Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 10, 2013/ 6 Tishrei, 5774

We still must be civilization's gatekeepers

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) There are a number of legitimate reasons to oppose intervention in Syria. There are many smart people, people whom I respect and with whom I share a philosophical foxhole, who lay out those reasons with eloquence and passion.

—Why now?

(Why, indeed, when we did nothing in Rwanda and the Sudan?)

—Syrian President Bashar Assad is no worse than the Islamic jihadists challenging his authority.

(True, even though he has bigger guns.)

—It's a civil war. Why should Americans risk our own blood and treasure to save Syrian souls?

(Good point, except today's Syrians are tomorrow's Iranians, and both tribes hate us.)

—Saddam Hussein used chemical weapons and it took us more than a decade to notice, or to care.

(Yes, and look how well that worked out.)

I sympathize with the reasoned arguments against a wholesale intervention, one that involves boots on the ground and the ghostly, ghastly prospect of dead soldiers.

But none of them can drown out the single most horrific sound known to the victimized and the tortured around the world: silence.

Silence is deafening when it comes in response to cries for assistance. It is soul-crushing when it follows the pleas of children who have been gassed in their classrooms and paralyzed in their beds. It makes the eardrums bleed, the head pound and the heart break.

I find myself in the unenviable position of agreeing with Nancy Pelosi, someone whose silence is normally precious gold. The former Speaker of the House has, albeit half-heartedly, supported intervention, although one suspects that it has more to do with remaining a member in good standing of Team Obama and not because she's abandoned her pacifist roots.

To be fair, many of those who oppose intervention are at least partly motivated by a desire to deny this Hamlet of a president his wish (whatever that is on any given day).

But as someone who has spent 20 years dealing with refugees and asylum applicants, I simply cannot fathom the possibility that my country will again do nothing but wring its hands in the present and engage in earnest, useless mourning in the not-so-distant future.

Before she became Obama's controversial ambassador at the United Nations, and before she called Hillary Clinton a "bitch," Samantha Power wrote a magisterial book called "A Problem From Hell: America and the Age of Genocide." In it, she examines how America has reacted to "race murder" over the past century, and comes to this disturbing conclusion: "It is in the realm of domestic politics that the battle to stop genocide is lost. American political leaders interpret society-wide silence as an indicator of public indifference. They reason that they will incur no costs if the United States remains uninvolved but will face steep risks if they engage."

It kills me to say that she's right, given the fact that Power carries the water for Team Obama and shed her scholarly mantle when she crassly attacked Clinton. And yet, her message is crystal clear, and correct: The moral imperative of stopping genocide is no match for the need to save your political soul.

Not everyone who takes a stand for or against intervention is motivated by rank partisanship. Far from it. There are some liberals who are challenging the president as they did with the drone strikes, and some conservatives who are lining up to give him cover.

Who could have imagined, in the dark days of Campaign 2008, that John McCain would have ever joined forces with the harbinger of hope and change? This is even more striking when you hear McCain's former running mate taunting the president and his decisions (or lack thereof). While I like Sarah Palin (a lot), I think that she channels the worst aspects of the "noninterventionists" when she says things like, "Let Allah sort it out."

Tell that to the dead babies, please.

But those who think that we have no business getting involved in someone else's family feud are willing to surrender our legitimate reputation as civilization's gatekeepers, the ones who see the red line and refuse to shrug our shoulders when evil crosses over.

People like Sens. Rand Paul and Ted Cruz seem to believe that we should all just live in a star-spangled bubble where the rest of the world can be kept at bay while we tend to our own. That's not the lesson I was taught by my very conservative parents. It may not take a village to raise a child, but it sure as hell takes an international community to make sure that that child isn't butchered.

There is also naivete in the belief that the use of chemical weapons doesn't pose a national security risk to the United States. Allowing Assad to kill his own people essentially guarantees that he won't stop at Syria's border. And if he won't, neither will his friends the mullahs.

We didn't bomb the concentration camps. The Killing Fields of Cambodia filled up with blood and we turned away. Seven thousand fell at Srebrenica while the West looked on.

We say "never again."

It's time to mean it.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



09/03/13: Around the world, the cross is in the crosshairs
08/19/13: Blood is on stop-and-frisk judge's hands
08/13/13: Hey, social progressives: Women can actually think with an organ other than a uterus
08/06/13: Media make our enemies seem friendly
07/29/13: Mrs. Anthony Weiner = Hillary 2.1
07/08/13: A voice of reason, from the dustbin
07/04/13: Heroes are all around us
05/27/13: Vietnam vet's words soothe modern tragedies
05/22/13: Circling the presidential-protection wagons
05/15/13: Divorce can't be just the pursuit of happiness
05/07/13: We knew Jackie Robinson, and Jason Collins is no Jackie Robinson
05/01/13: Blame pro-choice lobby for Philly monster
04/23/13: Of damnation, and staring back
04/15/13: Margaret Thatcher changed the world, and didnít have to be a feminist to do it
04/08/13: Taking great pleasure in the death penalty
04/01/13: An easy prediction --- bet on the unpredictable
03/26/13: 'The personal is political' is no reason to change
03/19/13: A word to the whines --- it was just some high jinks
03/11/13: The Great Race Debate, revisited
03/04/13: Marriage goes beyond love
02/19/13: 2 women, and what they're fighting for
02/04/13: Sadly, Scouting seems poised to give up the fight
01/15/13: Reflections from Gettysburg
01/02/13: The mentally ill vs. those who love them
12/27/12: Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation
12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2013, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast