Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 14, 2011 / 15 Elul, 5771

How to Watch a Sunset

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's an art to watching a sunset. Or maybe it's just age. Either way, I'm good at it.

My husband is good at it, too. It was the first redeeming quality I saw in him. Our initial meeting was not what you'd call love at first sight.

Years ago, I was a reporter in a newsroom where he'd just been hired as an editor. His first day on the job, he was assigned to edit my column. I don't recall what the column was about. I just recall I rather liked it.

So I gave it to him, then sat at my desk awaiting his response. I waited a long time. Hell began to freeze over. Finally, I had to ask: "My column? Is it OK?"

"Oh," he said, glancing up from some stupid news story he was editing, "Sure, it's fine."

Fine?

Time passes. Wounds heal. Yeah, right. Weeks later, I was on deadline finishing a story, when suddenly he announced to the newsroom, "Everybody outside for sunset!"

We looked up, blinking like coal miners freed from the black abyss of our computers. As the other sheep trotted out to the patio, I put my head down to work. Going out the door, he called, "You, too, Randall."

Fine!

I don't recall that sunset. It was probably like countless others I've seen on the coast of Northern California, at the end of a gray summer day, when the sun finally bursts through the fog bank and splashes color -- fiery red, neon pink and ashes of roses -- all across the bay.

I do recall I rather liked it. Mostly I liked the fact that he had noticed it, and that he wanted us to notice it, too.

What I saw in him that day was a thing my grandmother called "potential," but it would be years before I saw it clearly.

For the record, I have never seen a sunset I didn't like.

I grew up in the Blue Ridge Mountains where sunsets like to linger, pouring over one old peak, then the next. My earliest memories are of watching those sunsets, feeling their mark, like a cattle brand on my soul.

Imagine my surprise at 19, when I left Carolina, to find that the sun also sets in California. And the simple act of watching it could make me feel at home.

Imagine my surprise again after years as a widow, to marry my former editor, move to Las Vegas, and find that the sun also sets in the desert. And the simple act of watching it still makes me feel at home.

For the first time in too long, we took a vacation, my husband and I, to the Florida Keys. We sat on a beach, read a stack of books, got bitten by squadrons of mosquitoes and watched eight perfect sunsets.

One evening we shared the dock with some teenagers who sat laughing, punching at each other, until the sun sank below the horizon. Then they left.

We rolled our eyes. Rookies. They would miss the best part.

After a lifetime of watching sunsets, here is what I know:

First, the sun isn't picky. It sets everywhere, mountains, oceans, desert, even in memory. Where doesn't matter. What counts is who you are and the company you keep.

Second, to see it truly you have to be still; breathe it in, let it fill up every empty place inside you. It's a mini-vacation free every day with one destination: Home.

Finally, never say it's over until it's over. Sunsets are like people; they have potential. Give them time to show you their true colors. Sometimes life likes to save the best for last.

We're back home once again, scratching our mosquito bites and doing piles of laundry. He's grilling ribs. I'm writing a column. So much for vacation.

But there are fresh peonies on the table and 10 fuzzy quail chicks parading across the patio. And my former editor is yelling at me to come watch the sunset.

All I can say is, "Fine."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


Waiting often comes with gifts

An exceptional book club

There is no guilt in moving forward

Celebrations full of love and buttercream

It takes a whole village of shoes to raise a child

The best stories always tell us who we are

Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles