Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 4, 2010 / 26 Tishrei, 5771

‘Angling’ for Reid's defeat

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "She's running the worst campaign in the country, and she could still win."

That was James Carville talking about Nevada Republican Sharron Angle, previously a virtual unknown, who is giving Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid a run for his political life. Carville was trying to divert attention from the fact that Harry Reid has been tied in his fight against Angle, even though Reid's outspent her and has a well-established name.

The name's a large part of his problem, though.

"They have fallen out of love," Angle tells me about Nevada voters' not-that-into-you relationship with Reid. She believes they "hold Harry Reid personally responsible for the policies coming out of Washington, D.C."

There is 14 percent unemployment in the state of Nevada. On the campaign trail, Angle says, people ask her about the economy. They ask, "'How can we get this turned around?'" Angle says. "They're upset with the spending. They're upset with the debt …"

"Folks like me who aren't really looking for a job," Angle tells me, "we have children and grandchildren who are in the workforce. And when we call and ask, 'How are you doing?' what we really mean is 'Do you still have your job and can you still make your mortgage payment?'"

In this climate, Reid celebrating "only 36,000" lost jobs in America as "really good" -- as he did in response to unemployment numbers in March -- doesn't play all that well. You don't have to be Reid's opponent to reject his spin on his job performance: "My role as majority leader has been very, very good for Nevada," he said in an interview last summer.

"I control what goes in and out of the Senate, and as a result of that Nevada's gotten far more than its share."

The Las Vegas Review-Journal ran an article last year that bluntly contradicts Reid's sunny portrayal: "Nevada … is getting less help from the federal government than most other states on a per person basis. In total stimulus funds, the state has a per capita rank of 50th out of 51 (that's 50 states plus Washington, D.C.); in education funding, it's 51st; in transportation, it's 48th; and in Medicaid funds, it's 47th."

The final accounting may just show Reid paying the price for failed leadership.

It's the worst-kept secret of American politics that Angle is not the most polished candidate of the 2010 midterm elections. She is ridiculed not just by influential Democrats like Carville, but dismissed by mainstream reporters for making what have been deemed "a lot of outlandish, absurd comments." More politically experienced Republicans have been known to roll their eyes or otherwise wish for a more conventional candidate. But she speaks with a grandmotherly love about her country, her state and service to the same. As senator, she tells me, "I don't want to stay out of state very long, and that's because it's important to me to meet with the constituents. I listen and I'm responsive. They know that from my record in the state legislature. I want to be responsive."

About the final weeks of the race, Angle says: "We know that my strength has always been grassroots. When I am able to talk to people face to face, they like me. They know that I am one of them."

Grassroots, of course, is what the tea party in its purest form is about. Listening to Angle it's hard not to realize that the ultimate in tea-party victories on Election Day would be in Nevada.

Which is exactly why certain parties are going to so much effort to try to tear her down. As Jarrod Agen, communications director for the Angle campaign tells me, in response to Carville's jab: "The incumbent majority leader with unlimited resources is locked in a dead heat after spending millions attacking Sharron Angle, and he wants to criticize our campaign? We must be doing something right if a grandmother from Reno is tied with the second-most powerful man in Washington, D.C."

Carville did have something quite right. Angle doesn't have to run an impeccable campaign in order to defeat Reid. As Doug Schoen, another Democrat and co-author of the tea-party analysis "Mad as Hell" puts it: "The movement that is backing Angle is more potent electorally at this point than is the mainstream Democratic Party -- or the Republicans for that matter."

Angle is a walking success story already, and it bodes well for the movement that she's so prominent a part of. The tea party is about a "paradigm shift," Anne Sorock of the tea-infused Sam Adams Alliance asserts. Nevada's David and Goliath story vividly paints the picture of just such a change. The colors of the picture will only get bolder if the Senate majority leader is, in fact, defeated.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles