Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 6, 2010 / 27 Elul, 5770

Obama's victory lap

By Jack Kelly

>



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Barack Obama is like a guy who sneaks onto a marathon race course a mile or so from the finish line and pretends he ran the whole thing.

In his speech Tuesday night commemorating the return to the United States of the last American combat brigade in Iraq, Mr. Obama patted himself lustily on the back for not screwing up a self-imposed timetable for withdrawal of U.S. forces that was made possible by the policies of President George W. Bush.

"Tonight I am announcing that the American combat mission in Iraq has ended," Mr. Obama said. "That was my pledge to the American people as a candidate for this office."

"Last February, I announced a plan that would bring our combat brigades out of Iraq, while redoubling our efforts to strengthen Iraq's security forces and support its government and people," the president said.

"That's what we've done. We've removed nearly 100,000 U.S. troops from Iraq. We've closed or transferred to the Iraqis hundreds of bases. And we've moved millions of pieces of equipment out of Iraq."

Mr. Obama said little about the troop surge in Iraq that made possible the victory he was claiming as his own. This is understandable, because the president is not eager to remind Americans that he, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid and most other Democrats in Congress had vociferously opposed it.

Mr. Obama can be excused for not reminding Americans of an error in judgment he'd made. But not for his callous treatment of former President Bush. All he could say about his predecessor was that "no one could doubt President Bush's support for our troops, or his love of country or commitment to our security."

This faux graciousness illustrates Mr. Obama's lack of grace.

The president's speech was flat. He seemed bored with the topic.

"One could not help to see in the president's words and mannerisms a man who was distracted, whose heart wasn't in it," wrote Tom Mahnken, a veteran of the Iraq war, in Foreign Policy.

So why give the speech at all? The milestone it marks is not particularly significant. American troops have rarely been involved in combat in Iraq for nearly two years and 50,000 U.S. troops remain there.

Michael O'Hanlon, a defense analyst for the Democrat-leaning Brookings Institution, told The Washington Post he was confused about the speech, which, he said, could raise unrealistic expectations among the public about the chances for calm in Iraq.

"Maybe he's entitled to the partial victory lap, but this isn't the right moment for it," Mr. O'Hanlon said. "If I were him, I'd wait until we had an Iraqi government, and do it with the Iraqis together."

Mr. O'Hanlon's words remind us Mr. Obama is botching the one major responsibility in Iraq he's had since President Bush handed him a military victory there.

Iraq has been essentially without a government since March, after an agonizingly close election between blocs headed by Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki and former interim Prime Minister Ayad Allawi. The deadlock has provided openings to both Sunni and Shiite extremists, funded by al-Qaida and Iran. If it persists, our costly victory in Iraq could be undermined.

Gen. Ray Odierno, the departing U.S. commander in Iraq, told The New York Times Aug. 29 a solution to the deadlock may be two months away.

"If we get the government formed, I think we're OK," Gen. Odierno said. "If we don't, I don't know."

Mr. Obama is known to much prefer diplomacy to military force. But in Iraq, his administration's diplomacy has been inept.

In an address ostensibly devoted to Iraq, Mr. Obama talked four times as much about the economy as about America's future relations with Iraq and why this is important to U.S. security. This suggests the speech's odd timing is due chiefly to domestic political considerations.

"He shouldn't have attempted to weave in an economic message," said Iraq War veteran Pete Hegseth. "The words seemed petty and out of place."

The president implied our current economic troubles are due largely to spending on the Iraq war. This is untrue. According to the Congressional Budget Office, his failed stimulus alone cost $100 billion more than the entire cost of Operation Iraqi Freedom.

This was Mr. Obama's second address from the Oval Office, a grand stage. He left it diminished.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2009, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles