Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 2, 2007 / 20 Tishrei 5768

Health savings account is a beautiful thing

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You're switching to a high-deductible health insurance policy! You're going to go broke!

You have it backwards. My high-deductible policy will save me money. And it allows me to set up a health savings account, which might make me a bunch of dough.

You're going to have to explain.

Did you know America's health costs have risen 140 percent in the last decade? We spend $2 trillion on care every year — twice as much per capita as other industrialized countries.

How come?

There are lots of reasons, but the chief reason is this: health care consumers are completely divorced from health care costs.

Divorced?

Before World War II, health insurance was designed to protect people against catastrophic events. People paid for doctor's visits and prescriptions out of their own pockets.

They paid for that stuff!

Yes, and because they spent their own money, they shopped around for the best quality of care at the lowest-possible cost.

What did the war have to do with health insurance?

During the war, the government imposed wage and price controls. Companies were unable to raise wages. To keep employees, they began offering health insurance.

That's why everybody expects their employer to provide health insurance?

Yes, and as the economy boomed after the war, powerful unions were able to demand ever-better policies for their members.

Sounds good to me.

It WAS good while it lasted. But it took away the incentive for consumers to shop around. Once nobody cared what things cost, nobody shopped. That's when costs began to soar.

We should bring back shopping?

Exactly. Instead of unleashing more big-government programs, we need to unleash individuals and give them more control over their care.

That's why you're switching to a high-deductible policy?

Correct. I'm 45 and self-employed. I buy my own health insurance. I just applied for a new policy that has a $1,200 deductible. I'll pay 10 percent of all care up to $10,000. If I become ill, the most I'll be out of pocket will be $2,200, plus the cost of my premium.

But your premium has to be high.

Nope! It's only $135 a month. Here's what's better: I'm able to sock away up to $2,850 each year in a health savings account — my contributions are tax deductible.

And you can only spend that money on health care?

Until I'm 65. Then I can use the money for anything. And if I take care of myself and keep healthy, there will be a lot of money in that account.

But what if you get sick and need to go to a doctor?

Then I'll draw out some of the money. And because it is my money, you better believe I'm going to shop around for services and goods. I'll do my part to keep doctors and pharmacies honest.

But won't people avoid getting needed care if they have to pay for it with their own dough?

You don't have much faith in the average person. Most people will do what is best to take care of themselves and their families.

But don't health savings accounts attract healthy people? And won't that drain big bucks out of insurance companies, forcing sick people to pay more?

As more people move into high-deductible policies, insurance companies will SAVE money. As for people who are ill, we need to reform current laws so they can afford to buy high-deductible policies, too.

I don't know. I'm afraid I'm not smart enough to make all my health-care decisions.

Look, you have car insurance, don't you. Your policy doesn't pay for gasoline, brake pads, tune-ups and transmission repair. You had to figure out how to take care of these things.

If only the government provided universal car insurance!

The way some of our politicians are talking, it's only a matter of time before they will.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2007, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles