Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 23, 2011 / 24 Elul, 5771

Tiny camera (again) soars; ancient walls house high-tech hotel

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | JERUSALEM --- If history can repeat itself in this ancient and storied city, maybe tech experiences can be repeated, too. Seven years ago, your columnist was here and was grateful to carry a relatively small digital camera around for taking pictures, the quality of which was quite good.

I've spent the past week in Israel again, and was even more wowed this time by a much newer digital device, the Canon PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Digital camera, list price $250, which the Japanese firm announced on February 7. After another firm's promised loan of a new device fell through, I grabbed this one quickly from Amazon.com - at just under $200, no less -- for the trip.

Here's how Canon described the device: it has "a 12.1-Megapixel High-Sensitivity CMOS sensor, 5X Optical Zoom, an ultra-wide angle 24mm equivalent lens along with a 2.7-inch LCD screen and is available in red, black and silver." Let me translate that into English: this camera does many of the things you'd expect from a much larger digital SLR, at a fraction of the weight and price.

Now, lest the good people at The Times' photo desk refuse to speak to me ever again, it must be explicitly stated that the ELPH 300 is not a substitute for a full digital SLR camera. But for many casual photographers, as well as for those seeking something light to tote around, the pocketable ELPH is an amazing device, capable of producing pictures that could rival those from larger cameras.

I know, because I had a Canon EOS Rebel T2i along as well, and in several days of touring shot photos at the same location with both cameras. The results were almost indistinguishable, except when I put the 55-250 mm zoom lens on the T2i. Obviously, with that kind of lens, one can do a bit more.

But I could do a lot with the ELPH 300, and enough for shots posted on a blog, while larger files may appear in print somewhere. In places such as Masada, the ancient fortress in the middle of the desert, you didn't want to lug a big camera bag around, so I didn't. The ELPH 300 was just fine there; the photos worked beautifully.

A nice bonus is that the ELPH 300 shoots high-definition, 1080p video. I took a couple of clips, and I'm happy with them. Steven Spielberg might not use this to make a movie, but you could intersperse shots from that surprise birthday party with a short clip of the cake being served.

Do I recommend this camera? Yes, I do, and while I could have spent a bit more and gotten some extra bells and whistles (another model announced at the time has a built-in GPS system to note where a photo was taken), I'm very, very pleased with this little gem. You might be, too.

HIGH-TECH HOTEL: In Jerusalem, the two-year-old Mamilla Hotel is a "boutique" hotel with a high-tech twist. Housed inside the shell of an older building, the Mamilla offers such things as Wi-Fi throughout for guests, and even two American-friendly electrical outlets.

But there's more: the Wi-Fi extends to the hotel's public areas, the lobby, café and restaurants. The flat-screen TV in each room can double as an Internet terminal. And in the glass-walled bathroom, a switch turns the glass opaque, to ensure privacy.

My favorite tech add-on are the speakers in the bathroom that offer the TV's sound as you shower. It's a great way to keep up with things back home while getting ready for another day of exploring.

Israel's high-tech dedication is no surprise; the country has been a tech hub for years. But today's Israelis are serious about it. At least one tour bus I saw had Wi-Fi access (great for Facebooking on the way to Tiberias) and the cell reception on top of Masada is just fine.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2011, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles