Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct 6, 2011 / 8 Tishrei, 5772

A storybook princess

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The waiting room was packed with people doing what we all do in waiting rooms: waiting.

Some read. Some played with cellphones. Some engaged in not-so-private conversations the rest of us pretended not to hear.

Usually, when I wait, I read. But I forgot to bring a book. So instead of reading, I watched.

A woman rolled into the room in a wheelchair followed by a younger man who called her "mama." When he took a seat, she rolled up and propped her feet on the chair beside him. And he didn't seem to mind.

I tried to picture how my children might react if I ever did that publicly with them.

A few rows away, two middle-aged women were discussing various issues in a relationship.

"That fool ain't never gonna do right by her," said one.

"I know that's the truth," said the other, "but you can't tell her nothin.' She won't listen."

In the corner, two squirrelly boys were making a game of slapping each other on the arm. When the slaps turned to punches, their father folded his newspaper, took the boys in hand and said, "Let's go wait outside for your mom."

Across the room, a skinny little girl with smart brown eyes stood watching them, while her mother discussed something with an office assistant.

For a moment, I thought the child was going to follow the boys out to the parking lot.

"Caitlin!" Her mother's voice roped her in. That's when she noticed me noticing her.

"What do you have there?" I said, pointing to the Disney book Caitlin was holding.

She looked down, as if she'd forgotten. "A book," she said.

"What it's about?"

She scuffed the toe of her tennis shoe. "Princesses."

"Can you read it?" I asked.

She giggled. "No, I'm only 3." She held up two fingers, counted, then added a third.

"Would you like me to read it to you?"

She smiled, looked at her mom, got a nod.

"OK," she said, climbing up beside me, "if you have to."

And so we read.

As books go, it was blissfully brief (one page each for the likes of Cinderella, Snow White, Sleeping Beauty and Ariel, aka the Little Mermaid); short on plot (good women, bad choices); and heavy on illustration (fancy dresses, a lot of kissing and a whole lot of big hair.)

I read fast, got to the end and said, "Which is your favorite?"

Caitlin didn't hesitate. "I like Ariel," she said.

"What do you like about her?"

Pointing, she traced the outline of the mermaid's glittering green tail.

"She's sparkly."

I nodded. "I like sparkly, too."

For a moment, we sat quietly, admiring Ariel's scales.

"I know another princess story," I said. "Wanna hear it?"

Caitlin looked up at me.

"Once upon a time," I began, "there was a beautiful princess named ... Caitlin."

Her eyes grew wide, then crinkled up in a grin.

"She was smart. And she was kind. And she was sparkly," I said. "And she wasn't afraid to share a book with a stranger."

Just then, Caitlin's mother turned to leave and Caitlin ran to join her. When her mother whispered in her ear, she came back, shy, but smiling, and said, "Thank you for reading to me."

"My pleasure," I said.

I didn't get to tell her the end of her story, but I will tell it to you, and pray it comes true.

Princess Caitlin grew up and learned to read. She read for pleasure and she read for gain. She read to every child who came her way. And she never forgot to take along a book.

Yes, she lived happily ever.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


Love reaches forward, never back

How to Watch a Sunset

Waiting often comes with gifts

An exceptional book club

There is no guilt in moving forward

Celebrations full of love and buttercream

It takes a whole village of shoes to raise a child

The best stories always tell us who we are

Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles