Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 24, 2005 / 21 Tishrei, 5766

A man, a squash & Martha Stewart

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Like a lot of guys, I don't get the whole Martha Stewart thing. To me, sheets are sheets, artichokes are artichokes, and as long as the quarterback doesn't throw any interceptions, I'm happy.

Then last week, I interviewed Martha Stewart, on radio, for her new book about building a business.

When I came home, I told my wife and a female friend the news. And both of them gushed, almost in unison, "You were nice to her, weren't you?"

Well, I said, she did go to jail.

"You were nice to her, weren't you?"

This time the question was more threatening, as in, "If you weren't nice to her, we're going to hang you."

But that stock thing, I said?

"Her taste is exquisite! Her sheets are the best! Her magazine is beautiful!"

She was plugging a book, I said.

"Really! Did you bring one home?"

Here is how the interview went. I said, "Hello, Martha," and I told her, up front, that I had been critical after the conviction for obstructing justice and lying to investigators. I wanted to be honest. And she said, "Thank you."

Then she talked about squash.

Well, first she talked about some women she met in jail and how she helped them with their business ideas, even though one idea was for a combination hair salon/restaurant, which, personally, would have me checking my food.

She referred to her "five months of an unplanned sabbatical," which is the nicest phrase for "prison" I've ever heard. And she insisted "I did not have to go to jail, but I chose to go so that I could put an end to the entire thing."

She said "I haven't had a day off" since coming home. And she denied being overexposed, despite two TV shows, a satellite radio channel and seemingly countless magazines and merchandise lines.

"We're not everywhere," she said. "We're not making iPods."

Good. How many new models can we take?

At one point she asked me, "Do you sleep on sheets?" I said yes — although I had to think about it for a second — and she replied, "I think it's terribly important to have really beautiful sheets that are affordable and soft and not scratchy, that you don't feel like you're crawling into a hair shirt every night."

I don't even know what a "hair shirt" is. I imagine you wear it at that salon/restaurant place.

Anyhow, Martha Stewart was very nice and peppy, and she did speak about squash — "warty squash," which I won't go into — but then she said something that stunned me. She said her "naysayers" were more women than men and that was "because a lot of women who feel inadequate are journalists."

Huh?

"They probably spend their time being journalists and not being homemakers " she said. "I think they feel inadequate. That's why they criticize the lovely things we do."

Now, I am not a woman. But I am a journalist. And I know many female journalists. And they are hardly inadequate. And they certainly harbor no anger for not being a full-time homemakers.

Besides, Martha isn't a homemaker, either. She's a homemaker industry. If someone told her all she could do was make the recipes she sold or pay for the sheets she designed, she might say, "Who are you to keep me down?"

I don't know how women feel about "inadequate," but as a guy, them's fighting words.

So I would fight back. I would ask Martha if she thought female doctors or judges felt inadequate because they couldn't be homemakers. I would question if everyone is equally dazzled by carving a pumpkin. I'd point out that if all Martha did was "lovely things," she wouldn't have dirtied her hands with the stock market.

But then, I'm a guy. What do I know? I'm lucky to sleep on a sheet.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"The Five People You Meet in Heaven"  

A novel that explores the unexpected connections of our lives, and the idea that heaven is more than a place; it's an answer. Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2005, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles