Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 31, 2006 / 9 Mar-Cheshvan, 5767

On turning 60

By Pat Sajak


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I turned 60 years old the other day, or, as everyone seems to enjoy calling it, The Big Six-Oh. A lot of my early baby boomer contemporaries have also been celebrating birthdays lately, so I've been spending time at the Hallmark Store, where I've discovered how difficult it is to buy a birthday card for a 60-year-old that doesn't feature some reference to flatulence, varicose veins or impotence. It's as if we need to joke about it to cover our abject terror at the thought of having been on earth for three score years.


Well, call me crazy, but I'm not terrified. I'm also not ashamed or embarrassed. I'm rather proud and pleased about having survived the rampant childhood diseases of the pre-Salk vaccine 40s and 50s, the Cold War, a stint in Vietnam, the scourges of the so-called sexual revolution, the temptations of the drug culture, and the million other potential pitfalls of life, from crossing the street, to getting in and out of the shower, to driving on busy freeways. Heck, viewed from that perspective, making it to 60 in relatively good shape seems to me to be a pretty impressive accomplishment.


It also seems to me we have developed a very strange view of aging. Instead of looking at it as a natural and inevitable part of life (which, of course, it is) we have begun to see it as some kind of disease to be treated, stalled or even reversed (which, of course, it isn't). Beyond that, a kind of aversion to aging has developed. It's one thing to take care of yourself so the ravages of time can be postponed as long as possible, allowing you to continue to enjoy life as much as you can; however, it's another to try to pretend be younger to cover up the "crime" of getting older.


I'm not arguing there is no melancholy side to moving closer to the end than the beginning, and I'm not discounting the difficulties age can produce, but it's a boat in which we all sail. Nature hasn't singled some of us out to experience the aging process; it affects every single living organism. But there is no running from it. Wearing clothing made for 20-year-olds, pretending you enjoy hip-hop music, having doctors pull your skin back as tightly as possible or trying to emulate teenage jargon won't change a thing. There are still 24 hours in a day, 365 days in a year, and, if your lucky, somewhere around a hundred of those years to hang around.


Ironically, I work in a business that may be more responsible than any other for making people feel there is something wrong with them for getting older. In fact, the entertainment industry could be the last one in this country legally allowed to discriminate on the basis of age. How often is a TV executive quoted as gloating over big numbers in the "most desirable demographics" (read that as: "young adults")? Talk about a class-action suit ready to happen!


I'm not being a Pollyanna about this. Would I rather be younger? I suppose so, but that's really not an option. When you've been 59 for a year, you have two choices: turn 60 or die. I'm still here at 60. I like that.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Pat Sajak's column by clicking here.

JWR contributor Pat Sajak is the recipient of three Emmys, a Peoplesí Choice Award and a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He's currently the host of Wheel of Fortune.



Archives

© 2006, Pat Sajak

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles