Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct 20, 2011 / 22 Tishrei, 5772

Hold on to treasured words, don't trust memory

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sometimes I surprise myself by coming up with an idea so good it makes me sorry I didn't think of it sooner.

Actually, in some cases, I probably did think of it sooner, but then I forgot about it until I thought of it again.

My husband and I like to joke that we never run out of things to say to each other because we can't remember a word we say. It's not as funny as it used to be.

Anyhow, back to my great idea. Wait. What was it?

It had something to do with remembering things. Not errands or appointments or grocery lists, but really important things like ... words.

We were driving home to Las Vegas from Los Angeles, four hours in bad traffic that left me hungry to do something besides watch my husband drive.

So I began to recite -- silently, lest, God forbid, I distract the driver -- the Lord's Prayer. I wasn't sure if I wanted to say "forgive us our trespasses" or "forgive us our debts," so I said both. Better safe than sorry.

That took about two minutes.

"How much farther?" I asked.

"Four hours," he said.

Next, I did the 23rd Psalm. I learned to recite it as a child on long drives with my granddad, who had a tendency to nod off behind the wheel. I'd lean up close and shout it in his ear to help him stay awake.

I looked at my husband. His eyes were still open. So again, I recited it to myself. Or I tried. Imagine my dismay when I got stuck on the second verse. The more I tried to pin it down, the more it escaped me. How could I do that? How could I forget something so beautiful, something that meant so much to me?

Then I started thinking about other words I've forgotten, other treasures I have lost.

Not everything can, or should, be trusted to memory.

I wish I had the postcards my dad wrote to me after he and my mother divorced. Words can be a life raft to a drowning child. I slept with them under my pillow until they ended up in the wash.

I wish I'd kept a copy of the speech I gave at my high school graduation. It was not a great speech. But it might help me remember who I was then.

I wish I'd saved more papers my kids wrote in school -- essays and stories and journals that would be such fun to read now.

I have a few notes they wrote to me over the years. I framed three together -- one from each child -- with a photo of how they looked back then. It's hanging in my office. Just looking at it makes me smile.

I wish I'd kept more of their writings and taken the time to write down things they said. What I realized on the road between L.A. and Vegas is that it's not too late to start.

So here's my big idea, one you probably thought of years ago. I started a file called "Words." So far, it holds a "welcome home" card from my husband, a thank-you note from my daughter and a postcard from an 85-year-old reader in Indiana that begins, "Hi, Sweetie."

I also printed several emails (one in which my daughter-in-law describes in priceless detail a picnic with her husband and their toddler). And I transcribed a few recent voice messages: my husband announcing the birth of his granddaughter; my oldest telling me about a play he's doing; and my brother over the moon about Clemson University's latest win ("I'm so happy, sister, I don't know what to do!").

I put them all in the file, along with the words to the 23rd Psalm, which I am determined to memorize -- yes, again.

What words do you want to remember? What words do you want to be remembered for?

Put them in writing.

Before you forget.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


A storybook princess

Love reaches forward, never back

How to Watch a Sunset

Waiting often comes with gifts

An exceptional book club

There is no guilt in moving forward

Celebrations full of love and buttercream

It takes a whole village of shoes to raise a child

The best stories always tell us who we are

Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles