Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 1, 2006 / 9 Tishrei, 5767

Blair for the U.N.?

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When Kofi Annan steps down as U.N. secretary-general later this year, Tony Blair should replace him.


It won't happen, mind you. He's not on anyone's list of diplomatic names in the running. But he's just the kind of voice the world body could use right now.


During his exit speech at the recent U.K. Labour party conference, the British prime minister fought back directly against those who call him George W. Bush's "poodle" because of his support for the war on terror. He said, "This terrorism is not our fault, we didn't cause it. ... It's not the consequence of foreign policy, it's an attack on our way of life." Blair believes that those who would attack innocent Londoners on their way to work are certainly evildoers — and is not afraid to say so.


The job of U.N. secretary-general has been described as that of "a global conscience." I know I want my global conscience to really understand what's going on in the world today and to not be content to let tyrants and anti-Semites drive the U.N. agenda, as has happened so often in the Annan years.


I'll be honest. I'm forever making dramatic suggestions to the United Nations, ones they aren't ever likely to consider, ridiculous things like: You should mean what you say. You should not put flagrant human-rights violators in human-rights watchdog positions. Your secretary-general should be held accountable for corruption and abuse on his watch. (A few years ago, I even suggested that George W. Bush, post-presidency, should become secretary-general.)


But outlandishness is my point. The United Nations needs something dramatic. Along these lines, another great choice for secretary-general would be the former prime minister of Spain Jose Mar┴a Aznar. When Muslims reacted violently to recent remarks of Pope Benedict XVI, Aznar was clear: "We are living in a time of war. ... It's them or us. The West did not attack Islam, it was they who attacked us."


Were it not for men like Aznar, Blair and Bush, Saddam Hussein would still be in power. What did the United Nations do about Iraq? American Enterprise Institute fellow Michael Rubin, who spent extensive time in Iraq, painted a good picture of the attitude Kofi "I Can Do Business With Saddam Hussein" Annan's United Nations had toward that regime. In 2004, Rubin wrote: "On Jan. 25, 2003, 29-year-old Adnan Abdul Karim Enad jumped into a U.N. inspector's jeep, screaming 'Save me! Save me!' As television cameras rolled, U.N. security guards dragged him from the vehicle and handed him to Iraqi soldiers. The same day, an Iraqi government worker forced his way into the U.N. compound, pleading for protection. U.N. guards evicted him. Hans Blix, then chief weapons inspector in Iraq, criticized the Iraqi asylum-seekers, saying they should find 'more elegant ways' of approaching U.N. staff."


But there we were, going through meaningless resolution after resolution, until finally some member states — one in particular — took it upon themselves to act. Speaking to the United Nations in September 2002, President Bush said: "The conduct of the Iraqi regime is a threat to the authority of the United Nations, and a threat to peace.


Iraq has answered a decade of U.N. demands with a decade of defiance. All the world now faces a test, and the United Nations a difficult and defining moment. Are Security Council resolutions to be honored and enforced, or cast aside without consequence? Will the United Nations serve the purpose of its founding, or will it be irrelevant?"


Tony Blair understands how important it is that the United States play a key leadership role in the world. He recently wrote, pushing back against rampant European anti-Americanism, that "the danger with America today is not that they are too much involved. We want them engaged. The reality is that none of the problems that press in on us can be resolved or even contemplated without them."


As we face the continued threat of Islamic fascism, nuke-developing madmen in Iran and North Korea, and atrocities in Darfur, the corrupt U.N. bureaucracy needs a voice that will challenge it, one who knows there are good guys and bad and which ones are which. The United Nations could do worse than Tony Blair, and probably will.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles