Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 9, 2011 / 10 Elul, 5771

Revealed miracles and Divine protection in Manhattan

By Eytan Kobre






Ten years ago this Sunday, Muslim terrorists rained death and destruction of unparalleled magnitude on an unsuspecting America at New York's Twin Towers and the Pentagon outside Washington. And while so many first responders gave their lives in their attempts to save others, one group witnessed a succession of open miracles — and no losses. A decade later, the leaders of Hatzolah, an EMT group whose members are comprised entirely of Orthodox Jewish volunteers, relive the Divine Providence of that horrifying day, which they didn't believe they'd survive


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I arrive at Hatzolah's Flatbush headquarters on a brightly sunny August day so very much like the morning of September 11, 2001. I've always felt that that day of horror, now seared into the collective consciousness of humanity simply as "9/11," was somehow made all the more terrifying by the serenely pleasant morning into which it burst with maniacal intensity.

I'm here to listen to some prominent Hatzolah members share their recollections of 9/11 for the tenth anniversary coverage of that tragedy of tragedies — but I fail. Because as I sit across from Heshy Jacob, Hatzolah's indomitable president, it quickly becomes clear I've gotten it all wrong: For Heshy, as for Hatzolah CEO Rabbi Dovid Cohen and board member Zelig Gitelis, who joined our conversation, there are no 9/11 "anniversaries," tenth or otherwise. They — like the 185 other Hatzolah members who spent September 11, 2001, in downtown Manhattan — relive those frightening hours every day of their lives.

Before sitting down to talk, Heshy insists that we listen to the first few minutes of the tapes of the Hatzolah dispatcher receiving the initial frantic reports of the attack from the field, sending every possible unit speeding toward the Twin Towers. It's a deeply surreal experience to sit there, knowing how events would unfold, hearing human beings trying to comprehend the incomprehensible. The eight or so of us packed into that tiny room, riveted to that recording, are listening to a world that was just minutes away from losing its pre-9/11 innocence forever.

With that bracing introduction, Heshy frames the conversation to follow: "This isn't a story about Jacob, or Cohen, or Gitelis, or about any of the 185 or so Hatzolah members who were there that day. You know what it's about? About a year and a half ago I was asked to speak at an NCSY event on the subject of 'Are miracles seen in this generation?' And the answer I gave was an emphatic 'Yes.'

"This is a story," Heshy continues, "about how the Ribono shel Olam [Master of the Universe] preformed nissim v'nifla'os [miracles and wonders]for us on that day to the point that at the end of the day, when the head of the Emergency Medical Service [EMS] system, Chief Robert McCracken, asked Itzy Stern, 'How many guys did you lose?' Itzy didn't want to tell him how many we lost, because we hadn't lost any, and they had lost hundreds. So he began describing a broken leg here, a broken arm there. Chief McCracken interrupted him: 'No, I mean how many died?' So Itzy sheepishly said, 'None.' The chief thought for a moment and said, 'Tomorrow I'm staying with you. It's evident G-d was with you today.'"

I look at Heshy and he's not here, he's there, in that place, as he continues in a voice thick with emotion: "For ten years I've walked around wondering, 'Why?' We were in the Towers, we were close on all sides, so why did the Master of the Universe do that miracle for us openly? And I believe the answer is because we all came b'achdus [unity of purpose]."

Heshy says this was the message of the dispatcher's tape. "You heard where they came from: Boro Park, Flatbush, Williamsburg, Crown Heights, Upper East Side, West Side, Lower East Side, Riverdale, Canarsie, Queens ... Every single neighborhood came for one reason: because Jews and other people needed them. So the story here is that if Klal Yisrael [Jewry] is unified, we would also be able to see miracles in many other places."

He pauses, a sob caught in his throat.

Heshy Jacob is a doer, a leader, made in the tough-on-the-outside, soft-on-the-inside mold. His role as Hatzolah's president is a volunteer one — he's been a member since 1968, about a year after its founding. A former Wall Street trader, his current "day job" is that of managing the East River co-ops. One might call Heshy, whose roots in New York's oldest Jewish neighborhood go back over a century, "Mr. East Side." So when he begins to cry, it might catch you by surprise. But then, a lot of grown men cried on 9/11.

"I was at the Vista Hotel and when I got down there, there were exactly two fire trucks, an FDNY ambulance, Naftoli Solomon's ambulance, and ours on the scene. What did the Master of the Universe do? As I came down Vesey Street, I saw those two buses [i.e., ambulances] were on the left, so G-t hot geholfen [G0d helped] and I made a right and parked by the telephone building. Had I made a left, I would have been under the building. So the Eibeshter One Above openly guided our decisions. It's not for nothing that Rabbi Reuven Feinstein ruled for us that a member who was there that day, and hasn't gone by the site for thirty days, is obligated" to recite a special blessing said when one passes a place where a miracle was preformed for him.

EVERY CAR CRUSHED
Zelig Gitelis takes his cue, beginning in the matter-of-fact tone of the veteran paramedic that he is, one who in his decades of Hatzolah work had seen it all — until that day. "Driving in from Flatbush, I came out of the Battery Tunnel, south of the Towers. That's where the Brooklyn members were stationed. We had five buses lined up there. The Upper and Lower East Siders and Riverdale stayed on the west side near the Vista Hotel, and Queens and Williamsburg were to the east, on Broadway and Church. So we surrounded the buildings from all sides.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


"As I entered the tunnel the second plane hit, and when I came out of the tunnel I had to zigzag between body parts and airplane parts, because after the first building, the North Tower, was hit, people started jumping, nebach, right away. I drove to what we thought was going to be the staging area to wait for the wounded, but even though we were lined up neatly, Chief McCracken came over to us and asked: 'Can you guys move one block further south?' They wanted to set up the space we were in, on the corner of Liberty Street and South End Avenue facing the South Tower, as a triage area, where, in a mass casualty situation, the wounded get tagged and those who have the best chance of survival get treated and transported first.

"Fortunately, we all listened and moved all our ambulances further south onto South End Avenue; it was one of those days where nobody said 'Who are you to tell me what to do?' That spot, where we were originally, is where the building fell and every car that was left in that area was crushed. So had we not moved, that would've been our fate, too."

I ask whether the field hospital-like triage areas that EMS had set up were ultimately used for that purpose. Zelig's reply is a shocker: "EMS felt the hospitals were going to be overwhelmed, so they set up triage centers — essentially field hospitals — one on the north side, at one of the piers on 17th Street, and another on the south side at one of the ferry terminals, which is where I was. All the EMTs were to be on one side with the less critically wounded, and all the doctors and paramedics on the other side with the critical patients. We thought we'd be treating patients there for hours. Never happened — not one single patient. The few patients they had, they were able to take to area hospitals. At the hospitals, they were waiting outside expecting to get massive numbers of wounded, which we never delivered to them."

Heshy adds: "The few people I had were people with some debris in their eyes, some cuts, some minor abrasions, because those who got out of the buildings were only hit by debris, and those who didn't get out were dead."

In total, of course, Hatzolah members, as the primary first responders on the south and west sides of the World Trade Center, ended up treating hundreds of wounded persons. According to Rabbi Mechel Handler, Chevra Hatzolah's executive director, just between the attack on the North Tower at 8:46 a.m. and the South Tower's collapse at 9:59, the twenty-four Hatzolah ambulances at the scene transported close to 140 patients to area hospitals, each loaded up with four to six victims, many with severe burns. Its members also took the lead in evacuating over a thousand people onto various boats that took them across the river to Jersey City.

HOLDING HANDS
Zelig shares an episode of personal salvation: "I was together with a group of other Hatzolah members across West Street from the Towers. All of a sudden, we heard the rumble of the South Tower — which was hit second but fell first — starting to come down. Remember, nobody in their wildest dreams thought it would implode downward; everyone thought that, at most, the upper section would topple over on its side. So we all ran like crazy. We ran into a parking garage, because it was the easiest thing to get into. But when the building fell, the opening filled up with debris and closed off the exit, and all the other doors were sealed shut, so there was now no way to get out."

Heshy interjects: "I must tell you that when that announcement came over the transmitter — I didn't even know Zelig was in there — 'We have fifteen members trapped in the garage,' the thought that came to my mind was 'My goodness, I've got to go home tonight and tell fifteen women that they're widows.'"

Zelig continues: "There were about ten members with me and about a dozen other people whom we found there. They were in there for quite a while, until they finally decided either they were all going to get out or they were all going to be trapped there. So we decided we'd all hold hands. There was absolutely no light and we couldn't see a thing, so the only way to make sure we didn't leave anyone behind was by agreeing to all hold hands together."

Heshy Jacob had used that word, "together," in describing Hatzolah members' headlong rush to the Twin Towers, and now Zelig had too, in speaking of their escape from the jaws of death. They'd come together from every direction to save others, and now, one short hour later, they were clasping hands together, this time to save themselves.

The entire group went up and down the stairs that way until they found one exit they were able to force open. When they emerged from the building, he says, "It was really like one of these descriptions of the morning after a nuclear war and, you know, you think you're the only people alive. We didn't see anybody else, just white dust all over."

When the South Tower collapsed, says Heshy, "the first thing that came to my mind then was Plague of Darkness [of the Exodus story], because the darkness was felt with your hands, it was so dark from the dirt, and I said to myself, 'My goodness gracious, are we going to live through this?' Even if you saved yourself physically, if you opened your mouth, you got concrete and asbestos dust in, so that you couldn't get a breath into your mouth. By that time we had run out of water, and there was a Poland Spring delivery truck there that the guy abandoned, so I said, 'Guys, it's ownerless, get the water, empty the truck out,' and they did."

At one point, Heshy recalls, he was frightened to see that suddenly, all the local utility company people jumped onto their trucks and started driving off. "I see Con Ed leaving," he says, "so I stop one of them and ask him what's going on. He says the main gas line ruptured and it's going to explode under this entire part of Manhattan." What they didn't realize, however, was that because the gas was blowing out of the lines with such intense pressure, the flames couldn't be sucked in to ignite the gas. So the feared huge explosion never happened, and instead the system eventually just shut down.

"I'VE LOST MY SON"
In an earlier telephone conversation with Heshy Jacob, he'd mentioned a story involving his son, Shalom, who's also a Hatzolah member, and I ask him if he would mind sharing it. So he rewinds, back to the beginning of the day when he was one of the first ambulances on the scene: "At about 8:45 that morning, I was running late and was about to head down to an 8:30 minyan, when my son, who was on his way to work near Park Row, called me and said, 'Dad, a plane hit the World Trade Center.' I envisioned a little Piper Cub, and figured, 'Okay, so it went in.' But I then looked out the window, from which you can see — you could have seen — the Twin Towers and I saw the smoke. I came downstairs and met my in-law, Chaim Lazar, who said to me jokingly, 'Heshy, you go downtown and I'll take care of the East Side.'

"I headed down East Broadway in the ES-2 ambulance, driven by Davey Weinberger, and in a few short minutes, we were on Vesey Street, where we could see Mayor Guliani standing at West Broadway gazing at the inferno atop the North Tower. A call came in of an unconscious man in front of J&R Music World on Park Row. I ran to Park Row, and it turned out that somebody had fainted, and there was another lady with severe cuts and wounds. We put them in the back of my bus and took them up to Beth Israel. We unloaded the patients, and with First Avenue totally empty, we were back at the World Trade Center before the second plane hit.

"When it did, I turned around and I saw the jet fuel of the plane come down as a river of fire. That's why they couldn't find anyone, because they were incinerated. Thousands of gallons of burning fuel fell to the ground and every fireman, every policeman that was under there. The mistake they made was that they set up their command center on the plaza between the two towers — how were they supposed to know a second tower would be hit? — so when the second plane hit they were all vaporized."

Zelig interjects: "I gotta tell you, I was with a member who's in the construction business and he told me right away, 'Zelig, that building's gonna collapse.' And this was way before it collapsed, a half hour in advance."

Heshy picks up the story thread: "When the building came down, we realized how bad it was, because we saw the plume of smoke and dust and dirt coming towards us. So I told the driver, Davey Weinberger, 'Move the bus.' But we only went about twenty feet, because we couldn't see an inch in front of us, and we were afraid we'd drive into pedestrians or crash into the back of a fire truck. We stopped the ambulance and I bent my head down, like they used to tell you to do in an attack. But then I said to myself, 'Why are you bending your head down? If this building comes down we're dead anyway, so sit straight, they'll find you better.' For the next seven or eight minutes, there was virtually no visibility, you saw nothing.

"As it started to clear up a little, I remembered that my son was down there, much closer to the buildings than I was, and I was struck with the horrible realization: I've lost my son. I didn't know where he was. At that very moment, the frantic voice of Naftoli Solomon from the East Side-3 ambulance came crackling over the airwaves: 'I'm buried alive, I'm buried alive!' So over the bus radio I said, 'Naftoli, we're going to find you.'

"But at that moment, I started thinking about where my son was, and I remembered a story told about Rabbi Elchonon Wasserman, who was walking in the street with both a disciple and his son, when a menacing dog ran toward them, and Rabbi Elchonon grabbed his son. Somehow they got away, and when he came home, Rabi Elchonon started to cry, 'Why didn't I grab my disciple?' So I said to myself: 'Here I am thinking of my son, but Naftoli Solomon is buried alive.' I asked the Master of the Universe to forgive me, and just then Naftoli's voice came over the air: 'I got out!' He had been buried under soft debris."

Heshy shares Naftoli Solomon's later comment. He said that when he was screaming, "I'm buried alive," and Heshy answered him, "Naftoli, we'll find you," Naftoli thought to himself, "Here I am already in the World of Truth, and all I'm hearing is Heshy Jacob — he's in charge up here too?!"

"At that moment," Heshy continues, "I'll tell you what I did, I promised a thousand dollars to charity if I find my son. Twenty minutes later, I found him — he'd driven away through the thick plume as the South Tower came down. As a young guy he didn't care, he just drove in the dark! I ran up to him and I kissed him and hugged him and I exclaimed, 'You know, I just gave a thousand dollars to charity to find you.' He said to me, 'Dad, that's all I'm worth? You didn't give ten thousand dollars? Only a thousand you gave?' Laughing through my tears, I said, 'Shalom, I didn't know you were alive, here I was thinking a few moments ago that I was gonna have to go home tonight and tell your wife and kids you're gone.'"

Pointing to a picture of an ambulance coated in white ash and surrounded completely by mountains of metal, bricks, and glass, Heshy explains that this is the retrieved East Side-3 bus that was first on the scene.

"This will give you an idea," he says. "Someplace under this debris, Naftoli was trapped when he ran out of the ambulance. See the windshield? Had he stayed inside, what would have happened to him? He would have been dead. Normally, you would think the best place to stay would be inside the vehicle, but there's a hole where a boulder came right through the front window. There was a similar incident, where a Hatzolah member was standing talking to a fireman sitting in his truck. When the building came down, the member dove down on the floor next to the tire, and after the debris finished raining down, he got up. But unfortunately, a brick went through the front window of the fire truck and the firefighter was killed."

SAVED BY THE STARTER
Nothing better exemplifies the truth of the concept of Divine Providence than stories like these and others that emerged from this day, in which each individual met his own tailor-made fate. Heshy tells the story of his son-in-law, Yitz Klug, also a Hatzolah member, who worked for the Securities and Exchange Commission at 9 World Trade Center. On his way to work that morning, Yitz saw a Williamsburg ambulance making its way down to the scene, and he opted to clamber aboard the ambulance rather than go in to work. They loaded up seven or eight walking wounded with cuts and bruises and broken arms, and took them to Beekman Hospital.

After unloading their patients, they got back into the ambulance for the return trip. No such luck: the brand-new ambulance wouldn't start. For fifteen minutes they kept trying to start it, and finally the engine turned over. Ten seconds after they pulled out of the bay, the North Tower came down. Had the bus started right up, it would have been under the building when it came down.

"So is that a miracle?" Heshy asks rhetorically. "Yeah. In other words, the Master of the Universe said to the bus, 'You sit still, you're not going anywhere.' So everybody on that ambulance was saved because it didn't want to start."

Were there changes to Hatzolah's operating procedures based on the impact of those experiences?

Hatzolah members have undergone training with Israel's national ambulance corps, Magen David Adom. Several classes were held in the Flatbush center, and a hundred members traveled to Israel for additional sessions. Rabbi Cohen, whose current role as Hatzolah's CEO follows a long career in Jewish communal leadership, observes that "not everything is a mass casualty scene; we have many midsize calamities. We had an incident a couple years ago here in Flatbush where a large group of schoolgirls fell down a grate. Within five minutes, we had fifteen ambulances there between Boro Park and Flatbush, and forty or fifty members — but the important thing was that we had coordination. The coordinators from the two areas took over and it was orderly. Any member who didn't need to be there was kindly asked to leave."

CROWN OF KINDNESS
Hatzolah has grown from being an idea in the mind of one Williamsburg Jew, Hershel Weber, into the largest volunteer ambulance corps in the world, one that has a save rate — the percentage of cardiac arrest victims who are brought into a hospital with a heart rhythm — of over 14 percent, as compared with a general New York City rate of less than 1 percent.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.

Eytan Kobre is a writer for Mishpacha magazine, where this article appears.


© 2011, Mishpacha Magazine, Inc