Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 16, 2009 / 29 Tishrei 5770

Small biz e-mail shifts to cloud via IBM

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Cloud computing," the new buzz-phrase of the tech world is actually an exercise in common sense for many applications. Eric Knorr, a tech blogger at InfoWorld.com, asserts hosting a company's e-mail on local servers "is a storage hog, a time-suck to manage, a compliance liability, and about the least strategic thing imaginable," and I'm inclined to agree for the most part.


But on which "cloud" should you put your organization's e-mail? IBM Corp. last week said it would like you to consider LotusLive iNotes, a new service that will host your e-mail, with your own domain name but without the equipment hassles.


The cost is $3 per user per month, on an annual basis; pay by the month and it's $3.75 a user. That undercuts, I'm told, Google's Google Apps yearly cost of $50 per user.


The idea, said Ramsey Pryor, IBM global offerings manager for the new product, is to give companies an easy way to handle e-mail and calendaring on an organization-wide basis. I don't know how high IBM can scale this, but for a company with a few dozen or even a couple of hundred employees, it seems to make sense. Since I don't own such a company, my testing of the LotusLive iNotes system consisted of a "demo" account provided by IBM for me to use. I could add users and remove them, since I had "administrator" privileges on the account. In regular use, you'd probably want more than one administrator in an organization.


Setup of an e-mail user is fairly straightforward: click on a Web form and add a name, create an e-mail address and you're good to go. Contact lists can be populated either one-at-a-time or in bulk using data in a CSV (comma-separated value) file. And once you have those contact names in place, merely beginning to type a name in a "to" or "cc" field will bring up possible choices.


I also like the calendar feature: you can create and schedule group items without hassle, as well as have your personal items in there, though you might not want to share these with the rest of the team. Right now, there's no simple export or synchronization with the calendaring applications on Apple's iPhone or Research in Motion's BlackBerry, but since the LotusLive iNotes product is Web based, the Internet browsers on these devices might provide a gateway.


Each mailbox gets 1 Gbyte of storage a year; more storage can be purchased in blocks of 100 Gbytes each, Mr. Pryor said. According to an IBM announcement, a "30-day trial of LotusLive iNotes is now available for companies and includes 25 mailboxes with 1 GB of storage per mailbox. The service and trial [are each] available in English, Brazilian Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese and Spanish at www.lotuslive.com/en/services/inotes."


Clearly, as mentioned, this is a product intended for businesses and enterprises; clearly, too, those organizations where security is a key concern may still want to keep their e-mail on their own servers. But I return to InfoWorld's Mr. Knorr and his contention that e-mail is a huge resource hog. I see it just about every week when one account sends me a "box full" notice and I have to delete things and transfer e-mail from the server to a local device. It's crazy, especially when my Google Gmail account has about 5.2 Gbytes of data in just under 66,000 messages. It's huge, yes, but it's also a great resource for me that I don't have to worry about. Google takes care of the thing for me and, yes, when I need to find something, I can do so in a matter of seconds using Google's search technology.


My bottom line: you might wish to investigate the LotusLive iNotes solution for your organization. Your IT people might thank you!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles