Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 16, 2006 / 24 Tishrei, 5767

Nightmares: How libs and conservatives dream

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Liberals are dreamers. I have proof.


According to the Ottawa Citizen newspaper, a dream researcher from John F. Kennedy University in California studied the dream sequences of self-described liberals and conservatives. The researcher's name is Kelly Bulkeley.


Bulkeley found, in a nutshell, that liberals are restless sleepers who have a higher number of bizarre, distorted dreams, whereas conservatives are more likely to sleep well and have dreams that portray normal characters, settings and activities.


Here's one interesting finding: Both liberals and conservatives have amorous dreams but they sure do go about it differently.


Liberals are far more likely to dream of wild encounters with strangers or a variety of partners. Liberal women are far more likely to dream of themselves with other women.


Conservatives, on the other hand, are far more likely to have such dreams about their spouses or current partners — probably while fully clothed with the lights off, and only after the kids are asleep.


Bulkeley found another key difference. Whereas conservative dreams focus on the here and now, liberal dreams have no boundaries.


"Liberals don't just dream about what is," says Bulkeley, "but what could be or what they wish could be."


A world in which dictators are nice? Or religious extremists become atheists? Or Teddy Kennedy is sober?


Another difference: Conservatives show a higher tendency for lucid dreaming. That is, they're aware they're asleep and able to wake themselves if the dream gets rocky.


I do this all the time. When I have one recurring nightmare — that it's Monday afternoon and I'm way behind on a deadline — I simply will myself awake. Unfortunately, when I wake it's usually Monday afternoon and I'm way behind on a deadline.


Another interesting finding: Conservative males sleep the most soundly and tend not to remember their dreams, whereas liberal women are the most restless sleepers and fantastical dreamers and they remember plenty.


That makes perfect sense. Many conservative males have a good job, a nice home and a lovely wife. Such an existence promotes sound sleeping.


But I don't know how liberal women sleep at all. How could anyone get some shut-eye with so many people, real and imagined, jumping in and out of the bed?


Which brings us to bad dreams. Liberals, at the moment, have a much higher frequency of nightmares. Bulkeley thinks this has to do with the current political climate. Liberals fear and loathe Bush, and have nightmares about it (when Clinton was president, conservatives had more nightmares).


For instance, one female liberal dreamt that Bush won the election with 80 percent of the vote. A male liberal said he dreamt he was at a presidential rally. Bush said to the crowd, "We should be proud to sacrifice our freedoms for America!" and the crowd went wild. This caused the male liberal to wake in a cold sweat.


Bulkeley says that although dreams appear to be jumbled and mixed up, they are actually expressing a complex but meaningful language of symbol and metaphor. Dreams mean things. And a good dream, properly interpreted, can help us better understand ourselves and the world.


What's just as interesting is that everybody dreams — even dogs. Which reminds me of an old Garry Shandling line: "What is a dog nightmare, anyhow? You're drinking out of the toilet and the lid falls on your snout?"


In any event, Bulkeley concludes that our dreams provide an accurate reflection of contemporary American politics. And though the research reinforces the stereotype that conservatives are repressed and uptight, Bulkeley says it also shows that many liberals may be hanging on the edge of well-being.


I couldn't agree more. Just last week I dreamt of a beautiful woman. She asked me who I was going to vote for and I told her. She screamed so loudly she nearly woke the dead.


She was a liberal and I was her nightmare.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles