JWR Wandering Jews

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 27, 2005 /24 Tishrei, 5766

At last, a Jewish chapel for the U.S. Naval Academy

By Gary Rosenblatt


JewishWorldReview.com |

ANNAPOLIS — One of my earliest childhood memories of growing up was watching the Jewish midshipmen march the few blocks from the U.S. Naval Academy to the only shul in town every Sunday morning for services.



The Commodore Uriah P. Levy Center And Jewish Chapel
Printer Friendly Version

Email this article



Until the Supreme Court ruled it illegal years later, weekly religious attendance at the U.S. service academies — Army, Navy and Air Force — was compulsory for all.


And it was quite a sight for a youngster to see the Middies in their uniforms — black and gold in fall and winter, white in spring and summer — stepping smartly into shul, where my Dad, the congregational rabbi and civilian chaplain, greeted them and conducted special weekly services for 38 years. For all that time my father tended not only to the spiritual needs of these young men (and later, young women), but was a mentor, adviser, and friend, often inviting them to our house for home-cooked meals and providing a sense of normal life to college-age students far from home.


On a Sunday last month, my wife and I were in Annapolis to join my mother in attending the dedication of a milestone in American Jewish history, the first Jewish chapel to be built on the grounds of the Academy. (Jewish services in recent years had been held in various non-descript rooms on the Academy grounds or at local synagogues.)


The three-story new building is named for Commodore Uriah P. Levy, a hero of the War of 1812 who was among the first Jewish career Naval officers and, during a 50-year tenure in the Navy, endured severe anti-Semitism — he was court-martialed and exonerated six times — while maintaining a deep religious faith. It was Levy who abolished the practice of flogging in the Navy and who called for choosing officers based on their ability rather than their religion, ethnicity or social rank.


The new building, in addition to the chapel, houses a fellowship hall, meeting and study rooms, a media center, and a learning center where all of the Brigade's 4,200 students will receive instruction in moral character and religious tolerance.


Most of the funds for the $8 million structure were raised by Friends of the Jewish Chapel, a nonprofit group founded in 1994 that included Jewish graduates of the Academy, though only about 10 percent of the 3,000 donors from around the country were alumni.


The chapel itself is a gem. It features a dome similar to that of Monticello, Thomas Jefferson's Virginia home that Levy helped renovate and restore, and has 410 seats on two levels. It includes a 45-foot high wall made of Jerusalem stone, inspired by the Western Wall, and wire mesh scrims high above the congregation that give the effect of billowing sails, with natural light shining down from the ceiling.


More than 1,500 Naval and civilian dignitaries and other invited guests witnessed the official dedication on a hot, sunny afternoon, the culmination of a weekend of festivities and special services, which included the presentation of a Torah from the Israeli Navy to the new chapel, the first U.S. military building in the world to feature a Jewish star on its exterior.


The speakers included Adm. Michael Mullen, chief of Naval Operations, as well as the superintendent of the Academy, several chaplains, and Sen. John Warner, chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee, all of whom took note of the "historic" moment as a sign of enhanced religious freedom at the Academy.


It wasn't always so. Long after Uriah P. Levy was almost drummed out of the Navy because of his religion, my Dad would counsel Jewish Middies facing varying degrees of anti-Semitism at the Academy. And while there were no official quotas, the log he kept of the Jewish students from the mid-1940s to the early 1980s always had 40 names, plus or minus one or two, about 1 percent of the school. (There are now 120 Jewish students at the Academy.)


But this Sunday afternoon was a day to marvel at how far the American Jewish dream has come at the Naval Academy, and I particularly enjoyed hearing the 80-voice Navy Glee Club sing "Adon Olam" in a flawless Hebrew. They also sang "America," "Shenandoah," and the always stirring Navy Hymn ("O hear us when we cry to thee, for those in peril on the sea").


As much as I was touched by the dedication, and by meeting gray-haired gentlemen from the Class of '52, and '55 and subsequent years who came over to say hello and recall what a skinny little kid I was back then, my mother was moved even more to be remembered all these years later for her warmth and hospitality. With her unflagging memory, she recalled the names of those who greeted her in her well-deserved spot in the VIP section, and relished the memories they shared of my father, gone 20 years now, and the profound impact he had on their lives.


After the ceremonies were over, we joined the throngs touring the new facility, and were directed to a quiet spot on the second floor of the chapel. There we found a marble stone listing the names of several "Visionaries and Founders," including my dad, Rabbi Morris D. Rosenblatt, and the inscription from Exodus 25:8: "And let them make me a sanctuary and I will dwell among them."


We left the Academy that day feeling comforted that my dad's name is now memorialized in a chapel that will serve future Naval officers and visitors for generations, having been reminded that his acts of kindness are still remembered by so many, decades after their years at Annapolis.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Gary Rosenblatt is Editor and Publisher of the New York Jewish Week. Comment by clicking here.


© 2005, NY Jewish Week.

Up