Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 15, 2010 7 Tishrei, 5771

2010 Is ‘Gone,” Says Big-Time Dem

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "He cannot save 2010," the big-time Democrat is saying of Barack Obama. "It is gone. He must now concentrate on saving 2012. But the biggest fear of some of those close to him is that he might not really want to go on in 2012, that he might not really care."

In my experience, the big-time Democrat has hardly ever been wrong. He does not dislike Obama. On the contrary, like most big-time Democrats, he worked hard for his election in 2008 and would much rather see Democrats hold on to Congress this Nov. 2 than lose.

He just doesn't think it's going to happen. A few months ago, he told me the Democrats could win the House in a squeaker and also retain the Senate. We talked again a few days ago, and things had changed.

"There is going to be a total wipeout, and it is totally going to be in Obama's lap," he said. "He should drop plans for Congress and plan for Nov. 3 and what he does next."

The big-time Democrat appreciates the unfairness of this. We always go around saying "all politics is local," until it comes to the midterm elections, when politics becomes a national referendum on the sitting president.

David Plouffe, Barack Obama's campaign manager in 2008, said on "Meet the Press With David Gregory" on Sept. 5 that "our House candidates are running great localized campaigns, really focusing on turnout and making that a choice between two individuals."

In other words, the Democrats can do great as long as the election is not about Barack Obama.

Good luck with that. Obama was not a hyper-partisan figure when he ran for president, but now, as the de facto head of his party, he must travel across the country beating the drum for every Democrat -- or at least those who will have him. And this election is largely about Obama and his successes and failures in his first two years in office.

Which is the problem. "You know the president is in trouble when people in the White House go around saying, 'If the public only knew this guy!'" the Democrat said. "Obama has been in the public eye for three years, and people are saying they don't know him? Whose fault is that? The public's?"

Others say all this is baloney, the same kind of panic the Obama campaign experienced and overcame in the primaries and general election of 2008.

Joel Benenson, Obama's chief pollster, believes the upcoming election is far from over and will be decided in September and October. "I don't believe the House is gone, and I don't believe Senate is gone," Benenson told me. "This is going to be a tough-fought campaign. I've seen more polls district-by-district than most people, and the most likely scenario is a narrow margin. Either we win narrowly, or they win narrowly. I still believe we will win narrowly."

How the White House spins that -- and how much of that spin the media buy into -- is going to be important.

"It is going to be hard for the Republicans to claim a massive revival of their party if they win only one house," a senior member of Team Obama told me. "And if we win the House by only one seat, the media will call it a Democratic victory."

And how is the president feeling about all this these days? I asked.

"I think he gets frustrated at how hard it has been to communicate his successes," he said. "Big or small, nothing is penetrating."

Why? Because after years of hyper-partisanship on Capitol Hill, the public has become deeply cynical about politics. To many people, politics is a sad and wretched game. Incumbents care only about hanging onto their jobs and not solving problems. So nothing gets done, nothing gets better, and why should the public trust anyone?

When I interviewed President Obama in the Oval Office on June 11, he said he was going to go around the country and remind voters that Democrats "didn't create this mess."

"I mean they've got an incredible record to run on, and I'm very proud of what they've done," he said. "And when you contrast that with what the previous Republican-controlled Congress had done, that's a pretty favorable comparison to make for Democrats."

Inevitably, how the Democrats do in 2010 will be seen as a report card on you, I said.

"Yes, (but) I'm less concerned about the report card on me; I'm more concerned about really fine public servants who've been in the line of fire and done really good work," he said. "I want to see if we can get them back here."

And if he can't get them back to Washington, how long does he get to stay?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate