Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Stump Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: Is it true there is a growing trend for men to wear an engagement ring? -- K.N., Memphis, Tennessee

A: The idea of men wearing an engagement ring has started in the United States only recently, while in other parts of the world, it is common practice. Some have been calling the male engagement ring a "mangagement" ring, a marriage of the words "man" and "engagement." From what limited information is available, a small plain band is the most popular style. The ring is usually worn on the ring finger and removed the day of the wedding, though some men opt to wear both rings.

If you have an opinion on men's engagement rings, let me know.

As for me, if I were to get engaged, I'd opt for such a ring. I'd wear it on my left hand and remove it on my wedding day. I might wear my engagement ring on a chain around my neck, along with my other medals, including the Virgin Mary and a Celtic cross.

LET'S LEARN ENGLISH

In the U.K., they say "diversion"; in America, we say "detour."

A "thumb tack" is called a "drawing pin" in the U.K.

Q: Quite by accident, I saw a portion of an old Western TV show called "Wagon Train." Robert Horton was a true hunk of a man. Is he still alive? As I recall, he left the show or was released. -- G.P.B., Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania

A: Yes, he is still alive. He'll be 90 on July 29; he and his wife live in the Los Angeles suburbs. Horton made dozens of appearances in movies, television shows and plays. He is best known for playing Flint McCullough in "Wagon Train" from 1957 to 1962. He left the series to pursue a career in musical theater.

About five years ago, his publicist announced he would no longer make public appearances.

Q: What is "eggy bread"? I heard the term many years ago, but I no longer recall where. -- J.G.M., Fresno, California

A: CNN ranked eggy bread as one of the world's 50 best-tasting foods. In this part of the world, we know it as French toast. French toast has been around for a long time; according to some food historians, it was eaten as early as the 4th or 5th century.

If you are wondering what they call French toast in France, it's "pain perdu," meaning "lost bread." It got that name because it was a way to reclaim stale -- or "lost" -- bread.

DID YOU KNOW? The first name of Bob Denver's character Gilligan from "Gilligan's Island" was Willy.

Q: As a kid, my favorite candy bar was PayDay. By the time I got into high school, I lost my sweet tooth and never regained it. From time to time I look at the candy offerings at store checkouts, but I never see my old favorite. Is it still being made? -- W.L., Frankfort, Kentucky

A: The PayDay candy bar was created and introduced by Frank Martoccio in 1932. In 1967, the Martoccio family sold the business. The manufacturing rights changed hands several times over the next decades until 1996, when it was acquired by the Hershey Co. According to candy folklore, Martoccio was at a loss for a name of his new confectionary delight. An employee suggested that since the day was payday, he should name it in honor of the day. The boss liked it, and so did millions of customers.


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#105
#104
#103
#102
#101
#101
#101
#100
#99
#98
#97
#96
#95
#94
#93
#92
#91
#90
#89
#88
#87
#86
#85
#84
#83
#82
#81
#80
#79
#78
#77
#76
#75
#74
#73
#72
#71
#70
#69
#68
#67
#66
#65
#64
#63
#62
#61
#60
#59
#58
#57
#56
#55
#54
#53
#52
#51
#50
#49
#48
#47
#46
#45
#44
#43
#42
#41
#40
#39
#38
#37
#36
#35
#34
#33
#32
#31
#30
#29
#28
#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast