Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 6, 2008 / 7 Tishrei 5769

For 20 years, it's been the best seat on television

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We never took off the ties.


The athletes got flashier. The analysts got louder. It would have shocked no one if the host and the three panelists undid their Windsor knots, unbuttoned their collars, and got down and dirty with the rest of the sports business.


But we didn't. For whatever reason. Maybe it was the reverence of Sunday morning. Maybe it was just habit. But if you check the tape of the first "Sports Reporters" show on ESPN, you'll see men wearing jackets and ties (and a female panelist in a dress). And if you watch the show today, not much has changed.


Yesterday marked 20 years of Sunday mornings for this half-hour program, one I joined a few years after it started. Back then we filmed in the old HBO studios off 23rd Street in Manhattan. You hopped a cab, got out at a stage door, rang a bell and hoped someone would answer, otherwise, you be stuck in the rain or snow for a while.


Today the show is filmed in the ESPN Zone restaurant in Times Square. There's a lobby store with ESPN merchandise. Hanging near the set is a blown-up cover of ESPN The Magazine. None of these things existed when we got started.


But we are still here.

TALKING WITHOUT POLITICIANS
The premise of "The Sports Reporters" was novel and cliched. Sunday morning TV traditionally had been occupied by panel shows such as "Face the Nation" and "Meet the Press."


"The Sports Reporters" was essentially a sports version. But with one caveat. The panelists were sportswriters. No athletes. No coaches. And no guests. It was a conversation for 30 minutes, wrapped with minute-long "parting shots" at the end. Simple. Straightforward.


And it worked.


It worked largely because of the host, Dick Schaap, one of most-beloved sportswriters of our time. Dick, who penned heralded books and columns before joining ABC News, was a white-haired wizard of words, as thick with insight as he was devoid of ego. He let younger panelists such as Mike Lupica, Bob Ryan, Tony Kornheiser, Bill Conlin, Mike Wilbon and myself argue back and forth, cutting across his airspace with our sentences. Then, just before a commercial break, he'd button it up with something smarter and wittier than any of us had said.


Dick hosted the show from 1988 until his death in 2001. His last appearance was the Sunday after Sept. 11, one of the program's finest hours. There were many who felt "The Sports Reporters" minus Schaap wouldn't be the same.


It wasn't. But it was still the show. John Saunders ably stepped in, and while he didn't expect it to be long-term, he has been there ever since. "The Sports Reporters" has that effect on certain people. It offers them a seat, and next thing you know, they're kind of living there.

TALES FROM THE STUDIO
Over the years there have been plenty of hairy moments. Taped shows from West Coast Super Bowls when it's still dark outside. Outdoor winter programs where chattering teeth affect your speech. Two weeks in Albertville, France, fighting snow and foreign language. Microphones that go out. A janitorial crew that turns on the vacuums just as the cameras roll.


Oh, and my total inability to read a teleprompter unless it is three feet from my face, which has prompted frequent screams from Lupica of "GET CONTACTS!" The thing I tell fans of the show, which now airs at 9:30 a.m. on ESPN, is that we would all do the same thing, cameras or not. Ever since the old days, there has been a bag of bagels and hot coffee when we arrive. And for 20 minutes, we chew and sip and argue the sports issues of the day — until sometimes the executive producer, Joe Valerio, yells, "Save it for the program!"


There is no script. No rehearsed lines. The cast rotates. And you have no idea going in if the show will hold up at all. But then it does. It is the magic of sports conversation and the karma of people enjoying what they do.


Sports has gotten loud, mean and at times repellent. But I am proud of the show for maintaining a sense of grace. We don't shout each other off. We don't pounce. We keep our ties on.


As one of the original "guys talking sports" programs — long before "Best Damn Sports Show Period," "Pardon the Interruption" or "Around the Horn" — "The Sports Reporters" may be considered by some to be old school. But you can learn new things in an old school. And 90 percent of life, someone once said, is just showing up.


We're still here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2008, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles