Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 24, 20128 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

'Hope and Change' have become Smirk and Disdain

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In the third, and mercifully last, presidential debate of this campaign, the candidates sliced razor-thin nuances in their foreign policy views. Romney was measured and presidential, and he avoided the trap being set for him as a warmonger. He actually seemed to be less interventionist than Obama, who ran against the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan but who has since become the sheriff from "Blazing Saddles."

As usual, when Obama was asked a question he would ignore it and revert to his tired talking points, mocking Romney on his foreign policy experience as Governor of Massachusetts. Who can forget the bloody, unprovoked and protracted invasion Romney initiated against Vermont over maple syrup tariffs?

Because he is losing steam, and because he is a whiner by nature, Obama attacked. Of course, liberal CBS "moderator" and Obama sniffer Bob Schieffer would cut Romney off when he tried to respond. His Freudian slip showed when he said "helped us catch Obama's bin Laden." Who could have predicted that the Democratic candidates would be allowed more time in all four debates?

For some reason, the contests are broadcast on all major TV channels. I am not really sure why. "Honey Boo Boo" is on just one, way up on the dial, and people seem to find it easily.

Obama shamelessly reached out to Ohio voters, and both candidates pandered to the ladies. They both agreed to increase the domestic output of romantic comedies starring Hugh Grant and to make 50 Shades of Gray into a Lifetime free movie.

The two candidates spent almost the entire ninety minutes of the debate agreeing on foreign policy. Obama even agreed that they agreed and drew no contrast between himself and Romney. Yet, ever the politician, Obama twice called Romney's policies, "wrong and reckless." So we can conclude that their foreign policies are the same, but Romney's are "wrong and reckless."

The Daily Beast's headline was, "President Obama Slams A Passive Mitt Romney as 'Reckless' on Foreign Policy." I remind you, this is coming from the left, which cares more about winning than it does about core values.

Obama has done nothing unique in foreign policy. He wound down the wars on the path George Bush laid out. Hypocritically, he opposed the very enhanced interrogation techniques and other Guantanamo Bay practices that led us to bin Laden, yet he prances around bragging that "he" killed him.

I have said for a decade that we should not be in these expensive and intractable wars of choice. Romney positioned himself to the left of Obama on warmongering, and that perplexed our ever perplex-able President.

A sitting president has a built-in advantage on foreign policy debates, and no president has done more sitting than Obama. He has had four years of security briefings, some of which he actually attended if Pimp With a Limp and The View were in reruns that week. If he really cared about peace, he would intervene to stop all the bickering on The View and free Elizabeth Hasselbeck.

The real point of this last debate should have been that America cannot be strong forever if we keep spending over a trillion dollars a year that we do not have. Our economic well being is key to our standing in the world, and that has suffered under Obama's big spending, central command and control governing. We spend 7 times what China, with the second biggest military, spends on "defense." Our Department of Defense has become the Offense Department, and we are going broke.

A theoretical discussion about Israeli settlements on the West Bank (yet another housing market doing better than ours) does us no good when our economy is in the tank.

We need less government, not more. When meddlesome politicians tire of regulating and butting their noses into domestic policy, which retards our economy and our freedoms, they set their sights on other countries and call their meddling "foreign policy."

It should not be our intention to egg on presidents, like in the moments leading up to a bar fight, to always do "something" about everything. Rather, it should be to make them stop always doing things. We should not be asking so much what our president would do; we should ask what he would not do.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

The Town Hall Debate: Angry Birds II

Boorish Biden needed to be put in time out

Media and Their Polls Declare Obama Winner

The United Nations: U.S. Attends Annual 'Despot Lecture' Series

Root of evil? Modern-day hitchhikers of virtue

You didn't build that' Speech Justifies Obama's Confiscation of Our Money

Anthony Weiner Reinserts Himself --- Into Politics

The 'Food Stamp President' Loves the Dependent, Mostly for Their Votes

The Fourth and Family

Fatherhood: Blame starts early if you allow it

Toothless Law Sets Doofus Free: The John Edwards Hung Jury

The Dangers of Government's Creeping Incrementalism

Affable dolt, highly excitable and eager to please, Biden does Obama's Bidding

First Person Forward

The Secret Service: Not that Secret about getting Serviced

Who are Really the Heroes?

GSA Vegas excesses? Bush's fault

Temptation of the Tebow

ObamaCare---Once They Get their Commerce Claws in Us, What's the Limit?

Obama's Campaign Theme: Taxation and Demonization

DNA and Me: Family Facts not Genome for Years

College for Everyone? Some Children Need to be Left Behind

Hope for the Hip-Hop-ocrisy at the Grammys

The Bain of Our Existence

Confusing Obama and 'Go Bama'

E-conning the Public, Washington Spending, and Other Shell Games

Looking Back at 2011

Kim Jong Il: North Koreans Love You Long Time --- it's Mandatory

What the MF-- Global?

The GOP Primaries: The Adultery of Hope

No Thankfulness at Thanksgiving for the OWS Crowd

Cain Mutiny, or a ‘High-tech Lynching?’

Slipping into an Envy-ocracy

An honest, if unconventional, assessment of those vying to wipe that smirk off Obama's smug mug

The Unwashed Masses Descend on New York City

Obama ‘pivots to jobs’ --- his

Washington: Blame No One. Do Something!

Our Debt Problems: Politicians Extend and Pretend

No Child Left --- To the Left

Dems' debt ceiling demagoguery

Golf Summit --- I Like Spike(s)

Nancy Pelosi Finally Demands a Weiner Probe

The porkulus political payback project

Schwarzenegger, please!

An ILL Wind for Business --- Boeing, Boeing Gone?

Osama's 72 Virgins --- and Obama's 72 Versions

Bin Laden was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes

Trump: Got 99 problems, but rich ain't one

Why you should see the ‘Atlas Shrugged’ movie

Why The Donald trumps the Bamster

O-Bomb-A

Mid-East Megalomaniacal Despots on the Run

Truther or Dare

Facebook ‘Un-friends’ Our Increasingly Regulation-burdened Capital Markets

Egyptians Unfriend Mubarak

Hold 'em liable --- the colleges, that is

Follow your Hart in a look back at 2010

GOP wins in showdown

WikiLeaks --- Danger or Disinfectant?

The Angle of the Rangel

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles