. There have been many imitations of the sauce, but it wasn't until 2009 that the general public was able to get a taste, when the Pendennis Club made the sauce available for purchase. If you are lucky enough to live in this glorious city, the sauce is available at a number of retail outlets; for the rest of us, we can order The Original Henry Bain's Famous Sauce by calling the Pendennis Club at 502-584-4311, or online at henrybains.com. The sauce supposedly tastes of vinegar, tomatoes and fruit. If you try it, please let me know if that's true -- I'm curious.

By the way, the Pendennis Club took its name from William Makepeace Thackeray's novel "Pendennis."


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#104
#103
#102
#101
#101
#101
#100
#99
#98
#97
#96
#95
#94
#93
#92
#91
#90
#89
#88
#87
#86
#85
#84
#83
#82
#81
#80
#79
#78
#77
#76
#75
#74
#73
#72
#71
#70
#69
#68
#67
#66
#65
#64
#63
#62
#61
#60
#59
#58
#57
#56
#55
#54
#53
#52
#51
#50
#49
#48
#47
#46
#45
#44
#43
#42
#41
#40
#39
#38
#37
#36
#35
#34
#33
#32
#31
#30
#29
#28
#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast