Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 14, 2008 / 15 Tishrei 5769

Longing for the Clintons

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I never thought I'd say it, but, boy, am I longing for the Clinton years. Sure, the Clinton administration was rocky early on — lots of stumbling and embarrassments. There was the travel office scandal, the Whitewater scandal, the White House security hack who pulled up FBI records on Clinton opponents.


A handful of Clinton cronies got pinched and sent to the clink, but nobody much cared.


I remember, too, the agitation I felt when Hillary tried to nationalize our health-care system. But that effort helped pave the way for a massive Republican takeover in the House and Senate in 1994.


Initially that made me happy. The Republican Congress combined with a pragmatic Clinton brought us restraint, a surplus and a commonsense welfare-reform policy.


The welfare-reform idea was simple enough: Give a man a hand up, not a handout, and while we're at it let's teach him to fish.


Critics said the poor would be destitute. The opposite occurred. The poor did extremely well. Their success reminded me of a bumper sticker: "Liberalism — The haunting fear that somehow, somewhere people are able to care for themselves."


For the most part, the Clinton years were a lot of fun. The economy did well — the dot.com bubble was a great ride. Republicans, for the most part, acted Republican.


Better, the Cold War was over and nobody worried about much. We dropped bombs on people now and then — we waged a war in Kosovo solely from the air — but did nothing too messy that might make for scary images on the news.


Sure, there was that incident in 1993 with the World Trade Center — a handful of radicals tried to blow the place up — so we took them to court and sent a few of them to jail.


Nobody knew then that seeds of 9/11 were being planted, in part, by our lawyerly response. Nobody seemed to know that the masterminds who arranged that terrorist strike decided they were safe — and so they began planning a more fatal strike.


Nobody paid much attention in 1990's, either, when the Clinton Administration pressured government-sponsored organizations Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac to loosen their standards.


Fannie and Freddie buy up packages of loans that are originated by banks, thrifts, mortgage companies, etc. to enable lenders to lend more.


According to a 1999 New York Times article, the banks, thrifts and mortgage companies were also eager for Fan and Fred to loosen standards. Once they knew Fan and Fred would buy up the riskier loans they issued, they could issue more loans to more people and make more dough — without taking on the increased risk.


Most folks didn't worry then that the change would be one of the causes of the financial mess we now find ourselves in — a mess that would grow well beyond Fan and Fred and eventually swallow up many private institutions done in by their own greed.


No, most folks were fat, dumb and happy — and amused. For entertainment value alone, we had a president who was the gift who kept on giving: "Monica Lewinsky was on 'Larry King Live,'" said David Letterman. "She really liked Larry King. Actually, she likes any guy with a desk."


Nobody much cared what our president did — the impeachment thing was an annoyance — so long as stocks kept rising and our collective nap went undisturbed.


It's true the economy and the dot.com bubble started to tank in the last year of Clinton's term. It's true, too, that soon after Bill left, 9/11 would hit, we'd go to war and the Fed would unleash easy dough to try and stave off recession.


Unfortunately, conditions would be perfectly set — a perfect storm of sorts — to create and eventually explode a housing bubble that would cause our global financial system to melt down.


Who knows what is next. All I know is that I'm longing for the Clinton years. I'd give anything for a Monica Lewinsky scandal about now.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2008, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles