Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 30, 2006 / 8 Mar-Cheshvan, 5767

Tom and the fat man

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A large man sat at the bar in the convention hall, a miniature, red party hat clinging to his head. Confetti was scattered all over the floor.


"Must have been a heck of a party," I said.


"It was grand," he said, smiling ruefully. He picked up a half-empty bottle of warm champagne and chugged.


"What happened?" I asked.


"We lost focus. We lost sight of the principles that brought us to power back in '94."


"Ah, yes, the Contract with America. Commonsense ideas designed to rein in abuse and waste."


"We were effective at the beginning," he said defensively. "We transformed America's welfare system and got millions off the dole."


"That was a doozie."


"We restrained spending. During Clinton's presidency, we not only shrank the deficit, but we created massive surpluses."


"But federal spending, according to The Heritage Foundation, has risen 45 percent during Bush's presidency — three times faster than under Clinton," I said.


"It's not all our fault," the fat man replied. "You got to give things to voters to maintain power."


"Was it maintaining or abusing power?" I asked. "You gave us lobbyist scandals and accepted old-boy perks. You've rigged your districts to snuff out competition. No wonder, according to Gallup, Congress' approval rating is 24 percent."


The fat man took a big gulp from the bottle.


"But Iraq is a mess and that hurts us," he said. "Americans want change. Democrats benefit by default."


"There's something worse than the war in Iraq. It's that you've lost your guts," I said. "Our borders are more porous than Ted Kennedy's liver, but you've done little. Spending has long been out of control, so you spend more."


I reached for a pitcher of water and dumped it over his head.


"Hey!" he said, his eyes finally wide open.


"Wake up!" I said. "Republicans deserve to get creamed this election. But unfortunately that would require Democrats to win. And if Democrats win, America loses."


He was attentive now. I could see it in his eyes.


"Democrats will try to raise taxes," I continued, "and if they succeed we can kiss our booming economy goodbye."


"I remember now," said the fat man. "Low taxes unleash growth and prosperity."


"Democrats want all kinds of wacky new programs. They'll try to spend more than you nitwits have been spending."


"I remember. Fiscal responsibility reduces the deficit. That's good for the economy, too."


"But worst of all, most Democrats are weak on defense. Their party has been taken over by the fringe left. They don't think America is at war. They'll appease the extremists who intend to massacre us — maybe with nukes unless we stop them."


"I remember. Republicans have made missteps in the war on terror — we sure could have planned things better — but at least we're aware of our threats. At least we'll be aggressive."


"Yeah, and America needs leadership badly," I replied. "We need leaders who can unify us — to clarify what we're really up against. As pathetic as Republicans have been, Democrats will be even worse. You're going to have to step up and remember how to lead."


"So what do we do next?" asked the fat man.


"A Reuters/Zogby poll shows that 19 percent of voters haven't made up their minds yet," I said. "You have one last shot to get back to the basics — one last shot to show voters that this time the alternative is even worse than what you guys have been."


I walked over to him with a damp rag and wiped guacamole dip off his lapel. I buttoned his shirt and tightened his tie.


"Now get moving!" I said.


The fat man slid off the stool and stumbled toward the exit. His suit was rumpled; a piece of toilet paper clung to his shoe.


As pathetic as it is, the fellow and his party are still better than Democrats, at least where America's safety and future are concerned.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles