Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 24, 2013/ 20 Tishrei, 5774

I Hear America Shopping

By Lenore Skenazy



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If you want to know what's going on in America, don't watch TV. Go to the supermarket. All the trends sweeping our country are visible if you look through Lempert glasses.

Phil Lempert is The Supermarket Guru. You may have seen him on the Today Show where he's been reporting on grocery trends longer than a can of anchovies sits on the average American's shelf. So when we spoke about his latest Trends for 2013 list, I was excited to hear about some new developments, beginning with men.

"A couple of retailers are actually putting up man aisles in stores," Lempert said.

At last! Now we can pick up a man on our way home from work. My single friends will be so relieved!

Uh, no, Lempert explained: The aisles are for men to shop IN. (Still sounds like they'll be easier to pick up, now that we know where to find them.) "Men are getting more involved in the cooking and the shopping," Lempert said, thanks to two enormous shifts in America: 1 — More people are working from home. And 2 — More people, especially men, aren't working, period. When you're home trying to save your money and sanity, the kitchen beckons.

So what, exactly, sits on the shelves in the man aisle? It's "evolving," the expert hedges. Right now, there's some macho stuff, such as bags of charcoal and cans of Manwich. But eventually he expects to see more seeds, salmon, sardines — foods that are rich in zinc for prostate health — along with berries, mangoes and apricots, which are also good for that manly gland. In other words, men will be shopping with the goal of staying alive.



That's a goal that's influencing other shopping trends, including the use of cell phones as in-pocket nutritionists, or even nurses. One app that Lempert himself developed — and offers for free, called Smarter Shopping — does things like suggest substitutes for ingredients if you're allergic to an item in a recipe. It also "translates" the labels on food if you're wondering what "BHA" means. And the app (available only for iPhones so far) also can be used with a device that monitors blood glucose, alerting diabetics to the foods they can eat or should avoid.

Those three capabilities, or widgets, or whatever you call them, just happen to represent three more huge trends in America: allergies, fear of chemicals and diabetes. And a fourth trend is embedded in the existence of the app itself: the way that phones are making us all experts. One tap and suddenly we've got everything from recipe ideas to scientific analyses. Who needs a college education? (Except to figure out how to make your phone do everything it can possibly do, that is.)

Another app, not Lempert's, involves a sensor you somehow attach that allows you to check if there's any pesticide residue left on a food, or if it is truly "organic" — surely a trend in itself: obsessing about purity.

And then there's the over-arching snack trend. "We're snacking not just in between meals but AS meals," Lempert says. More than half of all Americans snack two to three times a day. This doesn't just explain a lot of blubber, it reflects the way our days have evolved. From sit-down breakfast to sit-down lunch to sit-down dinner, we now have drive-around breakfast, at-our-desk lunch and catch-as-catch-can supper. Our meal times have been fractured as surely as our attention, as we bounce from screen to screen (phone, TV, PC, tablet), with what has been dubbed our "continual partial attention."

And in the end, that's the irony of the way we're shopping and eating: Intensely focused on our health, right down to the molecular chemistry of our food. And yet too distracted to sit down and enjoy a whole meal.

How very American! The same country that is sexy yet prudish, and brave but alarmist, is ready to eat right, even while making a meal out of Cocoa Krispies. It's enough to send you to the man aisle for what I'm sure will be there. Beer.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy's column by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2013, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast