Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 17, 2007 / 5 Mar-Cheshvan 5768

Every father should read this book to his son

By Rod Dreher


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If Clarence Thomas were a liberal, he'd be widely regarded as an American hero.

The Supreme Court associate justice's new memoir, My Grandfather's Son , is mostly a story about fatherhood and the making of his character. It's a tale so profoundly moving, and so profoundly true to this nation's ideals, that every American father ought to read the first two chapters — and then read them aloud to his children. Here is an inheritance of wisdom, a pearl of great price passed from a semi-literate peasant through his grandson, who lifted himself with it out of the direst poverty and became one of the world's most powerful men.

Clarence Thomas was gutbucket poor, beginning his life in rural Pinpoint, Ga., in a shack without running water. Even so, it was a mansion compared with the Savannah tenement into which his mother later moved with him and his brother.

"The only running water in our building was downstairs in the kitchen, where several layers of old linoleum were all that separated us from the ground," Justice Thomas writes. "The toilet was outdoors in the muddy back yard. The metal bowl was cracked and rusty and the wooden seat was rotten. I'll never forget the sickening stench of the raw sewage that seeped and sometimes poured from the broken sewer line."


BUY THE BOOK


at a discount
by clicking HERE.


There wasn't room for 6-year-old Clarence in the room's one bed, so he slept in a chair. He was constantly cold and hungry that winter of 1955. One day, the boys' mother scooped them up, stuffed their belongings into two grocery bags and delivered them to her parents, Myers and Christine Anderson, to raise. And that would be the making of Clarence Thomas.

Myers — Clarence called him "Daddy" — was a laborer who'd built a small business delivering fuel oil. He and "Aunt Tina" lived in an exceedingly modest but orderly house in a rough neighborhood — a haven of comfort and stability to the Thomas boys. Daddy was a rigorous, unsentimental man who believed in God, work, discipline and education, not necessarily in that order. He laid down the law for his grandsons and explained "that there was a connection between what he provided for us and what he required of us."

That is, the ascetic life Daddy provided for his grandsons was not suffering imposed for its own sake, but a series of life lessons that would enable them to escape the poverty, drunkenness and moral disorder they saw all around them. Daddy rode the boys hard, putting them through Catholic school, keeping them from bad influences and driving them through a punishing work regimen on the family farm. "For me," writes Justice Thomas, "it was a place of torment — and salvation."

Salvation? Daddy knew a man couldn't count on anyone but himself. And he knew the odds were stacked so high against a poor black boy in the Jim Crow South that the only way those children stood a chance was to master their passions and acquire the knowledge and work ethic with which to better themselves. Years later, after having a son of his own, Justice Thomas finally came to understand the great gift he'd been given: "I had been raised by the greatest man I have ever known."

Later in his memoir, Justice Thomas says his views on affirmative action, which have earned him such contempt from the black establishment, are nothing more than a product of Daddy's uncompromising vision, which the justice fiercely defends as the only morally respectable path to individual betterment. Few people — black or otherwise — want to hear that these days. But all of us desperately need to.

Myers Anderson was first and foremost a man. Not a punk, a loafer, a sponger or a whiner, but a man who took care of business. And that included accepting responsibility for children. The black illegitimacy rate is catastrophic, with all the individual and social dysfunction that entails. The Hispanic rate of out-of-wedlock births is even higher, and one out of every three white babies in America comes into this world without a traditional father. Men today are forgetting how to be men, turning instead to cowardly self-indulgence.

Yet Clarence Thomas, who for all his self-acknowledged faults comes bearing hard-earned, prophetic insight into how to resist the disorders of the age, is despised by the elites, particularly of his own race. That's beyond tragic.

I did read the first chapter of My Grandfather's Son to my oldest boy. I told him that his Pawpaw, my father, also grew up in Depression-era rural poverty in the Deep South. Having pulled himself into the middle class with callused hands, Pawpaw despises men today who, in his familiar phrase, "expect the world to be handed to them." This book, I told my son, is in a small but important way your family's story too.

We're losing tough country men like the fathers who raised Clarence Thomas and me. It is a comfort, though, to know that Myers Anderson's greatest legacy sits on the Supreme Court and will for a long time — whether Jesse Jackson or The New York Times editorial board likes it or not.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY THE BOOK
Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

Comment by clicking here.

Rod Dreher is assistant editorial page editor of the Dallas Morning News and author of "Crunchy Cons" (Crown Forum).

PREVIOUSLY

10/03/07: Not even our parks are safe And I lay at least part of the blame on the cultural revolution and our obsession with the individual
08/22/07: The Decalogue, dangerous? Advice for a society that cringes at commandments
08/15/07: Playing the anti-science card
08/01/07: How the U.S. can avoid its own version of the fall of the Roman empire
07/24/07: Conservative author: Big business can be as dangerous a threat as big government
07/09/07: All quiet but the doleful pleas of a father who knows
06/28/07: When we let conspiracy theory masquerade as news, we fall prey to much more than deception
06/20/07: Stranded on Delta: They may love to fly, but it certainly doesn't show
06/13/07: When did conservatism start to mean never having to say you're sorry?
05/08/07: PBS darling gets abused by PC police
05/02/07: Impervious to beauty and deadened to depravity
04/20/07: What I know about being a loner
10/28/05: How the conservatives crumble

© 2007, The Dallas Morning News, Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles