Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 2, 2009 / 14 Tishrei 5770

Smart to draw positive conclusions about SmartDraw

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | SmartDraw 2010 is one of those programs that is easy to love, even if you can't exactly say why. I can say why, however: when it comes to creating flow charts or organizational charts or calendars or similar items, freehand, I'm worse than being "all thumbs" — I'm hopeless.


Enter the computer and, specifically, enter SmartDraw. Load this program up on your Windows PC and you're ready to do all the charting you'd want to, and then some.


Even with a hefty $297 list price (though you can save $100 by ordering before Oct. 1 at www.smartdraw.com), the program likely will pay for itself quickly if you need to communicate information visually and find yourself as hamstrung as I get. Just the array of templates alone seems well worth the cost: there's just about every kind of chart — the aforementioned calendar, flow chart and org charts, for starters — and diagrams including floor plans, a "goals grid," a crime scene planner, complete with body outlines, and still more.


As I waited for my call to join the cast of CBS' "CSI: Miami," I sketched in four walls, an opening, and the requisite (for television) body outline. Then I added two bloody footprints, a purse, a fingerprint and a blood drop, for good measure. Stardom will only be a few moments away; David Caruso and I will become close friends.


Returning to reality, the placement of objects in a diagram, the making of connections, the drawing of layouts — all the time-consuming stuff of pencil-and-paper production, is a simple point and click move with SmartDraw 2010. The vast array of chart types can inspire all sorts of creativity. I particularly like the program's integration with an online "live" mapping feature: when connected to the Internet, you can enter an address and you can get a road map, satellite map, or a combination of the two. The map can then be imported into SmartDraw for manipulation and use. Yes, that'll guide folks to your next book club, but it's also useful for businesses trying to direct people to their offices, a realtor hyping a home listng, and so on.


If there aren't enough Venn diagrams or SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) charts in your life, SmartDraw is certainly the place to find these and tons more.


Those who create (and those who endure) PowerPoint presentations likely will applaud SmartDraw 2010's two ways of integrating with the popular Microsoft Office application. One is a one-click transfer of a SmartDraw chart to PowerPoint, making it easy to convey information graphically during a slide show. The other is a "storyboard" feature which lets you create a series of PowerPoint slides, add elements, rearrange the order, go over the whole thing again and again — and then ship it off to PowerPoint as a presentation. Very cool, in my opinion.


I also like the many features for creating timelines, something handy for a visual representation of a series of events, but also critical to companies planning a project. For writer types, a timeline tool can illustrate a report or book; for companies, it's a great feature to have.


Just about any chart SmartDraw creates can be augmented with photos, making organizational charts, for example, a bit more personal and user-friendly, or perhaps making timelines more ominous. It is a nice addition to have SmartDraw include a photo browser, though, since adding graphic elements helps viewers understand complex charts more easily.


Perhaps the most interesting aspect of this, for me, is that all this happens under Microsoft Windows. I've tested SmartDraw 2010 with the 64-bit version of Microsoft Windows 7, and it's worked without a hitch. Therefore, I'm guessing it'll support Vista and certainly Windows XP users handily. If charts are your thing — and in Washington, they seem to be just about everyone's thing — I'll repeat what I've said a couple of years back: SmartDraw is a must-have, in my opinion.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles