Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 2, 2009 / 14 Tishrei 5770

Caution: Germaphobes may be catching

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One of the kids was sick recently, so now I am two sneezes and one sticky grocery cart away from being a full-fledged germaphobe.


I have anti-bacterial wipes in my purse, a tube of sanitizing gel in the car and gallon-size pump bottles of Purell in every room of the house.


I've cleaned the doorknobs, wiped down the landline phones, the cell phones, all the remote controls and the light switches.


Oh yes, and the doorbell. And the steering wheel to the car. And the handrail to the stairs.


I wouldn't say I'm panicked, but I have Clorox customer service on speed dial.


I have also suspended the 3-second rule. If food falls on the floor, it stays on the floor. I have also written my congressman demanding legislation making double dipping a capital crime.


Am I paranoid, you ask? When Moammar Gadhafi addressed the United Nations and said something about swine flu and then wondered if fish flu would be next, some people thought he was doing stand-up comedy. I thought he was talking directly to me. Swine flu, fish flu, bird flu, turtle flu, cricket flu, weasel flu, they're all out there, lurking, just waiting.


The husband claims I crossed the line the fifteenth time I watched the You Tube video of Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius demonstrating the proper way to sneeze, which is to bury your face in the crook of the arm.


"OK, and then what?" the husband asked. "What are you going to do with that stuff on your sleeve?"


"I'll tell you what," I snapped. "You're going to rip your sleeve off your shirt. That's right, rip off your sleeve and throw it away, because it is now germ infested and you don't want to wear it the rest of the day."


"You think Sebelius ripped the sleeve off that expensive red suit?"


"Definitely," I said. "She just did it after the camera stopped taping."


Personally, the husband and I thought the tissue method followed by washing your hands was good, but what do we know, I'm not a secretary and he's not a czar.


Besides, the biggest problem is public restrooms. Any germaphobe knows you don't want to touch the door handle because a lot of people who didn't wash their hands have touched it before you.


It used to be that you could use a paper towel to open the door, but now a lot of restrooms use hand dryers. (We're saving the trees by consuming electricity.) It's difficult to knock a hand dryer off the wall and use it to open the door.


Germaphobes are reduced to the pinkie technique. You use your little finger to open the door hoping the surface area of the finger is too small to attract germs. The only other alternative is to pretend to fumble for something in your purse hoping someone else will open the door, you can give it a quick kick before it closes and slide on through.


Is all this prevention working, you ask? Absolutely. Of course, it's a little chilly wearing a shirt with both the sleeves ripped off and you'd be surprised how many strangers get indignant when you force anti-bacterial hand wipes on them, but other than that, I am perfectly fine.


At least physically.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles