Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 8, 2013/ 4 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Missing the Signs

By Lenore Skenazy



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You know when you're looking for a store or an office and you drive past exactly where it's supposed to be and you can't find it, and you drive past it again and it's still not there, and you stop and swear and check your notes again or check your GPS or call your spouse to say that "something is totally screwed up!" (except you don't say "screwed"), and then you finally park and get out to look for it on foot and THERE IT IS, better-hidden than a polar bear in a blizzard in a nature documentary filmed with ice on the lens?

There's a guy who studies this.

James Kellaris is the Womack/Gemini professor of signage at the University of Cincinnati. Just last week, he was giving a talk at the National Signage Research & Education Conference — surely a high point of any sign researcher's year — reporting on the fact that 60.8 percent of American consumers have "driven by and failed to find a business because the signage was too small." That's up a couple of percent from recent years.

Now, if the majority of us have failed to patronize a store we set out to find, that seems like a rather colossal failure on the part of the businesses, does it not? But Kellaris says it's not the businesses' fault; many municipalities legislate signage "size and placement." The goal is to keep the town from looking like Times Square. (And in fact, Times Square has its own signage dictates, requiring that it not look like your local strip mall where you can't find the walk-in MRI.)

So maybe businesses aren't to blame for their stupid, tiny signs. But surely, they are to blame for other signage issues — such as the fact that two of my local groceries seem determined not to price their produce. Is the broccoli 99 cents a pound or $2.99 or a stunning $3.5 million? There's no sign giving me a hint. How much are the cucumbers? The celery? Often I leave the store without my veggies, simply because I don't want to stalk (ha-ha) the produce guy.

Kellaris explains that produce prices change frequently, "so stores are challenged to keep up." But isn't that their job? Do models prance half-naked onto the runway because they have to change frequently and are challenged to keep up?

And how about movie theaters? I remember when you could glance up and see what movies were playing because they were listed on the marquee. What a concept! But now that a lot of signs have gone digital, the titles zip by like electric eels. If somehow you manage to spot one, you immediately must commit to memory the times it is showing. Wait! Was it 6 or 9? And what was the movie again? Aggh!



"Businesses like digital signs because they are flexible and can display more information than a traditional sign," Kellaris explains, yet again.

He sure sounds like a signage apologist, doesn't he? But in fact, Kellaris is in our corner, fighting for better signage all the time: signs big enough to read and bright enough to be noticed. And radically enough, he even would like to see signs posted perpendicular to the street. "How can we keep our eyes on the road if we have to crane our necks 90 degrees to read a sign?" he asks.

I'd add that ideally, every town in which I never have been before should have signs on absolutely every corner, because whenever I'm someplace new and trying to find a party or person I'm late for, there's an intersection with four distinct corners — and maybe even a stop light — but zero street signs.

So, cities and stores of America, hear our plea: We want to find you, but to do so, you've got to give us a sign.

A big one.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy's column by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast