Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 27, 2010 19 Mar-Cheshvan, 5771

Gov. Moonbeam Comes Back to Earth

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Jerry Brown was born a few days before television began regular broadcasts, a few months before the first Superman comic book was released, and about a year and a half before Hitler invaded Poland.

He became eligible for Social Security a few years ago -- he is 72 -- and having become California's youngest elected governor at age 36, he is on the verge of becoming its oldest elected governor.

In a year when political experience is derided, incumbency is an anchor around the neck and money means everything, Brown, a Democrat, has just opened a double-digit lead over billionaire businesswoman Meg Whitman, who has contributed a record-shattering $142 million to her own campaign and has outspent Brown 14 to one.

Whitman has never served a day in office -- not necessarily a drawback in our current national mood -- while Brown has spent quite a few. A lifetime, in fact. Brown has served as Los Angeles Community College trustee (1969-1971), California secretary of state (1971-1975), governor of California (1975-1983), chairman of the California Democratic Party (1989-1991) and mayor of Oakland (1999-2007), and he is currently California's attorney general.

Like many successful politicians, he is not afraid to lose. He ran unsuccessfully for president of the United States in 1976, 1980 and 1992 and for the U.S. Senate in 1982.

I remember his first words to me. "We are all on Spaceship Earth," he told me one warm June afternoon in 1976. I looked around. It appeared to me as if we were on a campaign bus in Southern California. "The dialectic process between co-equal branches takes unpredictable turns," he went on. "This is all part of the discipline of the process. We cannot accept verbal cellophane for policy."

Even by the standards of the time, Jerry Brown appeared to be one weird dude. (Chicago columnist Mike Royko dubbed him "Gov. Moonbeam," a sobriquet that has stuck with Brown to this day, even though Royko later apologized.)

But Brown did not do all that badly in his first presidential run, winning five primaries and having enough credibility to run for president again four years later, where I caught up with him in New Hampshire. His pitch was simpler this time: Vote for Jerry Brown or die.

"The prospects are bleak. We are looking down the road to depression and world war. The chickens are coming home to roost. We are an island of affluence, sinking in a rising sea of despair," he told about 75 Sears employees in the Mall of New Hampshire in Manchester one bone-chillingly cold winter day.

"Draft registration is just a way of getting kids to die to make oil companies richer," he continued. "Nuclear power is grossly immoral. It can destroy our gene pool, irradiate our food chain, and the people making the decisions don't care. Have you got your iodine for your thyroid cancer yet?"

That pretty much did it. The crowd began edging away. Down the street, Ronald Reagan was preaching the politics of joy, while Brown was talking about thyroid cancer.

Brown didn't care. He stood there lean and hungry-looking (he was on the Pritikin diet) in his conservative gray suit, his digital watch still set on California time, lobbing these hand grenades into the crowd.

"There is a deterioration of human, technical and environmental assets," he said. "We face increasing social tension, the unraveling of the social fabric, and our economy is out of control."

And while this shocked people in 1980 -- he didn't win any primaries at all -- it wouldn't shock people today. Today, it sounds pretty mainstream.

After his speech at the mall, I asked him how he could possibly beat both Jimmy Carter and Ted Kennedy for the Democratic nomination, considering they had much better financed campaigns.

"I'm lean and frugal and low to the ground," Brown said. "I'm broke and in trouble. And that is why I am just like America."

To some, he was never a very likable guy. Bill Clinton came close to physically assaulting him during a televised debate in 1992.

"I think he (Clinton) has a big electability problem," Brown said near the end of the debate in Chicago, the last one before the Illinois primary. "He is funneling money to his wife's law firm."

Clinton turned a furious shade of red. "Let me tell you something, Jerry," Clinton said, shaking his finger at Brown, "I don't care what you say about me ... but you ought to be ashamed of yourself for jumping on my wife. You're not worth being on the same platform with my wife!"

Clinton seemed ready to stride over and smack Brown -- Clinton is a big guy -- but he settled for a verbal smackdown, instead. "Jerry comes here with his family wealth and his $1,500 suit, and makes a lying accusation about my wife," Clinton sneered.

See? Politics was fun even before witches were running.

The two have since made up, with Clinton campaigning for Brown at UCLA about 10 days ago, saying of Brown and Meg Whitman: "These candidates have dramatically different ideas. One will lead you to a brighter future. The other will lead you to a movie we've seen before."

Whitman has stuck to the Republican playbook. "I think the contrast between Jerry and me will be in stark relief: a career politician versus a career businessperson who has created jobs, who has managed a business," she said. "It will be outsider versus insider."

"I have an outsider's mind with an insider's perspective," Brown responded.

Which could lead to interesting things.

Once, as governor, Brown spent hours reviewing the California National Guard on a patch of desert, watching tank after tank rumble by. And when all the troops had assembled before him and the clouds of choking dust had settled, he leaned into the microphone and said: "I just got an idea. Let's invade Nevada."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate