Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 7, 2011 / 8 Elul, 5771

Hurricanes, Earthquakes and Home Depot

By Alan Douglas




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If you live in an area designated as being in a "flood plain" you should expect to be flooded. That sounds harsh. What about all the victims who were devastated by recent floods when the government could have protected them? One of the reasons governments exist is to launch public works projects to build bridges and dams. But just how much money do we all want to spend to protect all the people all the time? We don't. We want to spend some money on cancer research, some on the army, a lot for the euphemistic "safety net" and some for researching odors and sexual preferences. If you live in an area designated as being in a "flood plain" you are forewarned. If you buy a house near an airport you should expect noise, and "yes" there is an increased chance of an airplane crashing near you or an auto accident in your proximity. None of this excuses negligence but it does point out that Mayors, Governors and Presidents should not start writing checks for projects that will not ensure safety. Natural disasters create victims, profiteers and guardian angels.

Responsible religious leaders do not see geological or weather disasters (or tragedies) as punishment or proof of a vengeful divine being. One of my favorite quotes comes from the Reverend Billy Sunday, who said, "I could not abide by a G-d who does not smite." I like to think that the Lord occasional throws down a few lightning bolts to smite the wicked. But I do not look at lightning as the instrument of divine intervention; I think that is our job as human beings. Great religious leaders see the immense power that comfort and faith brings to those who suffer. All of the many volunteers from churches, synagogues, and Rotary Clubs who help do not make headlines; but they prove the grace, beauty and wonder of true religion.

My home is about a half hour from the recent earthquake. I was all the way at the rear of the Home Depot watching the pallet racks filled sway like ballerinas as the sound of the earth rumbled at my feet. It was beautiful and as various products fell down it gave me a feeling of satisfaction that I was so heavily insured. My wife would be rich, and there would finally be a pay out after all those years of paying premiums. A Home Depot employee rushed up to me and as I started to explain how my wife was going to be rich she interrupted to tell me, "Sir, you must evacuate the store. All customers must immediately go out to the parking lot in front of the store." I started to object, with a leg brace and a cane, that was a long way to go for me to go andů "Sir, you must evacuate the store. All customers must immediately go out to the parking lot in front of the store" she repeated, having been thoroughly trained by Home Depot's Safety and Risk Management training program. Seeing resistance was futile, I walked with her as she conducted the mandatory evacuation of the store to the front parking lot. When we reached the parking I asked her, "Have you ever flown on an airplane?" "No" she replied, but she told me she drove with her high school cheerleading squad to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. "Well," I said, "Before you take off, the flight attendants tell you that in case of an emergency the nearest exit may be behind you, rather than in front on you." She did not reply. "When you found me for the mandatory evacuation I was standing next to the Emergency Exit at the rear of the store" I explained. "But we had to assemble all the customers in the parking lot in front parking lot for their safety" she explained.

With the support of our friends, family and religious leaders (I do not include government intentionally) we human beings can survive and rebuild. Without it, or with finger pointing to find blame, we suffer. Coastal Virginia did not suffer as much damage from the recent hurricane as central Virginia. The same area hit by the recent earthquake? Is this a sign? No. It is an alert that people there suffered two stressful situations in rapid succession. The loss in natural disasters is not only physical. It is also a time of upheaval and stress. My neighbors lost some trees but what they will remember about the hurricane is how the sound of the fierce winds and rain upset their old dog, Nestle so much that she went down to the basement, curled up to sleep and never woke up. It may be silly and sentimental, but I sent my neighbors a sympathy card. It is what neighbors do.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Alan Douglas, an author, media executive, speaker, and attorney, lives con brio- except when he is grumpy.


Previously:

Glenn Beck, Norway, Hitler and Me
D Day: The Ripple Effect
What are you paying for?
Law, Etiquette and 5 Rules
Inspiration
Confusing Kindness with Weakness
When Katie Couric Got Pulled Off the Air…
Don't second guess the deceased
Pain and legacies
Being in the No
The Sixth Sense
Dogs in Danger
Facebook, LinkedIn and the Zuckerberg Exit
Simon Bolivar Would Tell Glenn Beck to, ‘Put A Sock In It’
Children and Grandchildren
Swearing, Shoes, and Mark Twain
How my poor man's Porsche, Virgil, prepared me for life
Leases and Landing Gear
The Oscars, Obama and Job Creation
Damages and Penalties
Obstacles with Impossibilities
Making Others Feel Bad
Referrals and Recommendations
Woodpecker Frustration
Phrases, Not Resolutions
I Was A Crime Fighter and Super Hero
Comforting with Sympathizing
Nautical Worry Killers
Can You Keep A Secret?
Holiday Card Hazards
Gifts
Sharing, Transparency and Dumping
Red Alert
Readers Respond Regarding Rabbi
Readers: I Need Your Help with my Rabbi
Humphrey Bogart and P. T. Barnum on Fighting with Family and Friends
Columbus, Honors and Hound Dogs
The Free Lunch
When your child suffers
Conversational Transmitted Diseases
Conservative, Liberal or American
Paris, Antarctica and Shopping
Personal Protection
Dispute Resolution
Jumped or Pushed?
Friends and Acquaintances
Revenge and Vindication

© 2010 Alan Douglas

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles