Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 17, 2005 / 14 Tishrei, 5766

No mincing words in the war on terror

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It all began on Sept. 11, 2001. Or so goes the conventional wisdom.

Of course, that is not completely true. A war against America was already in full swing by then. Osama bin Laden, in fact, was on record having declared war on the United States in 1996. But once the towers fell, once there was a gaping hole in the Pentagon, once brave Americans died in a Pennsylvania field (possibly saving the lives of many more), that's when we started to get serious about fighting terrorism.

The degree to which we are serious varies. We have miles to go in protecting our borders, for example. Intelligence reform is going slower than anyone has patience for (or should have patience for, for that matter). Terrorists, we know, run rampant in much of Iraq.

They're in power elsewhere in the Middle East.

Actions in the war on terror are crucial. (As imperfect as it is on the ground, the bad guys don't have the keys to the city in Baghdad anymore, for instance, since Saddam Hussein was toppled.) But words aren't trivial.

Which is why President George W. Bush's early October speech to the National Endowment for Democracy is an important one, not to be forgotten. By American policymakers. And by the world leaders he spoke directly to and challenged. And by Joe Muslim-American, who has a religion to fight for — out of the hands of the barbarous extremists who kill in its name. And, by any of us who has a stake in this war — in other words, every one of us).

For those who would cut and run in Iraq, a recent message from the enemy — in this case Al Qaeda's No. 2 guy, Ayman al-Zawahiri — makes clear that that's not really an out option for us. Zawahiri recently wrote: "The mujahedeen must not have their mission end with the expulsion of the Americans from Iraq, and then lay down their weapons and silence the fighting zeal." They want us more than out of Iraq.

For his part, our president noted, "The terrorists regard Iraq as the central front in their war against humanity. And we must recognize Iraq as the central front in our war on terror."

The Bush speech was judgmental, and so not "Oprahy" — as it should be. When ruthless villains want our very way of life, obliterated, there's really no reason to tiptoe around what's going on.

So the president told it like it is — no small thing as successes like Iraqi voting. He pinpointed the enemy we are fighting as Islamic radicalism — not exactly politically correct, but true.

"The murderous ideology of the Islamic radicals is the great challenge of our new century. Yet in many ways, this fight resembles the struggle against communism in the last century." Bush emphasized our need to stick with it, challenged nations who use this perversity to hold onto power, challenged non-radical Muslims to fight for their religion. And he named the name — Islamic radicalism. This isn't a war about a random terror. A very specific kind of war is being waged — calling on Muslims to wage a jihad against us infidels.

Naming the problem is important. In 12-step programs and in war.

Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney, a potential candidate for the presidency in 2008, has recently been doing just that, and taking heat for it in the process — the kind that would make lesser leaders cower. In a speech at the Heritage Foundation in Washington, D.C., last month, Romney said "How many individuals are coming to our state and going to (academic) institutions who have come from terrorist-sponsored states? Do we know where they are? Are we tracking them? How about people who are in settings — mosques, for instance — that may be teaching doctrines of hate and terror. Are we monitoring that? Are we wiretapping? Are we following what's going on?"

Good common sense from a state chief executive and increasingly national political player. Predictably, almost immediately, there were hysterical cries for him to apologize. He has done no such thing. To the contrary, Romney has stuck by his remarks — emphasizing that good common sense of it. Militant Islamic terrorists recruit at radical Muslim mosques more than they do at "the 4-H Club," he said on "The O'Reilly Factor." Rather than outrage, you'd think that would bring on a collective "Duh." It's just obvious and sensible.

We're at war. We don't have time not to make sense.

Are Bush and Romney profiles in courage? We shouldn't even have to go that far. They are doing something fundamental here. It's gutsy, but it is the stuff of leadership. This kind of clear thinking is something to be encouraged — a little support for a few good speeches could go a long way toward inspiring more folks to constructively speak the name of the evil we're up against. We owe the men and women putting it all on the line on the action frontlines nothing less.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles