Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 5, 2010/ 27 Tishrei, 5771

My Mom Scams a Scammer

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Grandma," said a young man when my mother answered her phone last week, "I'm in trouble."

He sounded like one of her grandsons.

"Jerrod?" she said.

"Yes, Grandma. We were fishing in Canada and didn't know we were on an Indian reservation. Some mean-looking men said we broke the law. They're taking us to a judge for sentencing. I need bail money or they won't let me come home!"

"Oh, Jerrod," said my 70-something mother, feigning her most feeble voice. "Are you OK?"

"No, Grandma. They assigned me a lawyer. Can I have him call you? I am so embarrassed. Please don't tell anyone."

"I won't even tell Grandpa!" said my cagey mother.

A few moments later, "the lawyer" phoned.

"This is serious, ma'am," said an authoritarian male voice. "We have two hours to raise $575 for bail or the judge will send Jerrod to jail."

He gave her details on how to wire money to Vancouver. She told him she'd do what he asked.

Ninety minutes later, the scammer called back.

"I got the cash," said my mother, "but my car won't start!"

"Can you take a cab?"

"I don't know how to do that," she said. "Maybe my neighbors can help. Can you give me 15 minutes?"

He phoned back 15 minutes later.

"We still can't get it started," said my mother. "My neighbor doesn't drive, but her husband will be home soon. Can you give me a half-hour?"

He phoned back 30 minutes later.

"I went to Western Union," said my mother, "but the lady said I didn't have the right information. Can you give it to me again?"

Grumbling, he gave her the information again.

"Can I talk to my grandson?" she said.

"He's on his way to the judge."

"May I have your cell number in case I forget something?"

"I'm unable to take calls when in court. How long do you think it will take to wire the money?"

"Can you give me a half-hour?"

He phoned back several more times -- the caller ID said "no information" when he did -- but my mother waited 30 minutes to answer.

"I gave the Western Union woman the money!" she said, sounding relieved.

"Do you have the confirmation number on the receipt?"

"Receipt?"

"When you give them the money, they give you a receipt," he said impatiently.

"I forgot the receipt!"

"Lady, how can you give someone $575 and not get a receipt?!"

He was beside himself by this point.

"I'm so worried about Jerrod! Can you give me another half-hour so I can go get the receipt?"

"For godssake, lady. Get it right this time."

He called back 30 minutes later. She gave him a made-up confirmation number.

Two minutes later, realizing the confirmation number was useless, he began calling back every two minutes -- for more than an hour.

My mother answered no more of his calls.

She had tied the fellow up for more than seven hours. She had scammed the scammer -- preventing him, we hope, from scamming someone less suspecting.

She had fun, but what she did was profound.

There are bad people in the world. Despite our laws -- despite multiple government agencies that are supposed to protect us -- they persist.

My mother stepped up. She did what little she could to take control and thwart something wrong.

Imagine a country where everybody took control -- everyone stepped up to do what little he or she could do.

There surely would be fewer scams. There would surely be a more energetic, engaged citizenry -- the kind of citizenry on which lasting civilizations are built.

The kind we must get back to.

One thing is for sure: Scammers won't be phoning my mother again anytime soon.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2010, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles