Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Stump Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: Overheard in the adjoining booth in a diner, one person was exuberant about a story and used the word "kweenkydenk" -- or something like that. I think the word was meant to mean "coincidence." Are you familiar with it? -- M.L.M., Boston

A: There are several spellings of "coinkydink," including "kwinkydink." You're right, the word means "coincidence," and it's an alteration of the original word. A friend used the term regularly and claimed it came from a children's TV show a few decades back. I was unable to find an association between the word and a TV show.

LET'S LEARN ENGLISH

In the U.K., an "advice column" is called an "agony column."

In the U.K., they say "zebra crossing"; in America, we say "crosswalk."

Q: If someone claims to be "going commando," he is not wearing underwear. Why the term? -- S.B., Ames, Iowa

A: No one knows, but there are several attempts to explain this fashion of undress. One thought is that commandos in jungle warfare would often go sans underwear to help keep the body cool -- they were said to be "going commando." I like it!

DID YOU KNOW? There is a town in Pennsylvania called Jersey Shore that's nowhere near the New Jersey shore.

Q: There is a celebrity news/gossip program on TV called "TMZ." I have no interest in celebrity news, so I don't watch it, but I am curious what the name of the show means. -- A.L.B., Scottsdale, Ariz.

A: "TMZ" stands for "thirty-mile zone." Movie shoots outside the TMZ are considered location shoots, requiring production companies to provide travel pay and other living expenses to its actors and technicians. The thirty-mile zone encompasses the center of Los Angeles and Hollywood, making it a hub for celebrities. The TV show "TMZ" debuted in November 2005.

My good friend insists "TMZ" stands for "Thugs, Morons and Zombies."

Q: I think one of the best logos around is the Macy's red star. Whenever I see any five-pointed red star, I think Macy's. Who came up with the design? -- G.Z.S., Cape May, N.J.

A: Credit goes to Mr. Macy himself. Rowland Hussey Macy was born Aug. 30, 1822, on Nantucket Island, Mass. At age 15, he joined the crew of the whaling ship the Emily Morgan, where he got a tattoo of a red star. I'm sure there is a story behind that event, but I have not come across it. After four years, he gave up the seafaring life and worked in his father's store. Macy opened his own dry-goods store in Boston in 1843. After that store closed, he worked with his brother-in-law. He even went to California during the gold rush of 1849. In 1858, Macy opened yet another store, this one in New York City. It was a smashing success. He adopted the star -- like his tattoo -- as the logo of the company. Macy died in Paris of heart failure on March 29, 1877.

DID YOU KNOW? Kirk Douglas turned down two Oscar-winning roles: Lee Marvin's in "Cat Ballou" (1965) and William Holden's in "Stalag 17" (1953).


Q: I watched the Kentucky Derby this year, and I noticed it was sponsored by Longines watches. I've always wanted a Longines timepiece. I'm curious: Was there a Longines who created the company? -- M.W., Madison, Wis.

A: No. The company, known at the time as Compagnie des Montres Longines Francillon S.A., was started in 1932 by Auguste Agassiz, who set out to replace the era's mostly handmade timepieces with a precise, manufactured product. In 1867, Agassiz's nephew, Ernest Francillon, who was in charge of the company at that point, began construction of a new factory, located beside a river in an area called "Les Longines," which means "the long meadows" in the local dialect. The company took on the name, and in 2001, it manufactured its 30 millionth watch.


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#103
#102
#101
#101
#101
#100
#99
#98
#97
#96
#95
#94
#93
#92
#91
#90
#89
#88
#87
#86
#85
#84
#83
#82
#81
#80
#79
#78
#77
#76
#75
#74
#73
#72
#71
#70
#69
#68
#67
#66
#65
#64
#63
#62
#61
#60
#59
#58
#57
#56
#55
#54
#53
#52
#51
#50
#49
#48
#47
#46
#45
#44
#43
#42
#41
#40
#39
#38
#37
#36
#35
#34
#33
#32
#31
#30
#29
#28
#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast