Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 18, 20122 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

The Town Hall Debate: Angry Birds II

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Barack Obama showed up for the second debate Tuesday night. He knew it was important for him to be on time, and that was made easier because Mitt Romney cleaned his clock two weeks ago.

I always love the part where the candidates tell a one-sided story about an encounter with an aggrieved swing state voter who told them how bad their opponent is, or when they try to woo women voters with moves so transparent they might as well play Barry White music in the background.

Most view the second presidential debate as virtual tie, within the margin of error. The "margin of error" was provided by moderator Candy Crowley of CNN, who allowed Obama 10% more time and got him out of a tough question on Libya.

Crowley must have snagged one of the few public land drilling permits issued by the Obama administration, so she felt obligated to interject "He (Obama) did, in fact, say it was an act of terror." Subsequent fact-checking proved he did not say that. For weeks Obama, Hillary Clinton, and UN Ambassador Susan Rice appeared on talk shows and blamed the attack on a 13-minute YouTube video. The only coordinated attack they recognized was theirs on the truth.

In Obama's defense, U.S. outposts in radical Muslim strongholds are sitting ducks. The attacks are not the administration's fault, but their reaction to it is. Most frightening to me, the government orchestrated a public, large police force arrest of the US citizen who made the awful video, ostensibly for a minor "parole violation." As we know, he was arrested only after the video aired, in what seemed an attempt by Obama to enforce Sharia law in the U.S. Our president was acting on his UN statement "the future must not belong to those who slander the prophet of Islam."

I worry about the liberal moderators picked for the debates; they seem to be a virtual Who's Who of mainstream media Obama accolytes. Obama was asked several direct questions that he did not even attempt to answer. No fair moderator would allow that. Obama is slick, no doubt. But his slyness, greased by a compliant media, makes him even more slick than WD40 on a Slippery Slide.

I try never to judge a frumpy, rotund woman like Candy Crowley until I hear her sing "I Dreamed a Dream." Yet I held out hope that she would shed the liberal skin that is CNN and be fair. Not much has been said about this, but Crowley even allowed a negative question directed to Romney which asked him to differentiate himself from George Bush. Obama was then allowed to opine on that question. Why was Obama not asked to compare himself to Jimmy Carter instead of letting him pile on to that question?

Clearly, Romney missed some opportunities. It is not in his nature to be a bombastic, Joe Biden-type of politician full of hyperbole, bluster, Rogaine and Viagra. In the vice-presidential debate, Biden took a strong stand against unspecified "malarkey." I fully expected Obama to take Jumpin Joe's lead and come out against shenanigans, horseplay, hooliganism and tomfoolery.

We know that Romney is a different type of person. He is a white guy who still buys Cadillacs, which speaks volumes.

Going into the second debate, the candidates tried to lower expectations. And no one has lowered expectations better over the last four years than Obama; his record is a well-documented disaster. There is nothing he has done while president that the country, absent the lay-abouts and moochers, wants more of. Do we want more debt? More lies about videos being the cause of 9/11 attacks on our consulates? More welfare, food stamps, regulations, taxes, and class warfare? More unemployment?

We are an imaginative country. We see more UFOs than all other nations combined. But on Tuesday night, neither candidate presented much of a vision for where he would take this country. There was no talk of cutting spending, limiting wars and limiting the growth of government. I thought one of the better town hall questions might be, "Are these our only two choices?" It was just more of the same-old, same old — resulting in our choice: the evil of two lessers.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

Boorish Biden needed to be put in time out

Media and Their Polls Declare Obama Winner

The United Nations: U.S. Attends Annual 'Despot Lecture' Series

Root of evil? Modern-day hitchhikers of virtue

You didn't build that' Speech Justifies Obama's Confiscation of Our Money

Anthony Weiner Reinserts Himself --- Into Politics

The 'Food Stamp President' Loves the Dependent, Mostly for Their Votes

The Fourth and Family

Fatherhood: Blame starts early if you allow it

Toothless Law Sets Doofus Free: The John Edwards Hung Jury

The Dangers of Government's Creeping Incrementalism

Affable dolt, highly excitable and eager to please, Biden does Obama's Bidding

First Person Forward

The Secret Service: Not that Secret about getting Serviced

Who are Really the Heroes?

GSA Vegas excesses? Bush's fault

Temptation of the Tebow

ObamaCare---Once They Get their Commerce Claws in Us, What's the Limit?

Obama's Campaign Theme: Taxation and Demonization

DNA and Me: Family Facts not Genome for Years

College for Everyone? Some Children Need to be Left Behind

Hope for the Hip-Hop-ocrisy at the Grammys

The Bain of Our Existence

Confusing Obama and 'Go Bama'

E-conning the Public, Washington Spending, and Other Shell Games

Looking Back at 2011

Kim Jong Il: North Koreans Love You Long Time --- it's Mandatory

What the MF-- Global?

The GOP Primaries: The Adultery of Hope

No Thankfulness at Thanksgiving for the OWS Crowd

Cain Mutiny, or a ‘High-tech Lynching?’

Slipping into an Envy-ocracy

An honest, if unconventional, assessment of those vying to wipe that smirk off Obama's smug mug

The Unwashed Masses Descend on New York City

Obama ‘pivots to jobs’ --- his

Washington: Blame No One. Do Something!

Our Debt Problems: Politicians Extend and Pretend

No Child Left --- To the Left

Dems' debt ceiling demagoguery

Golf Summit --- I Like Spike(s)

Nancy Pelosi Finally Demands a Weiner Probe

The porkulus political payback project

Schwarzenegger, please!

An ILL Wind for Business --- Boeing, Boeing Gone?

Osama's 72 Virgins --- and Obama's 72 Versions

Bin Laden was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes

Trump: Got 99 problems, but rich ain't one

Why you should see the ‘Atlas Shrugged’ movie

Why The Donald trumps the Bamster

O-Bomb-A

Mid-East Megalomaniacal Despots on the Run

Truther or Dare

Facebook ‘Un-friends’ Our Increasingly Regulation-burdened Capital Markets

Egyptians Unfriend Mubarak

Hold 'em liable --- the colleges, that is

Follow your Hart in a look back at 2010

GOP wins in showdown

WikiLeaks --- Danger or Disinfectant?

The Angle of the Rangel

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles