Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 3, 2005 / 29 Elul, 5765

Sometimes it is black and white

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When recently asked about his state's parental-notification ballot initiative that would prohibit minor-age girls from getting abortions without a parent's knowledge, California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger replied: "I have a daughter. I wouldn't want to have someone take my daughter to a hospital for an abortion or something and not tell me. I would kill him if they do that."


Now that's refreshing!


Hold on, hold on. Before you run off, I'm not slamming "choicers" this week, and I'm not lauding "lifers." This isn't the debate about whether you or I began at Day 1 or at 24 weeks. And, mind you, I'm not endorsing murder here -- and the governor later clarified he wouldn't actually kill the hypothetical person. But that was a totally normal Dad reaction he had (a fact that, as a good politician, was surely not lost on Schwarzenegger). You can be on any side of the abortion debate (the Terminator wants it legal) and have that healthy gut instinct.


The Schwarzenegger reaction came in somewhat stark contrast to some other recent parenting news. September was a bad month for motherhood, at least on the news wires.


A New York mother decided it was time for her 13-year-old daughter, and her 14-year-old female friend, to each "have sex and get it over with."


Mom got a hotel room, hit the mall with the kids, and found an 18- and 19-year-old who'd do the dirty deed with the girls. Mom was in the hotel room with them during the loss of innocence (though it's a safe bet this woman's daughter lost that long ago).


In Colorado, wanting to be a "cool mom" of a teen boy (making up, she told police, for her own outsider days in high school) 41-year-old Silvia Johnson is accused of boozing and drugging it up at parties at her house with teenagers -- and having sex with some of the boys in attendance at these regular bashes.


On the West Coast, there's the tragic case of young Eliza Jane. Her mother, Christine Maggiore, is HIV positive and insists that the virus doesn't cause AIDS. So she has taken no medication, has had children, breastfed, and kept the kids away from reputable doctors. And now 3-year-old Eliza Jane is dead. Though this Mother of the Year is disputing it, the coroner's report says the toddler died of AIDS-related pneumonia.


I bet Arnold Schwarzenegger would have some healthy thoughts on that California mother.


These Motherhood Hall of Shame stories are obviously not the norm. We know that because they still make headlines. And for that, at least, we can be grateful -- though it doesn't help Eliza Jane or the most likely messed-up kids of their sexed-up mamas. It's the day we stop finding these stories extraordinary or are not outraged when we'll be diagnosed with a fatal cultural malady.


When you put these recent cases beside some other against-all-that-is-good-and-right-and-natural stories like the case of Andrea Yates, who infamously drowned her five children in a bathtub, and New Jersey teens Amy Grossberg and Brian Peterson who almost 10 years ago tossed their apparently beaten-to-death newborn (he had suffered multiple skull fractures) in the dumpster, you get the feeling that we do have something to worry about -- beyond individual cases.


The dumpster story has repeated itself enough that there are now drop-off slots at hospitals and other locations for mothers to abandon their living babies. I'm all for doing whatever it takes to give a kid a chance at life, but it's a disturbing perceived necessity.


It's disturbing to realize that the instinct for some supposedly thoughtful, sophisticated types is often to defend and accommodate bad behavior. There are mental-health issues in a lot of these cases, obviously, but regardless, a society can and must say loud and clear: "That's wrong. That's evil. That can never happen again."


Instead, when Yates murdered her children, folks at the National Organization for Women and others rushed to her defense.


Instead of making excuses and defending crimes, we should make sure we all have our heads on straight about the preciousness of human life. Because there is no greater gift.


Again: Obviously, in all these shameful, criminal stories, there is a necessary discussion to be had about prevention. In most, if not all of these cases, there were sick people involved who clearly needed some kind of help. But when a terrible deed has been done, they also need punishment. And despite the virtues of forgiveness, there is a place for unwavering societal condemnation. You can still love the sinner and condemn the sin. But we've got to do the latter in each and every one of these despicable cases. It will say something shameful about us the day we don't see that -- the day your instinct isn't to have an "Arhnuld-like" Dad kind of reaction.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles