Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 16, 2013/ 12 Tishrei, 5774

America & its Miss'ed opportunities

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) For the longest time, I deluded myself into thinking that the only difference between me and a Miss America hopeful was the fact that I wore glasses.

Actually, I did not wear "glasses." I wore a portable version of the Hubble Telescope. For this reason, and this reason alone, it was clear to my adolescent self that the only aisle I'd likely be strolling down was the one at the Penn Fruit. But come every Labor Day, I'd suspend reality for a few blessed hours and mentally substitute my face (including all four of my eyes) for that of the newly crowned Queen of All That Mattered.

That's why I'll be sitting in front of the television this Sunday, watching as a lovely example of American exceptionalism takes this year's title. Quick question: Who is the reigning Miss? I'm waiting. Still waiting Ö

Thought so. I didn't know, either, until I googled her. This is probably because the former Miss Wisconsin, Laura Kaeppler, was crowned in some backwater town thousands of miles from Atlantic City (OK, Las Vegas.) Moving the pageant from its rightful home by the crystal blue sea was akin to updating the Hollywood sign, and misspelling it. Changes to beloved traditions are not always good.

That is one reason I'm looking forward to this weekend's edition of the "Scholarship Program." Returning to the annual event is a sweet reminder of the late summer days of my childhood when, while knowing in some deep place that I would never be rewarded for my beauty or grace, I could nonetheless borrow the dreams of others.

And now that it's back on the Boardwalk, the significance of the pageant is even more compelling to a 51-year-old woman who could probably be the (glamorously young) grandmother to some of the contestants. Thomas Wolfe wrote that you can't go home again, and he has been proven wrong time after time. You can most certainly go home again if the terrain of that native land is impressed firmly on your memory.

So when I tune in on Sunday, I'll be traveling back to a place where a chubby-and-bespectacled kid could entertain the possibility of a kind of success that had nothing to do with her overworked brain.

That's not to say that the contestants were ever one-dimensional Barbie dolls like their Stepford Sisters in the USA pageant. Miss America was always smarter, more articulate, and more elegant than the other examples of homegrown pulchritude. She was also classier. If USA was Marilyn Monroe with her overt sexuality and increasingly improbable bosom, America was Grace Kelly.

Miss America also had to have a "talent." Today, some females think that it is enough to gyrate their buttocks in front of a rapt audience to demonstrate how gifted they are. As Billy Ray's little girl taught us earlier this summer, sluts come in all shapes and sizes, and acting like a lady is one of those ancient tribal traditions that have become optional, like good hygiene.

Not so Miss America. Not only is she lovely to behold, she has a way with words, with music, with tripping the light fantastic, or doing any number of things that require something more than a dedicated client list.

It is true that this year's slew of contestants contains a few notable surprises, like lovely Miss Kansas who sports two tattoos on her well-toned torso. Given the content of the body art, including the insignia of the Army Dental Corps on her shoulder, I don't think Princess Grace would be sniffing in derision. Neither would my father, God rest his soul, who was a proud vet.

This is just one example of how the pageant has evolved with time, but still represents the best of what we as American women have to offer.

Unfortunately, it was always common in some quarters to criticize Miss America. As the great sage of the Philadelphia Daily News, the inimitable Stu Bykofsky, rightly noted in his column this week, women like Bella Abzug and Gloria Steinem liked to dismiss the contestants as victims of a patriarchal society. Apparently, the right to choose didn't include choosing pageants.

I never understood that tendency among certain sisters to demand this rejection of aesthetics. As a freshman at Bryn Mawr, there was the unspoken belief that a woman's attractiveness was inversely related to her IQ. From personal observation, there were a lot of gals with high IQs on that campus.

Fortunately, while the feminists might fume, most Americans welcome the chance to cheer on women with brains, beauty and a well-toned booty. We see nothing strange in someone who can twirl a baton, present a blueprint for world peace and ace her MCATs all at the same time.

To paraphrase Dorothy Parker, it's good that men still make passes at girls who wear sashes. It's also intructive to remember that beauty queens can go on to do exceptional things, like running for vice president.

You betcha.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



09/10/13: We still must be civilization's gatekeepers
09/03/13: Around the world, the cross is in the crosshairs
08/19/13: Blood is on stop-and-frisk judge's hands
08/13/13: Hey, social progressives: Women can actually think with an organ other than a uterus
08/06/13: Media make our enemies seem friendly
07/29/13: Mrs. Anthony Weiner = Hillary 2.1
07/08/13: A voice of reason, from the dustbin
07/04/13: Heroes are all around us
05/27/13: Vietnam vet's words soothe modern tragedies
05/22/13: Circling the presidential-protection wagons
05/15/13: Divorce can't be just the pursuit of happiness
05/07/13: We knew Jackie Robinson, and Jason Collins is no Jackie Robinson
05/01/13: Blame pro-choice lobby for Philly monster
04/23/13: Of damnation, and staring back
04/15/13: Margaret Thatcher changed the world, and didnít have to be a feminist to do it
04/08/13: Taking great pleasure in the death penalty
04/01/13: An easy prediction --- bet on the unpredictable
03/26/13: 'The personal is political' is no reason to change
03/19/13: A word to the whines --- it was just some high jinks
03/11/13: The Great Race Debate, revisited
03/04/13: Marriage goes beyond love
02/19/13: 2 women, and what they're fighting for
02/04/13: Sadly, Scouting seems poised to give up the fight
01/15/13: Reflections from Gettysburg
01/02/13: The mentally ill vs. those who love them
12/27/12: Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation
12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2013, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast