Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 29, 2013/ 26 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Fraud in the Inducement --- and President Obama

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Bulletin! This just in!!! Even the so-called mainstream media have caught on. Even they, his most loyal acolytes, have begun pounding Jay Carney, the president's flack, over the rollout of ObamaCare.

It doesn't take Sherlock Holmes to figure out that the whole procedure is one great big mess. Even the libs on Saturday Night Live are making fun of it. But hey, Team Obama only had about three years to figure it all out.

The real mystery isn't why Kathleen Sebelius, whose department is in charge of signing us up for ObamaCare, still has a job. What has me baffled is how she still has her citizenship. If she worked in the real world - the private sector where people are held accountable - she'd be long gone by now. And if she were lucky she might find work in Bangladesh.


But what's troubling about the media coverage is that it's been focusing mainly on those "glitches" - the hours and days and weeks it takes to log on to the official ObamaCare Web site. While that's legitimate news, there's a bigger story that is getting short shrift in the MSM. And it's a story about fraud.

Let's say you make a business deal with someone. But you lie about pertinent facts in the process. This is called "Fraud in the Inducement." Here's the definition from a legal dictionary: "the use of deceit or trick to cause someone to act to his/her disadvantage, such as signing an agreement or deeding away real property. The heart of this type of fraud is misleading the other party as to the facts upon which he/she will base his/her decision to act. Example: 'there will be tax advantages to you if you let me take title to your property,' or 'you don’t have to read the rest of the contract–it is just routine legal language.' but actually includes a balloon payment"

Isn't this pretty much what President Obama did when he pushed through the so-called Affordable Care Act? He looked us in the eye and with a straight face said (to use just one easy example) that under his new plan we could keep our doctors if we wanted to. But millions of Americans can't. They're losing their old coverage and being pushed into the ObamaCare "exchanges" — and a lot of them will have to find new doctors. Surely Mr. Obama knew he wasn't telling the truth. That's one of the requirements to prove fraud - that he knew he was misleading us. The alternative is that he wasn't lying at all, but that he is simply incompetent; that he had no idea what he was actually shoving down our throats. This is a possibility too. But let's assume he knew what he was saying. Let's assume he intentionally put a smiley face on his signature program. Why isn't this "fraud in the inducement"?

He also told us our premiums would go down. For millions of us they're going up. How is this any different from the example above when one party tells the other: "There will be tax advantages to you if you let me take title to your property." If that's a lie then so is the president telling us, "Your premiums won't go up." Instead of "tax advantages" he misled us about "premium advantages."

I wasn't on the "Repeal ObamaCare" bandwagon. I think the leaders of that movement did Republicans more harm than good. The way you get rid of ObamaCare is by winning elections. I think Ted Cruz and the others made that more difficult for the GOP- but time will tell, as the old saying goes.

But I do know this: If Barack Obama sold any of us a bill of goods based on a pack of lies in the private world of business, he just might find himself trying to explain what happened to a judge.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


10/21/13: The One Promise Mr. Obama Is Trying to Keep
10/08//13: A President Who Is More Like Harry Reid than Harry Truman
09/16/13: Obama's Greatest Asset: Clueless Americans
09/03/13: Loose Talk about Red Lines May Give Iran a Green Light
09/02/13: MLK Knew the Difference Between Nooses and Handcuffs
08/27/13: If President Obama Had a Son He Might Look Like . . .
08/20/13: Do We Really Want Another Coronation in 2016?
08/12/13: Wanna Know What's Wrong With Journalism?
08/06/13: CNN Finds Benghazi Terrorist Suspect; FBI Doesn't
07/30/13: Don't Blame Me --- Blame Those Phony Scandals
07/23/13: What President Obama Left Out of His Talk on Race
07/17/13: Do We Need Affirmative Action for Conservative Journalists?
07/15/13: Zimmerman is Not Guilty . . . What About the Media?
07/09/13: Should We Ever Punish Journalists for Publishing Secret Information?
06/25/13: Re-Defining Racial Discrimination in America
06/18/13: Freedom in an Age of Terrorism
06/11/13: Which is More Honest: Roller Derby or the Obama Administration?
05/30/13: Did Eric Holder Lie to Congress?
05/23/13: How Do We Know Fox reporter Isn't a Commie Spy?
05/21/13: How High Does the IRS Scandal Go?
05/14/13: When Is a Scandal Not A Scandal?
05/09/13: Jodi Arias, Cable TV, and a Nation Fascinated by Shiny Objects
05/03/13: Global Warming May Lead to Sex --- for Money
04/30/13: Of Red Lines, Game Changers and U.S. Credibility
04/23/13: The Boston Marathon Bombings and the Importance of Getting the Story Right
04/15/13: Media Ignore Mass Murder Trial
04/09/13: Obama Compliments a Woman; Feminists Offended
04/04/13: When the Government Goes Bankrupt
03/18/13: Don't Blame Him --- He's Only the President
03/12/13: Sun Still Rises After Sequester So Prez Comes Up With Plan B To Insure Hardship
03/11/13: A President We Can't Be Proud Of
03/05/13: New Poll: Nation on Wrong Track . . . So Which Party Gets the Blame?
02/26/13: A President Who Is Rooting for Chaos
02/22/13: Obama: The World Is About to End . . . (Or Not)
02/19/13: Rubio Reaches for Water --- Crime of the Century
02/13/13: Drones, Double Standards and the So-Called Mainstream Media
02/06/13: One Small Step for Man, One Giant Step for Nut Jobs
01/30/13: Obama and Fox: Here We Go Again
01/25/13: CBS News Political Director to Barack Obama: Destroy the GOP
01/21/13: Just a Thought . . .
01/15/13: Al Gore is No Run of the Mill Hypocrite
01/14/13: The High Cost of Obama's America
01/08/13: Another Reason Libs Make Me Laugh
01/07/13: Al Gore Hates Oil But Loves Oil Money
12/31/12: Memo to GOP: Make Obama Own the Mess He's Created
12/24/12: GOP In More Trouble Than They Probably Know
12/18/12: Taking on Guns Will Be the Easy Part
12/17/12: When Obama's Words Mean Nothing
12/10/12: Do You Believe in Magic?
12/04/12: Obama and the Dolts Deserve Each Other
11/27/12: When the Ends Justify the Meanness
11/20/12: Our Mesmerizer-in-Chief
11/19/12: This Pretty Much Sums It Up . . .
11/12/12: Santa Claus and the GOP Civil War
11/07/12: Obama Wins . . . and Loses
11/01/12: Out on a Limb, Predicting A Big Victory For . . .
11/01/12: Should Mitt Talk to Bill?
10/30/12: Really Dumb Conservatives . . .
10/23/12: Debate #3: How Much Does Foreign Policy Matter If You Can't Find a Job?
10/22/12: When Conservatives Are As Dopey as Liberals . . .
10/19/12: Journalists' Who Don't Even Try to Hide Their Bias
10/17/12: Obama Stopped the Bleeding --- But Was That Enough to Change the Momentum?
10/15/12: No Winner in the Debate --- But Maybe a Loser
10/08/12: The October Surprise
10/04/12: Civil War in the GOP Could Go Nuclear on Nov 7
10/01/12: Even If He Wins, Obama Will Lose
09/27/12: Obama Picks Up a Crucial Demographic
09/26/12: If Obama Thinks He Inherited a Mess Four Years Ago . . .
09/24/12: A Good Way to Kill Free Speech
08/30/12: Facts I Have Uncovered About the Real Mitt Romney
08/23/12: Hope and Change, R.I.P.s
08/16/12: Who's Smarter: Joe Biden or Yogi Berra?
08/13/12: His Silence Makes Him Complicit
08/07/12: Did You Know that Harry Reid Got Rich Pimping Out HOs?
08/02/12: Like Birds on a Telephone Wire
07/30/12: What Me Worry? YES!
07/26/27: The Mystery Continues --- A Tale of Two Polls
07/16/27: We've Set a Low Bar for 'Courage'
07/11/27: Will Class Warfare Work?
07/09/27: A Brave New World
07/02/27: Now the Fun Really Starts
06/19/27: You Can't Make This Stuff Up . . .
06/19/12: I Would Have Fired Him Before He Got Back to the Office
06/12/12: Time to Crush the Myth about Gender Pay Inequality
06/06/12: The Desperate Campaign of Barack Obama
06/01/12: Hey Fatso! Listen Up!
05/25/12: Going After the Stupid Vote
05/22/12: The X Factor(s)!
05/15/12: Obama Has a Halo; Newsweek Has No Shame
05/10/12: Authoritarians on Campus
05/08/12: Obama's Path to Victory: Divide and Conquer
05/01/12: President Cool Meets Reality
04/25/12: Why Media Bias Matters
04/17/12: NYT: At It Again
04/13/12: Kissing up to the Rev. Al
04/10/12: This Just In: War Breaks Out --- Thank You, Lord
04/03/12: In Cold Blood?
03/27/12: Trayvon Martin and Media Hypocrisy
03/26/12: Time to Go, Rick
03/22/12: Obama's Mantra: Don't Blame Me
03/19/12: The U.N. Human Rights Council --- and other Jokes
03/13/12: Bias in the News: Blame it on Their Zip Code
03/06/12: Thank Heaven for Rich People --- a Second Look
02/29/12: Some Free Advice for the Republican Field
02/28/12: Do We Have a Right to Lie?
02/16/12: Can Obama Win Re-Election by Promising Free Stuff?
02/06/12: The 5 Stages of Mitt
02/02/12: Florida Has Spoken; Cue the Fat Lady
01/30/12: The Other Global Warming Story
01/26/12: They See Racists Everywhere . . .
01/24/12: The Arrogant and Clueless Mainstream Media
01/23/12: Gingrich Wins SC --- Media Help Big Time
01/18/12: A New Entry for 100 People Who Are Screwing Up America
01/12/12: The Dream Ticket Could Be a Conservative Nightmare
01/11/12: Now 'Anybody But Romney' Has a Name
12/30/11: I Have a Confession to Make . . .
12/27/11: Know When to Hold 'em and Know When to Fold 'em
12/20/11: NBC News, the KKK and the State of Journalism
12/19/11: Mitt and Newt: Two Rich Guys Arguing Over Money
12/13/11: Donald Trump Is the Greatest; Just Ask Him
12/12/11: Rob Peter to Pay Paul: Bad Economics! Good Politics?
12/07/11: Yeah . . . and Fish Don't Know They're Wet, Either
12/06/11: Did the Media Play Fair with Herman Cain?
12/05/11: Obama to Blue-Collar America: Adios!
11/29/11: We Can Stop the Crazy Train Before It Gets to Greece
11/22/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/15/11: The Dumbest Media Question I've Ever Heard
11/09/11: What If Herman Cain Did It?
11/08/11: What If Herman Cain Were a Lib?
11/02/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/01/11: We're Approaching the Tipping Point
10/25/11: A Response to the Angry Purists
10/18/11: They're Waiting for Reagan to Hit the Campaign Trail
10/12/11: Read This!!! --- But Only If You Have Nothing Better To Do
10/04/11: Can Obama Win Re-Election?
09/27/11: It's NOT the Economy Stupid, It's Theology
09/20/11: Bad News on the Doorstep
09/09/11: Hypocrisy!
09/06/11: Back to the Future
08/24/11: Hillary vs. Obama in 2012? It'll Never Happen --- I Don't Think
08/22/11: Warning: Conservatives May Be Harmful to Your Mental Health
08/17/11: Warren Buffett, Coddled Billionaire
08/11/11: Too Much Balance in the Media?
08/04/11: All Aboard the Crazy Train
08/01/11: Liberal Hate Speech
07/25/11: With All Due Respect, Go Fly a Kite
07/20/11: Who Is A ‘Natural Born Citizen’?
07/18/11: Guess Who's Not Paying Their Fair Share
07/12/11: Against More Taxes? You May Be a Terrorist!
07/11/11: Casey Anthony: The TV Show
07/06/11: Standards and Double Standards at MSNBC
06/29/11: Is Jon Stewart A Racist?
06/21/11: Let's Play the Race Card --- Just for Fun Of Course
06/20/11: Sarah Palin and Weiner's Weiner
06/03/11: Memo to GOP: Turn Mr. Obama into Mr. Yesterday
05/20/11: I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up
05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast