Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 1, 2009 / 13 Tishrei 5770

Helping the fighters thrive

By Kevin Ferris



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Four years and almost 40 surgeries ago, Marine Staff Sgt. John Jones was blown 25 feet in the air when his Humvee hit a double-stack antitank mine while on convoy near the Syrian border with Iraq.

He remembers landing directly behind the Humvee, his legs a mess. One would be amputated below the knee soon after the blast. Ten months later, after getting used to one prosthetic, he finally agreed to amputate the second leg.

"Basically it wasn't existing anyway," he says. "It didn't work. I said, 'Screw it. Take it.'"

Today, medically retired from the Corps, he's traded in his military greens for business-suit gray. But the lessons learned as an NCO still apply.

Jones is executive director of the Wall Street Warfighters, an organization that helps wounded vets find careers in the financial services industry. As one of the first two graduates of the program, Jones is a believer. So much so that he's putting his own full-time career on temporary hold to help others.

"I saw it as my duty while in the service to take care of my fellow Marines," Jones says. "Now, I'm giving fellow Marines, soldiers, sailors and airmen the opportunity to thrive, despite their disabilities."

The privately funded program is sponsored by Drexel Hamilton, a Philadelphia brokerage firm headed by Vietnam veteran Lawrence Doll, and the investment per recruit ranges from $25,000 to $42,000. The firm and a host of sponsors provide a monthly stipend, room and board, a clothing allowance, road trips to places like Goldman Sachs and the Chicago Board of Options Exchange, and an array of training opportunities, from classes at Wharton to hands-on sessions with financial professionals. The goal is to help the vets prepare for the grueling securities exams they need to start working.

Once they pass those tests, they are guaranteed a job.

That promise — backed by retired Marine Gen. Peter Pace, former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, who heads the Warfighters Foundation's board — helped overcome Jones' initial reluctance to sign on.

With years of surgeries and therapy behind him, Jones had moved with his family to Colorado to attend business school. When first recruited by Warfighters, the father of three wasn't eager to leave his family for six months. But the guarantee — and a trip home every other weekend — was enough for him to accept the "mini-deployment."

Jones finished the program in 4 1/2 months and deferred a job with Drexel Hamilton to head Warfighters. "It turned out to be a good fit for me," he says. "One, I can work from home. Two, I'm independent like I want to be."

While the flexibility and range of jobs makes the industry ideal for vets, the recruits are equally well-suited to the challenges they'll face.

"It's a very mental field, very stressful," says Brooks Hulitt, managing director at Drexel Hamilton. "But they've been to hell and back. ... They eat stress for breakfast."

Case in point is current student Jason Leisey, who wrote in his application letter: "I have a renewed confidence in myself after surviving the suicide car bomber's attack, ... there is no obstacle in my future that could slow me down or prevent me from reaching objectives ..."

Who better to help staff the increasingly important compliance and regulations end of the business? "It's like sending them out to go after bad guys again," Hulitt says.

Vets' life experiences, whether dealing with people of other cultures or leading troops, give them something to offer a firm that job seekers fresh out of school can't match, Jones says.

"How many kids out of college with an MBA actually managed anyone?" he asks. "They managed a book and a schedule, not a platoon and multimillion-dollars worth of equipment."

He adds, "We're offering companies proven problem solvers. ... We just have this mind-set: This is the job I have to do and I'm going to do it to the best of my ability. And God help anyone who gets in my way."

The second class of Warfighters — this one with four vets — began this month, and organizers hope to be able to eventually serve 12 recruits a year. The program will be matched to the vet's needs. If a person can finish in three months, great. That opens up a spot for the next candidate. If it takes seven months, so be it.

Drexel Hamilton and other firms, as well as individuals, donate resources, teaching time, and funding. Computers are courtesy of the Philadelphia Stock Exchange. Run into Hulitt at the Prime Rib restaurant and chances are you'll hear his pitch. That's how the flat-screen TV in the classroom appeared. Others interested in contributing should visit www. wallstreetwarfighters.org.

You, too, can, as Jones says, help rebuild Wall Street one veteran at a time.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Kevin Ferris is commentary page editor of the Philadelphia Inquirer.



Previously:


09/03/09: Holder needs to explain dismissal of Philly case
08/19/09: Rage understandable, but what comes next?
08/05/09: A few words, and then some, from the Obama Center
04/29/09: Pity for ‘tortured’ terrorist?
04/22/09: For good or ill, to be a public figure is to have your image used and abused
03/11/09: GOP lacks leader but has potential
03/05/09: A dangerous naivete in foreign policy
02/25/09: Beware ‘dialogue’ on race
12/29/08: ‘Chicago II’: A governor's story
12/11/08: Operator: Welcome to transition hotline
12/03/08: How Obama will fight a growing front in Afghanistan
11/25/08: GOP ahead of curve for change
11/13/08: Prayers for President-elect Barack Obama
10/03/08: Obama's lowball attacks: Suggesting that McCain is a bigot runs afoul of the high-minded ‘unity’ tripe
09/06/08: It's unlikely that a President McCain would be driven by political ideology
09/04/08: Bold McCain will sharpen the contrasts

© 2008, Philadelphia Inquirer Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles