Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 25, 2009 / 7 Tishrei 5770

Give me some Lightroom, please

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Some ideas are so simple, you wonder why they haven't been thought of before. Well, the fairly recent release of Adobe Lightroom version 2.5, a $299 program for Mac and Windows users who need to sort and catalog tons of photographs and then work with them, has been thought of - there was the original 1.0 release, after all - but this new version is spiffy, smooth and a must-have for those who work with images on a professional, or even an advanced amateur basis.


I'm not a professional photographer, by my friend Dick Duerksen is, shooting images for a nonprofit organization, others that appear in magazines and on wall calendars around the world. Dick and I were sitting in the café of the Protea Hotel in Livingstone, Zambia, and he was kindly sharing some pictures I might want to use in my day job. He's flipping through a Lightroom display of images, suggesting that I tag the ones I want with a "green" label (I could have selected any other primary color, I guess). Once complete, he grabbed all the "green" photos, slipped them onto a USB drive and handed them to me for downloading onto my computer.


Yes, you can do similar things with other programs, but Lightroom made that step super easy. And, as mentioned, it works on Windows-based PCs as well, something you can't say for Apple's very nice iPhoto. Moreover, the exporting feature of Lightroom is a bit smoother, with less to click through and a nice way of specifying (and creating) a new folder on your computer's desktop or another drive as the export destination.


Selecting and exporting pictures is but a very small part of what Lightroom can do. Adobe bills the program as "the photographer's essential toolbox for managing, adjusting and presenting large volumes of digital photographs," and I'm hard pressed to disagree. This morning, I brought 5,726 photos over into Lightroom, for a grand total of 7,390 images. That's a lot of photos. But, now, I can flip through them almost as quickly as a Las Vegas casino dealer zips through a deck of cards.


Once found, a photo can be previewed, zoomed in on, enhanced, adjusted, and exported in any number of formats and sizes, including Web-sized. Again, you can do most or all of these functions with other programs: the full version of Adobe's Photoshop, the consumer-friendly Photoshop Elements, Apple's iPhoto, and Corel's Paint Shop Pro Photo X2 are among those that immediately come to mind.


But the full Photoshop program is a lot to learn, so much so that there are numerous books, online courses and even college classes available on the subject. Of iPhoto I can only say good things, but you will bump up against limitations when working with vast quantities of images, and iPhoto, along with Apple's higher-end Aperature, are Mac-only programs. If you have a Windows PC, the Mac apps obviously aren't much help.


I also like the quick adjustments Lightroom can apply to an image. Looking at one of my best shots (if I do say so m'self), of the U.S. Capitol dome, I asked Lightroom to automatically fix the "white balance," to make the colors look better, and to adjust the photo's tone. What was a good image now looked great, in just two clicks.


There are other controls you can use to "play" with those settings more incrementally; those trained in the photographic arts will have fun with these. Best of all, in my view, there's a "reset" button to restore your work to its original form in two shakes of a (computer) mouse's tail.


I'll confess to being smitten by Lightroom, so much so that I'm trying to find ways to really justify its $299 price tag. But Apple isn't asleep at the digital switch: it's professional-grade Aperture program offers many of the same features, and for $100 less. I plan to give that application a try and will let you know the results.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles