Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review September 27, 2012/ 11 Tishrei, 5773

Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) You've probably read a lot of stories about Sylvester Stallone in the 36 years since "Rocky" launched the actor to international stardom, but I'll bet you've never heard the one about the Dalai Lama.

The reason I am familiar with this story is that I witnessed the incident in question.

It happened a little more than four years ago, just a week before the January opening of Stallone's new movie "Rambo," which he wrote and directed, in addition to starring as the iconic movie character John Rambo. Although it was the fourth film in the franchise, it had been 19 years since the character appeared on screen. The movie made more than $100 million at the box office.

Stallone and I met in the lobby of the Four Seasons hotel in Los Angeles, and were walking briskly down a hallway to start an interview in his suite.

Just as we got to the suite, two unsmiling men in dark suits appeared out of the shadows and stood in our path. One of the men addressed Stallone.

"Do you have time to take a call from the Dalai Lama?"

I don't know about Stallone, but I was impressed. It's not every day that the Tibetan spiritual leader picks up the phone to chat. Well, he certainly doesn't call me that often.

My surprise at the man's question paled in comparison to what happened next.

The actor politely declined the offer, explaining that he was running late for our interview. He then motioned for me to enter the suite, and followed me inside, closing the door slowly on the spiritual leader's stunned representatives.

"I hope you appreciate what I just did for you," Stallone said with a smile.

I did. The Dalai Lama probably doesn't come in second place to many people. But apparently Stallone is a man of integrity who honors his commitments.

I was reminded of that story after reading news reports concerning Stallone, who has to promote a new movie this week while grieving over the recent death of his son Sage. The movie is "The Expendables 2," a sequel to the successful 2010 mercenary movie "The Expendables," which rejuvenated Stallone's career when it made $266 million at the worldwide box office. That kind of money may not grow on trees, but it certainly gives birth to sequels.

One of the reasons for the success of "The Expendables" is that it tapped into the baby boomer market with a different approach to the standard action film. It starred a group of aging action stars who caused the kind of movie mayhem normally reserved for studs half their age.

More important, it was Sylvester Stallone in another action film, which is exactly where movie audiences want to see him. Stallone hasn't always obliged that audience, and he told me in that interview four years ago that he regretted that.

"After 'Rocky," I should have been writing and directing my own movies, like Clint Eastwood, but I took a different route. I tried to be a more diversified actor, and I didn't realize that you are pretty much defined by your initial impact on this industry. After "Rocky," that's who I was. That's the role that the industry coveted, but I tried to fight it.

"I was being challenged by the media not to be a one-note actor, and then they vilified me when I tried to do comedies and other films that were outside my strengths. I don't know why the media does that to actors. They don't do it to athletes. You never hear anybody telling Tom Brady that he's a great quarterback, but then questioning how good a defensive end he is. No one expects him to play a different position. He does what he does well.

"I should have stayed where I belonged, in the action genre. Everybody has a niche. I shouldn't have been so damn artistically greedy. I thought I could run the table on all those different roles, which was self-destructive. I should have been happy to just be the action guy."

When you ponder Stallone's career choices, you have to agree that he should have narrowed his focus. There is some truly inspired work, but there is so much more that is downright silly. In fact, while compiling the lists below, it was so much harder to reduce the list of bad movies to only five.

If you don't believe me, play the game. See if you can confine the list to only five. For every "Rocky," there were too many "Judge Dredds."

Here are my favorite Stallone movies:

1. "Rocky" (1976)

2. "Cop Land" (1997)

3. "First Blood" (1982)

4. "Rocky Balboa" (2006)

5. "Nighthawks" (1981)

----

And now, my least-favorites:

1. "Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot" (1992)

2. "Rhinestone" (1984)

3. "Judge Dredd" (1995)

4. "The Specialist" (1994)

5. "Driven" (2001)

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles