Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 18, 2010 / 10 Mar-Cheshvan, 5771

Miller time

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You know Lee Greenwood: He's the country-music star who hit patriotic pay dirt with his 1980s hit song "G0d Bless the U.S.A." Joe Miller, the Republican nominee for Senate in Alaska, looks much like Greenwood, to the point that he could easily be mistaken for the singer if he ever strolled through Nashville. And, listening to Miller speak, you hear echoes of Greenwood's famous tune. The tea party may not be looking for a single spokesman or leader, but in Joe Miller it has its personification: an outsider, a constitutionalist and someone who's thoroughly fed up with the political system's disrespect for the common man.

If I brought Greenwood up to Miller, he wouldn't wax nostalgic about the '80s, or assess the fine pleasures of a Hannity Freedom Concert. Miller would probably want to know why I spent three sentences talking about anything other than policy solutions. There's no shooting the breeze with Joe Miller. When he recently dropped by National Review's Capitol Hill office, the Alaskan was, in the words of my colleague Bob Costa, "cool as ice."

Miller's coolness is refreshing in such hot political times. A former U.S. Army officer who earned a Bronze Star in the first Gulf War, Miller gives the impression of great seriousness. He's a man on a mission.

"G0d's country isn't going to mean much if Washington, D.C., collapses," Miller says in response to a casual comment from a lower-49er about Alaska, the frontier land this Kansas boy chose to adopt as his home. "The fact of the matter is," Miller asserts, "the federal government, with the way that it's headed, is bringing the whole country down. I honestly believe that if we don't seize this opportunity to change the direction of D.C., that our country is not going to be the land of opportunity that it once was. The competitive nature, even at the individual level, is being depressed. … Dependency from the federal level is all around us. The tax policies, the regulatory policies are designed to kill American business."

Miller knows that this position is somewhat rare in his state, which has happily lapped up federal funding in the past — the "bridge to nowhere" still symbolizes an entire industry built on federal pork. But Miller says he and the citizens of Alaska want something different from their representatives. "People understand that we're nearing bankruptcy. And they understand that the numbers are so enormous that if we don't do something now, we're going to be buried under it." Alaskans, he says, "understand that fiscally, this cannot continue … a state that is almost 40 percent dependent upon federal funding, as far as economic activity goes, is going to have to find something else to create jobs and to keep the state moving forward. And that, of course, is the natural-resource base. That is the argument that was used at statehood that carried the day by one vote: that we had, within the state, the ability to create an independent economy through our national-resource base. But, of course, since then, the federal government, it seems at every turn has restricted our ability to use those resources. But it is the only option we have. The human resources and the natural resources. And Alaskans understand that they need a fighter to get those things accomplished."

In other words: Don't tread on me. He may not be as colorful as Michele Bachmann, but the message is similar: It's about freedom, dummy.

When asked what kind of senator he wants to be, he admits that he's not interested in massaging Beltway egos. "Well, I'm not going to be a co-opted senator, I can tell you that much," he remarks with the confidence of a military man bearing a Yale degree. "That's the mandate of Alaskans. To get things done, and to change the direction of D.C. Frankly, I'm encouraged about what I'm seeing at the leadership level. I think there's an understanding that the mood of the nation has changed in such a way that there is not going to be toleration of business as usual."

He's realistic about the prospects for hope and change, tea-party style, and he's also determined. "I think that we have enough like-minded people coming into D.C., that we're actually going to be able to accomplish something. And none of these folks that are coming in are part of the establishment, for the most part. They are being told by their people at home that the system is broken, you better do something about it."

The Senate has long been the place good House ideas have gone to get stuck indefinitely. A Joe Miller could help shake up that side of the Capitol for the better. Alaskans can write in the Republican who lost the primary, Lisa Murkowski, who, in the best sore-loser fashion, is determined to keep her seat. Or they can very easily affirm the self-assured David who took on Alaska's Goliath. He's a bit foreign to Washington, no question. But it's the kind of foreign that goes well with the tea the House cafeteria will be serving come January. The Senate could use some of that brew, too.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles